We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My family (kids are 18 and 14) and I stayed here for a week in July 2012. From start to finish, the overwhelming feature of the hotel was the excellence of every aspect of service. Reception staff were well-informed, responsive and quickly addressed whatever queries we raised. Bar and restaurant staff were polite, quick to serve, very capable. Pretty much every member of staff, including maids, spoke and understood English, which made us very much at home. As for the hotel, stand-out features are the pool and beach area, and the quality of views out to sea, especially at dusk. Location is good - other reviews highlight the local attractions. Rooms were clean, well-presented, decent (and controllable) air-conditioning; not the biggest ever, but comfortable. Three stand-out things to do - Cable Car (have a drink at the open-air restaurant), Old Town after dark, Segway tour around Lapad and the main port. Great fun!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room on one of the higher floors (6 to 9) - no trees to obscure views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    558
    171
    46
    22
See reviews for
282
1,061
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Pros:
- stunning views
- easy access (even by the pool!) to free wifi
- friendly staff
-very clean
Cons:
-Breakfast is good but not brilliant i.e. Cold food...
-In peak time the city is very busy
- unagreeable pillows

Overall deserves the 5 stars

Room Tip: On a high level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blahblah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is situated a 15 minute bus ride from the Old Town, but the bus runs directly from the front door. The hotel itself is excellent - the views from the balcony are stunning, the room was perfect and the indoor pool, the outdoor pool and the walk down to the beach were superb.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, as long as you are aware of the bus ride to and from town. In my opinion, the quality of the hotel and the amenities make the journey worthwhile. Whilst I was researching hotels in Dubrovnik, the central hotels did not offer anything like the same facilities (indoor and outdoor pools, the views or the private beach).

The nightly chocolate is a nice touch and when we sampled one of the hotel restaurants on our last night, the food was fantastic, as was the breakfast. Some people have commented that no tea and coffee making facilities are provided - but one call to reception and these were brought to our room for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here for a week earlier this month and we had a fantastic time.

The Area

The hotel was around half an hour from the airport and 15 minutes (bu bus - which is right outside the hotel) from the Old City of Dubrovnik. There is a little town called Lapad, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and has some very good restaurants (Levanat/Casa). There is also a lady called Lydia who owns a tourist agency called Alfa Tourist which is a five minute walk from the hotel and she arranged for us to have a private boat trip around the islands (much better than 150 people on a ship). She is well worth a visit to book a tour.

The Hotel

The hotel is very clean, well maintained and modern. It is built on a cliff and has amazing views of the sea and the surrounding islands. There are 2 pools available for everyone, one a small children's one and another much larger one with a swim up bar. There is also a hot tub which turns on around 12. The beds around the pool aren't the most comfortable but they were adequate and although the hotel asks people not to reserve sun beds people do. There are towels laid out every morning and it is possible to take as many as you want.

Food and Drink

There are 3 restaurants - a buffet restaurant, an a la carte restaurant and a beach taverna. The standard of food is good for breakfast and dinner is a standard buffet and the a la carte was very good (although a little expensive). There are 3 bars, one at the pool, one in reception and one on a terrace at the top. The drinks were reasonably priced (for a 5 star hotel). There was one barman at the pool bar who remembered all of our drinks which I thought was fantastic.

Rooms

We were a group of 6 and had 4 rooms, all of which were clean and comfortable. Housekeeping were very quick and efficient. We were on the 4th floor and had good views of the sea (I wouldn't want to be any lower as I think trees block the view). The rooms were nice but I think in a few years they will need updating but that's the only negative.

Staff

The staff are a fantastic asset to the hotel. They were all kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. On our last day we had a late flight out but we couldn't keep our rooms so they arranged for us the have an amenity room (lounge and separate bathroom) before we left. This was ideal as we could spend the day by the pool then come back up when were ready to shower and change.

Activities

The hotel can arrange activities for you such as jet skiing but obviously they charge commission on top instead of booking it direct but we did go jet-skiing and paragliding which was great fun.

Overall

I would definitely stay here again. We had a relaxing holiday and really enjoyed our time in Dubrovnik!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizWard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hotel disappointing, rooms were shabby, dated and dirty. Housekeeping was terrible just changed sheets and towels, left dirty cups in room did not wipe down sides etc. Air conditioning was set at 24.5!! The pool was too small for size of hotel, sunbeds were dated and uncomfortable. If you need to freshen up before you go home forget it they will not give you a curtesy room or let you use the spa.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the Dubrovnik Palace hotel and whilst we enjoyed our holiday it was not thanks to the hotel.

The communal areas of the hotel are all very well kept and impressive. The pool is of a good size and the lobby and sunset bar are all very nice. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired. The classic rooms are nothing short of depressing with their brown decor and are tiny. The bathrooms are relics from the 1970s and absolutely not of the standard fight you wold expect from a five star hotel. In fact I think, and I told the front desk manager they were more of a standard of a three star hotel, I've seen better Travelodge rooms.

The service also was not good. eeverything that we asked for in some way went wrong row was not straightforward - whether this was waiting an age for an ironing board, miscountng what had been taken from the mini bar, confusing treatments in the spa, the showeroom the room not working or not booking an airport transfer despite confirming they had. It was all very frustrating.

The breakfast was varied though in a soulless room and the restaurant for lunch by the pool was far too small and we had to wait for a table - as you would expect when there are 10 tables yet hundreds of people staying at the hotel. The other restaurant near the pool was far too expensive to eat lunch at daily with most main courses being far too heavy and costing upwards of £15.

Ultimately we had a great holiday because Dubrovnik is such a wonderful place but I would not return to the Dubrovnik Palace,

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here last week and these are my findings. Upon arrival we made a request to housekeeping which was not acted upon. Request made face to face with evening maid was then completed. No tea and coffee facilities in the room - very surprised by this. No complimentary water. No complimentary drink upon arrival, none offered whilst waiting for room to be made available either.

Access to the sea (there is no actual beach at the hotel) not suitable for if you have a leg injury - ladders not the easiest to use for sure, really think this needs to be addressed sooner rather than later as this is an accident waiting to happen.

Air con, once you get to grips with it is fine. Food - good breakfasts, excellent omlettes made by the nicest lady. Evening meal got a bit "samey" after 3rd night. However, the "Taverna" food was excellent as was the service there. Drinks prices a little on the high side. Staff on the whole, very friendly and helpful. Would probably go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback. It is nice to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you would come again to our hotel.

Check-in time at the hotel is 14:00 and under the current occupancy on a daily basis of 100% it is not always possible to provide early check-in for those who come already during the morning since the check-out time is 12:00. Regarding the sea access there are three diffrent positions and two of them are the stone steps going into the sea (on the main area and near the diving centre).

Thank you once again for choosing Dubrovnik Palace and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel DUbrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing