We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Where do I start... Dubrovnik is amazing, location is very good due to the easy bus access, hotel views are unrivaled. I have to review this hotel in parts.

Hotel communal areas 5*
Room 3*
Spa 3*
Restaurants 4*

The hotel itself does have that wow factor and amazing views. The restaurants are very pretty, delicious food, albeit a bit pricey ($50 average per plate unless you eat in the buffet). I was confused as to why the buffet restaurant where you have breakfast or dinner did not make whole use of their outside scenic eating areas. There was absolutely no atmosphere ( ie candles, lighting, music, flowers, etc) to make this feel like a 5* atmosphere. This is kind of the overall feeling i got from this hotel - the potential was there but management just didn't utilize it or see it.

The communal areas were beautiful, staff lovely but the hotel in july was empty. So empty they didn't open the nightclub and we were told it was only open for conventions.

the room, hmm. This was a business, corporate feeling room. Bed, chair, tv. The bathroom was really dated, shower got you clean, bath products more in line with a holiday inn than a Hilton. No conditioner. The first time i have ever gone to the store and bought my own shower/shampoo as I usually am fine with what I'm given. Balcony is clean, two chairs, table, nothing special but the view. No turn down service but they do come in and leave chocolate - weird they don't go that extra step. Again potential is there but not quite five star.

Pool - very nice andi loved the access to the sea. Beach restaurant was very good. again, broken record here, management fix the umbrella situation and if you want to make more money, TAKE drink orders! I would've had more drinks if the bar staff (who funnily enough walk around and take empty cups) do NOT take orders. You get better poolside service on a cruise.

Spa - spa treatments to me are a splurge and I see spas in resorts as special places. The facility here is gorgeous -view, space, rooms, treatment, etc. ...... But it's the little things that do not make this a 5* spa to me. In my experience at previous spas, you walk in, get robes, go to a waiting area (usually a place you want to stay for awhile) with fruit and drink refreshments, magazines, you get the picture. Here, you fill out a form, wait for your name to be called, get your treatment, pay. They never asked me about my treatment expectations, or offered me any water after. Again, the potential is there, they have locker rooms, waiting areas, etc, but definitely not up to par.

I wanted so much to really like this place and was glad i chose it over the imperial, but I would try another place next time. It has a lot of potential.

Room Tip: Reception level has great views. The higher the better.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joysafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,373 - 1,379 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at the Dubrovnik Palace hotel for a company meeting in April 2012. The stay was close to perfect. The hotel is fresh and clean. Really good food (especially the breakfast) and do not forget to test the small restaurant on level 1 (next to the pools). The hotel has a free access to the spa and the gym. Massage are really affordable and done by skilled therapists. The most important thing for me at this hotel was the friendliness and helpfulness of the personal. Really everybody goes around with a smile and makes you feel most welcome. I will definitely return to this hotel anyday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Location excellent, good for swimming both in pool and sea. All rooms with a very nice sea view. The sun setting in the Adriatics was spectacular from our balcony. Transport with local bus or taxi to Dubrovnik centre worked well.

Our room a bit old fashioned, no coffe available in room. Good breakfast buffet, but lunch and dinner offerings not good value for money compared to resturants outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a2n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights on 22nd July. Whilst not 5 star in the "Four Seasons" sense this really is a very smart stylish hotel. We booked a standard double with balcony and asked for a high floor room for a great view which we got. There was a bottle of cava waiting for us as a gift when we got into our room as I had mentioned that it was our 10th wedding anniversary when booking many months before - a nice surprise. The room and bathroom were nice and clean - the bed was very comfortable. The AC worked perfectly.

All the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The pool is good and we got a couple of sun beds in the afternoon despite the hotel being fully booked.

All in all an excellent hotel for the money and a great location just on the edge of town to get away from the crowds after a day's sightseeing. I suppose you can call it holiday 5 star not business 5 star - but none the less very very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so your view isn't blocked by the trees.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

With hundreds of reviews on this hotel, I can't say much new. So let me give some tips...
1) Don't come here for the rooms. They are adequate, but average.
2) The view is spectacular. Stunning actually. A perfect view of the sunset.
3) We were in Room 616. This is a double room; very small but amazing view.
4) The shower is weird, a hand-held wand for main shower head, only half a shower wall. We soaked the floor every morning.
5) The pool and lounge areas are amazing.
6) Food is expensive, but we ended up walking down the street into Lapad every night. Great places to eat, tremendous prices.
7) There is a brand new high-tech movie theater at the bottom of the hill.
8) As everyone says, the bus comes every 15 minutes and is very comfortable.
9) The Wifi in the hotel is great -- very good speed. Went out one night during a storm, but came back on the next morning.
10) Everyone is very friendly.
11) There is a mini-fridge stocked with stuff you can buy, or you can pull it all out and use it for your own stuff.
12) An 8-ounce bottle of Coke is 25 kn (about $4)!
13) There is a grocery store (called Tommy Supermarket) down the hill and up a few streets, about 20 minutes walking. It has everything.
14) We were here in high season, but it didn't seem too crowded.
15) There is a hair dryer hanging on the bathroom wall that works great.
16) Don't forget your travel adapters for power.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool (lower numbers) might be blocked by big trees. Ask for higher floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faithntim9890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Hotel is in a lovely location. It's a large, fairly sophisticated hotel, with lovely common areas and a pleasant pool, again with wonderful views.
The hotel could, easily, be a lot better.
Here are the issues that, in our opinion, require addressing:-
1. Service. Overall wef ound the service to be a bit patchy, especially that of the waiters. We stayed at the Dubrovnik Palace for the last two days of a nine day break, and are therefore pretty familiar with the service in Dubrovnik tourist spots ( overall, Croatian service is good).
Some of the waiters/ waitresses were bordering on the rude, for no apparent reason.
2. Rooms. Where to start? Okay:-
(a) Clean, but a bit on the small side for a 5 star hotel. So they can't do much about the size of the rooms, but they can do a lot more than they are currently doing to spruce them up. For example:
(b) TV. It's a 20" Philips laying on a desk; not even widescreen! How do you manage to justify that in a 5 star hotel? With a paltry selection of On Demand videos, accompanied by a princely asking price of over £8 per movie!. The reception on the tv, and the free channels were also very poor and even with the volume turned up to max, you could hardly hear it.
(c) Welcome bowl of fruit and drinks. Yummy. Errrrrr.. There isnt any! In a 5 star hotel?
(d) Bathroom. Hmm. Dont know if they are old or simply designed by someone with an obscure sense of humour. The decor is ostensibly white, with black tiles, a single white sink with a black surround, and an over bath shower. Luxurious it wasnt. The shower worked well enough, although it was difficult not to flood the floor.

Its really not a bad hotel but could be a lot better with more focussed management.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadlettGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a very relaxing July week in Hotel Dubrovnik Palace. The spectacular location is without doubt the hotels major attribute. Unlike other contributors we did benefit from an early check-in, tea/coffee in room (as requested), iron/ironing board (as requested) and an accurate bill on check-out. The room itself, if a little small was adequate and cleaned daily. Buffet breakfast in the Elafiti restaurant was excellent (breakfast outside on the terrace overlooking the islands is a prize awarded to those who are early, as in pre-8:30am or late, as in post 9:45am or just lucky). For snacks we preferred Ponta snack bar or Lean & Light both reasonable value for money, large portions on some dishes. The Maslina Tavern overlooking the main pool is outrageously overpriced. The pool bar again expensive for drinks, including bottled water.
For the size of the hotel the main pool area is quite small, the majority of guests using the more spacious concrete terraces down to the shoreline for sunlounging. Would agree with previous contributors that mobility impaired guests would be challenged around pool and sun terraces and steps into the sea, the access beside the PADI dive centre perhaps the easiest to negotiate.
No problems with service at reception, concierge or housekeeping, if anything a little overattentive at times. The pool bar staff have perfected the “1000 yard stare” and IMHO let the rest of the staff down. There was a wedding at the hotel during the week but no impact on guests at all, the wedding was confined to the VIP area. As is obvious from responses to previous contributions HDP management monitor Tripadvisor so Mr. Lukic the pool furniture is of a very poor standard.
For the price paid I was expecting a good to very good hotel and for the most part this expectation was fully met.

Room Tip: Rooms at the extreme end of the 3rd floor are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £108 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing