We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - fantastic people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location - fantastic people”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just back from a week's stay on Business, so we were in the hotel most of the time. What a great place. Excellent breakfasts and lunches - my only criticism would be about the evening meals in the main restaurant which were a bit dull - there are other restaurants a short walk away though. The highlight for me was the staff - everyone was so helpful, nice and good to talk to. Special thanks to the bar and restaurant staff, including Modriag, Ivika and too many others to mention - they're all fantastic and really made our stay a bit special. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    536
    168
    46
    23
See reviews for
267
1,000
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
OIrlando, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Bring your own hair dryer. Expect to clean a wet mess off the bathroom floor with each shower. Don't expect a large luxurious room to spend all day in. Then, forget about all that and enjoy your stay at one of the most fabulous destinations. The hotel staff is wonderful. The food is great. The views are world class. The location is great for a quick short bus ride to the old town. And all the activities are great. My best vacation and travel experience ever. I love Dubrovnik. The people are charming, proud and knowledgeable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Eastern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel offers probably the best view from the end of Lapad peninsula. There is a sea view from all the rooms, but at lower floors there might be some trees etc. in the way. Anyway, if you happen to get a room with not so magnificent view, you can always take the lift to the top floor and watch the sea from the "light and refreshing" restaurant. Also the lobby bar offers nice views, with many tasty cocktails. The restaurants in this hotel are expensive, but the quality of the food is great. The truffle linguini in the beach restaurant cost about 20 €, which is quite much for a pasta dish. Well, it tasted lovely.

The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of ham and cheese, bread, cereals, juices, etc. And if you just don't feel like picking your own food, the waiters are happy to get you for example an English breakfast. It is a nice addition, that in the evening cleaners bring some chocolate to your room and close the curtains for the night.

The rooms are of standard quality and kept clean all the time. There is a bathtub in the basic room with a shower. The hairdryer is from 90's or something, no power and looks like a telephone. The make-up mirror is installed so high, that <165 cm girls have no use for it. The television is quite small, but it offers many international channels.

The hotel staff are always helpful and speak perfect English and also other languages (German, Russian). There are some outdoor pools and jacuzzis, but the amount of sunbathing seats seems a bit low for the high season. It is also possible to swim in the sea, but don't expect a sandy beach. There are also indoor swimmingpool and jacuzzi in the top floor, together with saunas. Surprisingly, this hotel has great Finnish sauna with proper temperatures, which is not always the case. The other sauna is with steam, but no aromas or anything.

All in all, a hotel which deserves its 5 stars and maybe even more stars for the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piia600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The Dubrovnik Palace Hotel has a lot going for it. The location is absolutely beautiful with fabulous sea views from each room. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the communal areas (lounge/reception/pool areas/restaurants/spa) are also well maintained, clean, etc. We really enjoyed the pool area in the afternoons after visits to the Old Town as we had lovely weather, although I do wonder how they cope later in the season with regard to number of sunbeds etc - but we certainly had no such problems on our visit.
Breakfast is comprehensive and the breakfast room itself is well appointed with good views - you can also sit outside on the terrace, which lovely. Would suggest using the chef's station for eggs anyway you like - much fresher and hotter than the self-service options.
Location-wise the hotel is 15 mins away from Pile Gate and the Old Town in the Lapad area. This, in my view, is a major advantage as you are located away from the tourist madness! The number 4 bus stops right outside the hotel and drops you at Pile Gate. A major plus is that the hotel is the first pick-up en route, ie you get the chance to settle down in your seat before the bus quickly becomes packed, standing room only, for the rest of its journey!
The only downside of the hotel in my view is the quality of the rooms themselves. They are spacious and clean, but certainly not 5 star standard. The beds were ok, nothing special, and the finish in the bathroom could have been better. One of my pet hates is a pathetic hotel hairdryer, fixed to the wall in the bathroom, with no power whatsoever. In a 5 star room, I expect a decent hairdryer! But aside from that the room was serviced daily, was clean, had a good powerful shower and enjoys free wi-fi.
Would recommend the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel and would stay there again.
PS - The Old City is beautiful from the city walls - a Lokrum is a must, what a fabulous island and only 15 minutes away from the harbour!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juice_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

great hotel with good staff and nice location.Breakfast is great.I had a room with a beautiful view.Dubrovnik is very nice but also very busy with little too many people.I think it is better to visit it in off seasson time.Restaurants are very good and expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Palace is built into the side of the mountain, so each room has a lovely view of the Adriatic. The outdoor pools! Pick one! Totally lovely setting with sparkling infinity pool (s), and sea pool. Buffet breakfast extraordinary, to match the service. Dinner also quite good with several unusual choices - meat or squid grilled in front of you. My few disappointments were the transportation issue to the old town and convenience of in-house "necessity" shopping. Although rated a 5-star hotel, I would expect a free shuttle service and a small store located in the hotel that could provide items such as toothpaste. A pleasant surprise was turn-down service with chocolates. (Perhaps a little notice of this service would have been appreciated.) Old town of Dubrovnik is not as picturesque as others AND the cruise ships have found it - big time. Stay relaxed in this lovely hotel during the sunshine hours and away from the hordes pouring off the cruise ships.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHADDACalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The rooms are very spacious with great views. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Excellent breakfast with large selection buffet
The best thing was to stay in the crafted rock areas then jump into the marvelous sea.

It is very easy to arrive at old city as the bus stop is just outside the hotel.

I recommend it! A relaxing stay!

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms have great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biaplima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
662 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
747 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing