We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of the stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the stars.”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel does not live up to it's 5 star status - which is why I chose it in the first place. My room had a awful smell coming from the toilet, I could hear the very audible sound of the person in the next room peeing and there seemed to be some sort of construction going on as well.

I would've complained to the hotel staff if I felt I would've got anywhere - however, after travelling extensively through Croatia, I found them to be not friendly, impersonable and cold. In fact, they seemed to act as if I should be privileged to stay there. In my opinion, this hotel is over rated and I will not stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone. There are so many other hotels/ b&b's and guesthouses that will give you much better value you for money, service with a smile and the same stunning view of the Adriatic. Beware - stars do not mean anything - such a bad way to end a trip to an amazing country.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    558
    172
    46
    22
See reviews for
282
1,061
61
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

First visit to Croatia - and boy, did we choose well! This 5 star hotel merits the greatest possible praise and is a tribute to Croatian tourism. Facilities great and staff could not be any nicer - friendly, helpful and efficient. Location breathtaking, convenient courtesy coach to/from

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayBillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
We are truly honoured you choose our hotel for your first visit to Croatia.
I hope you had time to enjoy our beautiful country and the city of Dubrovnik as much as our hotel. Hopefully, it won't be your last but first of many trips.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at the Palace for both pleasure and business Sept 26th to Oct 2nd. I was blessed with a suite even though I was by myself... Service was excellent, staff very friendly and they make their best effort to address you in English, the pool and beach were excellent, breakfast on the terrace every morning was exquisite! I had a massage at the spa which was one of the best I ever had (ask for Stephan!). The spa has 2 whirlpools, saunas and pool you can use at your leisure. Did not try the gym but it looked quite nice.

To bring from home: conditioner and your blow dryer (they have one, but it's not very good!). A mask and tuba for snorkeling right in front of the hotel.

Do not miss the sunsets! The bus to town is also fun. Do go up the trail in the back of the hotel. You'll have a great view.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor and had a great view and room was quiet. I expect the view is obstructed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ti-Luce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
It is nice to hear you enjoyed a little bit of everything our hotel has to offer. I'm glad you relaxed and enjoyed yourself and hope the conference you attended was successfull as well.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My friends and I stayed here for 4 days in Sept. 2011 and it was lovely. I recommend that you rent Segways and tour the opposite peninsula where there are nice cafes and homes and beach. It was a pretty view from there, looking over at our hotel. The segways are really easy and fun -- a treat because they're not yet too popular in California which is sad.
Our room was nice, the balcony a treat, the pool was great great great, and the beach below very fun. All the staff were delightful to us. I can't say much about the food..... but it's not the hotel's fault. Croatian food didn't appeal to us much. The sushi bar was very elegant and had decent food. Loved taking the bus to the old town - met locals. I am so glad we chose this hotel instead of a hotel next to old town. Good choice. The prices in Croatia are so welcome after some of the steep and ridiculous prices I witnessed in other cities in Europe. Dobra Dan everyone. See you again I hope !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarogaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed our country, or town and most of all our hotel.
We reccommend ourselves for your future vacations.
Thank you for choosing Dubrovnik Palace for your holliday.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I just celebrated a wedding anniversary at this hotel. The location is fabulous and, as many reviewers say, the views are stunning. The swimming pools outdoor and indoors are great. There is no beach but there are steps off a concreted, rocky, area directly into the sea which is wonderful clear water and warm. Our main sadness was that the room was really very small and certainly not any bigger than the average 2 star hotel. The balcony was small but had a wonderful view straight out to the islands. The TV, which we didn't particularly need, did not work well. The air conditioning did not reduce the temperature even through the whole night below 24 degrees C. (and that is warm by any standards for sleeping in a good quality hotel!) Noise of doors banging down the corridor revealed how poor the sound proofing is. The prices throughout were five star prices (specially the restaurants) while the room and service were a poor four star at best. There was no interest in us at reception. Even though we had said we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and had booked a "double" room we got a "twin" room and no acknowledgment of the anniversary. The best people we encountered were the kind and gracious young women who served us a really good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 01PDG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I have been staying in this fabulous hotel for 4 days and I have only excellent marks for almost everything. The inner is highly aesthetic achievement. The view from the rooms, terrace and lobby is phenomenal. The staff were professional, smiling in every situation, helpful and concern. The rooms are lovely, but the magnetic card is a problem, because you can enter into your room on second or third attempt or with a help of the staff. The indoor and outdoor pools are clean and they meet the standards of such hotels. Maybe the manager of the hotel might think improving entrance into the sea from the beach, because now is little bit more risky.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and that it fulfilled your expectations.
Thank you for the remark about the sea entrance, it has already been acted upon.
Thank you for choosing Dubrovnik Palace for your Dubrovnik vacation.
We are looking forward to your return.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We just returned from a 10 day vacation to Croatia and Montenegro to celebrate our 11 year anniversary.
While in Croatia we stayed at the Dubrovnik Palace and I wished we stayed there the entire time! What a great hotel that is clean, friendly and has beyond gorgeous views.
Getting in and out of Old Town was very easy as the bus stops right in front of the hotel. The pools are clean and well kept along with the sea side sunning areas. The staff was super pleasant and helpful. My husband used the spa and raved about the service (he had a very stiff neck from travel and they seemed very engaged to help).
We can not wait to return to Dubrovnik and will definitely stay at the Dubrovnik Palace.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Adriatic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLatzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your review.
Congratulations on your anniversary!!! Thank you for honoring us by choosing our hotel to celebrate such an important occasion.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hopeful that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you againg in the near future.
With kind regards,
Rade Malobabic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing