We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed feelings for this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings for this hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were staying here for our honeymoon.
The setting is amazing and when you walk into the reception the views really are breathtaking.
For the most part, the staff are friendly and welcoming.
The facilities are great and the airconditioning most welcome!
The rooms were spotless and the towels soft and fresh everyday.
Interet access in the info room was great too.
There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel so great for getting into the Old Town.
However, a number of minor incidences occured that would change my mind in recommending the Palace.

I contacted the hotel in advance of our arrival requesting a double bed and not 2 single beds pushed together (as I had previosuly read here).
I was assured we would get a double bed.
When we arrived we found 2 single beds pushed together.
My husband rang down and they sent someone immediately to change the bed from 2 singles beds to a double by putting an extra mattress protector over the single beds!!

That day we went for a swim (pools and facilities are so relaxing-when of course you can get a lounger because, although there is a sign up, guests are not actively discouraged from leaving their towels on loungers from first thing in the morning and leaving them there all day while they come and go for breakfast, lunch etc).
We ordered a drink at the pool bar however, when my drink came out the mint and limes were rotten. It looked vile.
I complained to the (young-is this an excuse?) waitress and she shrugged her shoulders and said "Yeah, so?" I told her I couldn't drink it because it was gone off and she walked away!
The situation was rectified by other bar staff.

That night we ordered a drink in the Sunset Lounge.
I went to hand the bill back to the waiter after my husband had just signed it and I accidentally knocked over my drink. I was mortified. There was glass everywhere. The waiter was so unfriendly, barely asked if I was ok and failed to replace my drink, which I thought would have been standard procedure.

The following day we went to the indoor pool. It was fabulous. So relaxing. My husband went back to our room to retrieve a charger the hotel told us they would supply. I noticed he was gone for quite a while, got worried and decided to follow him. It turns out he got stuck in a lift. He was obviously put out by this and decided it was time to speak to a manager.

We were paying a lot for this hotel and we really found the service to be below average. My husband told the manager about the rude bar personnel, the lack of double bed etc as a means of apology we were upgraded to a suite-with a double bed so clearly they are available.

For our last night in Dubrovnik we decided to take the cable car and eat at night time at The Panorama restaurant. The lady at Guest Relations assured us she would book us a table for 8. We took the cable car up, went into the War Museum and when it was almost 8 headed into the restaurant looking forward to having our last romantic meal in Dubrovnik looking over the city at night. When we arrived there was no booking under our name. The Palace had not contacted the restaurant at all.This was very disappointing.

Now, while these things appear minor, we were paying a lot of money for this hotel.
The hotel is rated as a 5 star but with this sevice, it really couldn't be classified as 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that hotel did not meet your expectations in some of the areas. There are few things mentioned in your review regarding some service issues that have been already discussed and we will make sure that they don't happen again. Howevever, we just need to reffer to the last one regarding the restaurant reservation. Hotel did make a reservation for the restaurant and we will be more than happy to send you the phone call list from the GR desk.

Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations in full and hope that we will get the chance to welcome you again.


Kind reagrds,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    593
    175
    47
    23
See reviews for
306
1,126
68
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Palace for two weeks from 24th June.
The hotel is 5 star due to it's facilities but as many reviews allude to it is more 3-4 star if you look a little deeper.
We had a twin room which was had the feel of a conference hotel room, it had very little character and wasn't very big. The A/C wasn't particularly cold either and we did have the hotel look at it a number of times.
The room was always kept clean, fresh towels and a lovely chocolate on our pillows every evening.
Breakfast was very pleasant, the lady that did the omelettes every morning was really lovely. Whilst we were there the Croatian Summit was on this meant we couldn't have breakfast outside those days which was a shame but on the plus side food replenishment was better on those days.
We also ate at the pool bar for lunch a few times , service was hit miss but the food was good, portions were big.
One evening we ate at the A la carte restaurant, lovely sunset view. The food was brilliant as was the service, however it was pricey and we had better meals in the old town - Amfora Restaurant being one of them.
The pool area was good, you have to get up early to get a sun bed by the pool. Pool bar was also good, although all drinks are 5 star expensive.
The hotel is a 15 minute bus ride to the Old Town. The bus starts outside the hot and ends in the old town so very easy to get there. Also you could walk down to Lapad if you wanted to eat or drink cheaply close by, a 10-15min walk down hill.
All in all this has all the facilities but is lacking in character. If I stayed in Dubrovnik again, which I will, I would
stay elsewhere, it wasn't terrible but there are other in my opinion better options.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. Our hotel has 308 rooms and is also a conference hotel. During your stay we had a Summit in the hotel which was a meeting on the level of prime ministers. As a matter of fact terrace was closed for breakfast only on the morning of 7th. We can also assure you that the breakfast offer is the same every day and we did not extend it specially for the politicians.

Thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and hope that we will still get the chance to welcome you again.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I am writing this review as I enjoy the private beach with a splendid view of the sea side. The facilities here are quite nice and will amaze you the minute you walk in the door and catch the breath taking view. The excitement that you first feel once you step in the lobby unfortunately leads to greater disappointment once you experience the rooms. The building is quite dated and one shouldn't be fooled by the photos. It has a very 70's feel and definitely not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The service somewhat makes up for this as they are quite helpful and very nice. The room service is a little bit rude over the phone but I attribute it more to Dalmatian manners which is a bit of a hit and miss. Overall the service was fine.

Make sure to try and get a room high up and not too far at he ends of he hotel. The wifi falls out of range here and i assume because not many people use these rooms they arent cleaned properly. When we arrived the carpets were dirty, television was non functioning, wifi was out of range and the balcony had bird poop and massive cobwebs everywhere (the cob webs are why i make the assumpion that not many people stay in these rooms).
The service was helpful in trying to fix these issues.

The building serves as a conference center which is the feeling you get when you stay here. The elephite restaurant is atypical of this as the food is bland and has the artificial taste that you experience when your at a conference event. Don't sit by the windows as the air conditioning vents are right above these tables and drip condensation everywhere. When brought to the attention of the waiters they merely shrugged and ignored. The fact that these tables are underneath these vents emphasizes their need to maximize space for conference events rather than provide a 5 star atmosphere.

Overall we were expecting a 5-star hotel and I guess that's what leads to the disappointment but if you get a great price and are expecting a 3-star hotel than his will be great as the facilities are great extras.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TypicallyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are very sorry to see that the hotel did not meet your expectations in all the areas and we apologize for some of the issues you found in your room. We are glad to see that you were in general satisfied with the service.

We will definitely from the service point of view learn from the points you've mentioned in this review and make sure that they don't happen again.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely staff always there to assist and make the stay enjoyable. Very nice spa and indoor pool. Rooms quite comfortable although AC wasn't as cold as I would have liked. Pool bar had great selection but wished they could have been more generous with servings even at a little higher price, just not double. Views were spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and for posting your review. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel.

KInd regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

but why stay in the old town in the summer. the hotel is a 5 star adn I again understand why. OK maybe not the greatest, but value for money and hit all the right notes of us. Indoor pool, out door pool and the sea, in the summer heat just what you need.

Resturant on the beach great in the evening, even only a few guest go, but beach bar great fun and a pool bar which is always fun.

The hotel front of house very good, but the rooms could do with a little up dating. I was in two rooms (got moved after they put us in a room with little view to an upper floor with a great view) and both had desk chairs that needed a bit of work with the fabric and the wood is just a little out of date, from my point of view.

The spa was excellent

Breakfast was good but too many people all at the same and space did not quite work for the numbers. It was the only time the hotel did not out its best foot forward.

Bus service to the old town runs like a taxi service, you get on at the first stop and get of at the last. Easy.

All in all I would go back

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and all the comments which we appreciate. We are glad to see that you would return to Dubrovnik Palace and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind reagrds,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed in several hotels in Dubrovnik during past few years for different reasons, but this hotel is my favourite.
It is situated on Lapad peninsula, like 45 to 50 minutes walk away from the Old city. If you prefer using a public transportation it is not a problem since the bus stop is just in front of the hotel and a bus leaves every 15 to 20 minutes. You can buy ticket at the reception desk if you want or from the bus driver. The drive lasts about 15 minutes,depends on the traffic.
Rooms are spacious enough, with a seaview. In the room you will find a complementary set of soap, liquid soap, shampoo, body milk, hairdreyr, bathrobe, a set of slipers, complementary tea or coffie, and a chocolate every evening for a better sleep. The WiFi is free.
Rooms are cleaned every day, everyday you will get a clean set of sheets, twice a day clean towels.
It is a five star hotel in every way: excellent staff, very frendly and helpful, always with a simle on, great food, beautiful location, nice beach and a pool area (you can get a one beach towel at the entrance to the pool area) with sunbeds and umbrellas free of charge.
If you decide to spend some more money on your stay in Dubrovnik, you can choose this hotel and it is worth it in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Visited this hotel for 4 nights with 5 girlfriends to celebrate 2 special birthdays. The location is superb, right on a peninsula with a view out to an island off shore, and views along the coast. Very modern property, rooms were a bit plain, but very comfortable with every facility you need, except we did not have tea and coffee facilities. We rang reception and within 10 minutes a kettle/cups/saucers and tea and coffee arrived. Staff were all very helpful throughout our stay, especially the accomodating waiters/waitresses at the lunchtime snack restaurant by the sea. The beds were very comfortable providing a good nights sleep, all rooms appear to look out to sea, it was nice watching the cruise ships and other boats coming and going in the morning and evening before going out. The pool facilities were lovely. Nice medium size pool with swim up bar, also a pool bar with nice lounge seating. Also jacuzzi beside pool. Small childrens pool, and ample sun beds. There is a nice concrete sun deck area below the pool with access to the sea by some steps. Take care the metal ones were rounded like pool steps and were a bit difficult when getting out of the sea. There is no beach. The only dissapointment was with the buffet restaurant. The first night we ate in the hotel and there is absolutely no atmosphere in here at all, there is a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea and pool which again was not very well used which was a shame with the great location. But having said this I would not hesitate to stay here again as all other facilities were very good and you are so near the Old City(15 mins by bus, the bus stops right outside the hotel and is the first/last stop so you always get a seat) and Lapad beach a 15/20 minute stroll away so we ate out every night. The Old city is amazingly stunning, both by day and night. The medieval wall walk around the city is a must, fantastic views over the City and out to the island. Another pretty place to visit is Cavtat, 1/2 hr by bus from the cable car entrance in Dubrovnik, but when you get off the bus that is not it, ask for directions to the marina which is stunning with some beautiful yachts and some lovely little cafes and restaurants. You can get a boat back to Dubrovnik from here that takes about 45 minutes and you get to see the Old City from the water. This made a lovely day out.
Although we did not use it the hotel had some lovely spa facilities at the top of the hotel with an indoor pool, there was also a rooftop healthy eating restaurant there.

We were all blown away by Dubrovnik and want to return with our husbands/partners because it is such a beautiful place, and I would highly recommend this hotel because of the relaxing daytime facilties around the pool/sea and having easy access to the Old City.

Go to Dubrovnik and the Dubrovnik Palace, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting review about Dubrovnik Palace. We are glad to see that you spent a great time at our hotel and that you are already considering to come back with your husbands. We appreciate your recognition of our staff and their service.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for this occasion and for recommending Dubrovnik Palace to others. We are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
690 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing