We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Face of a 5-star hotel with the body of a 3-star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Face of a 5-star hotel with the body of a 3-star!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I am writing this review as I enjoy the private beach with a splendid view of the sea side. The facilities here are quite nice and will amaze you the minute you walk in the door and catch the breath taking view. The excitement that you first feel once you step in the lobby unfortunately leads to greater disappointment once you experience the rooms. The building is quite dated and one shouldn't be fooled by the photos. It has a very 70's feel and definitely not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The service somewhat makes up for this as they are quite helpful and very nice. The room service is a little bit rude over the phone but I attribute it more to Dalmatian manners which is a bit of a hit and miss. Overall the service was fine.

Make sure to try and get a room high up and not too far at he ends of he hotel. The wifi falls out of range here and i assume because not many people use these rooms they arent cleaned properly. When we arrived the carpets were dirty, television was non functioning, wifi was out of range and the balcony had bird poop and massive cobwebs everywhere (the cob webs are why i make the assumpion that not many people stay in these rooms).
The service was helpful in trying to fix these issues.

The building serves as a conference center which is the feeling you get when you stay here. The elephite restaurant is atypical of this as the food is bland and has the artificial taste that you experience when your at a conference event. Don't sit by the windows as the air conditioning vents are right above these tables and drip condensation everywhere. When brought to the attention of the waiters they merely shrugged and ignored. The fact that these tables are underneath these vents emphasizes their need to maximize space for conference events rather than provide a 5 star atmosphere.

Overall we were expecting a 5-star hotel and I guess that's what leads to the disappointment but if you get a great price and are expecting a 3-star hotel than his will be great as the facilities are great extras.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TypicallyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are very sorry to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations in all the areas and we apologize for some of the issues you found in your room. We are glad to see that you were in general satisfied with the service.

We will definitely from the service point of view learn from the points you've mentioned in this review and make sure that they don't happen again.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    536
    168
    46
    23
See reviews for
267
1,005
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely staff always there to assist and make the stay enjoyable. Very nice spa and indoor pool. Rooms quite comfortable although AC wasn't as cold as I would have liked. Pool bar had great selection but wished they could have been more generous with servings even at a little higher price, just not double. Views were spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and for posting your review. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel.

KInd regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

but why stay in the old town in the summer. the hotel is a 5 star adn I again understand why. OK maybe not the greatest, but value for money and hit all the right notes of us. Indoor pool, out door pool and the sea, in the summer heat just what you need.

Resturant on the beach great in the evening, even only a few guest go, but beach bar great fun and a pool bar which is always fun.

The hotel front of house very good, but the rooms could do with a little up dating. I was in two rooms (got moved after they put us in a room with little view to an upper floor with a great view) and both had desk chairs that needed a bit of work with the fabric and the wood is just a little out of date, from my point of view.

The spa was excellent

Breakfast was good but too many people all at the same and space did not quite work for the numbers. It was the only time the hotel did not out its best foot forward.

Bus service to the old town runs like a taxi service, you get on at the first stop and get of at the last. Easy.

All in all I would go back

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and all the comments which we appreciate. We are glad to see that you would return to Dubrovnik Palace and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind reagrds,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed in several hotels in Dubrovnik during past few years for different reasons, but this hotel is my favourite.
It is situated on Lapad peninsula, like 45 to 50 minutes walk away from the Old city. If you prefer using a public transportation it is not a problem since the bus stop is just in front of the hotel and a bus leaves every 15 to 20 minutes. You can buy ticket at the reception desk if you want or from the bus driver. The drive lasts about 15 minutes,depends on the traffic.
Rooms are spacious enough, with a seaview. In the room you will find a complementary set of soap, liquid soap, shampoo, body milk, hairdreyr, bathrobe, a set of slipers, complementary tea or coffie, and a chocolate every evening for a better sleep. The WiFi is free.
Rooms are cleaned every day, everyday you will get a clean set of sheets, twice a day clean towels.
It is a five star hotel in every way: excellent staff, very frendly and helpful, always with a simle on, great food, beautiful location, nice beach and a pool area (you can get a one beach towel at the entrance to the pool area) with sunbeds and umbrellas free of charge.
If you decide to spend some more money on your stay in Dubrovnik, you can choose this hotel and it is worth it in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Visited this hotel for 4 nights with 5 girlfriends to celebrate 2 special birthdays. The location is superb, right on a peninsula with a view out to an island off shore, and views along the coast. Very modern property, rooms were a bit plain, but very comfortable with every facility you need, except we did not have tea and coffee facilities. We rang reception and within 10 minutes a kettle/cups/saucers and tea and coffee arrived. Staff were all very helpful throughout our stay, especially the accomodating waiters/waitresses at the lunchtime snack restaurant by the sea. The beds were very comfortable providing a good nights sleep, all rooms appear to look out to sea, it was nice watching the cruise ships and other boats coming and going in the morning and evening before going out. The pool facilities were lovely. Nice medium size pool with swim up bar, also a pool bar with nice lounge seating. Also jacuzzi beside pool. Small childrens pool, and ample sun beds. There is a nice concrete sun deck area below the pool with access to the sea by some steps. Take care the metal ones were rounded like pool steps and were a bit difficult when getting out of the sea. There is no beach. The only dissapointment was with the buffet restaurant. The first night we ate in the hotel and there is absolutely no atmosphere in here at all, there is a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea and pool which again was not very well used which was a shame with the great location. But having said this I would not hesitate to stay here again as all other facilities were very good and you are so near the Old City(15 mins by bus, the bus stops right outside the hotel and is the first/last stop so you always get a seat) and Lapad beach a 15/20 minute stroll away so we ate out every night. The Old city is amazingly stunning, both by day and night. The medieval wall walk around the city is a must, fantastic views over the City and out to the island. Another pretty place to visit is Cavtat, 1/2 hr by bus from the cable car entrance in Dubrovnik, but when you get off the bus that is not it, ask for directions to the marina which is stunning with some beautiful yachts and some lovely little cafes and restaurants. You can get a boat back to Dubrovnik from here that takes about 45 minutes and you get to see the Old City from the water. This made a lovely day out.
Although we did not use it the hotel had some lovely spa facilities at the top of the hotel with an indoor pool, there was also a rooftop healthy eating restaurant there.

We were all blown away by Dubrovnik and want to return with our husbands/partners because it is such a beautiful place, and I would highly recommend this hotel because of the relaxing daytime facilties around the pool/sea and having easy access to the Old City.

Go to Dubrovnik and the Dubrovnik Palace, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting review about Dubrovnik Palace. We are glad to see that you spent a great time at our hotel and that you are already considering to come back with your husbands. We appreciate your recognition of our staff and their service.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for this occasion and for recommending Dubrovnik Palace to others. We are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rostrevor co down
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had a wonderful relaxing holiday, No faults with hotel, breakfast is one of the best, We went into old town most nights & only realized that 15 mins away was a lovely village with beautiful Resturants & not as expensive as old town, snack bar at pool very good, plus there are apple cider is a must on a hot day, Award winning cocktails at the swim up bar are amazing, only fault I could find is the bar staff should go around the pool more often to see if your ok for water / drinks, they don't seem to be bothered plus it would be more money for bar ! Otherwise had a fab. Time.
Will return someday.

Room Tip: We had a junior Suite , 2 bathrooms, great large balcony with fantastic views on 6 th floor, very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreena2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay at the hotel.....
Although the hotel is a taxi (taxi £7 - £9) or bus ride away from the old town, it is in a fantastic location being right on the peninsula, the views from every angle from the hotel are spectacular, sea, islands, mountains.... brilliant!

The Hotel facilities are second to none.... everything from the room service to the massive breakfast selection. We ate at the hotel on a number occasions in different restaurants and at different times of the day.....no complaints at all ! The service by the staff is very friendly and sometimes overly helpful.

The only part of our stay that had a negative was check in .....
On check in (10am) ... we were told that our room wouldnt be ready until 2pm.... we had been travelling since 2am.... we enquired about a courtesy room to get changed out of our travelling clothes and into our beach wear.... we were horrified to hear that we would have to get changed in the toilets!..... the receptionist offered no apology...... again this doesnt reflect 5 star service.
We were finally given our room and left to our own devices.... no information on where breakfast would be or at what times etc.
Our room was overlooking the sea from the 6th floor, it was an OK room but not 5 star.

We found the pool area quite busy but had no problems getting loungers, the pool is very clean and great that you can also go for a dip in the sea .... the sea temperature was 25c and crystal clear..... there is also a large indoor pool on the 7th floor with jacuzzis both indoor and outdoor.
There is also scuba diving for those that are into it.....

We really enjoyed staying at the hotel and would highly recommend staying here to anyone else and we will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petemcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed in your stay with us. We also appreciate your comment about the courtesy room and I apologize on behalf of front desk staff. As a matter a fact this is something that we are working on and by the end of this week we will prepare one area on the 2nd floor of the hotel for this purpose, as this becomes more and more a problem due to a flight schedules this year.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending us to others. We are already looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing