We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here last month with a couple of friends and would be very happy to return.
I would agree with others that it is not of 5 star standard but non the less we found nothing much to complain about. Our rooms were on the 8th floor overlooking the sea and the pool below with spectacular sunsets. The rooms were adequate if not deluxe with everything you would need.
Breakfast on the balcony was good with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes.
We did eat in the buffet restaurant one evening, as it looked like good value, but we found it disappointing and did not return. The a la carte restaurant overlooking the sea was excellent although expensive and of limited choice. You could not eat there every night..
The service on the whole was very good with the staff being friendly and helpful. The only exception to this was the pool bar who appeared to have an attitude which was at times rude.

The location was great with easy access to the Old Town by a bus service which ran from outside the hotel every 15mins. As the bus terminated outside the hotel there was always a bus waiting. A journey of less than 15mins.

The only slight grip I had was when we ordered 4 teas on the last evening in the sunset bar and my friend, who likes his tea strong, asked for an extra teabag. When we paid the bill they insisted on charging for 5 teas to cover the cost of the extra teabag. The explanation was that they were audited daily and had to account for every teabag.
A small thing which leaves a bad taste at the end of a good holiday

Room Tip: The reception is on the 9th floor and the rooms are on the floors below the higher floor have the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranfurlyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    536
    168
    46
    23
See reviews for
267
1,003
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very disappointed by this so called 5 star hotel. Although the hotel ticks lots of boxes in terms of spa, restaurants, hairdressers etc. the actual offering is far from good. Although they advertise high speed Internet - this is not true even in the reception area. When asked they claim it is because the hotel is full, however it is very poor even at 2 a.m. The breakfast is awful and only about 20 percent of seating is outside alongside chain smokers. The rest of the seating is inside where tables are in orderly rows very much reminiscent of 70s type silver service dining. There is little fresh fruit and the bacon etc is cold. There are no pastries or boiling water for tea, just lukewarm stuff. In all they seem to do the minimum required of mass catering. Surprisingly the restaurants and bar areas are virtually empty at night. This may be because of the inflated prices or because the atmosphere doesn't really work, being mainly inside. Yes the views are spectacular, but not necessarily from the rooms. I specified an unblocked sea view, but despite their promises all we could see was pine trees. Our junior suite was a good size and the beds are comfortable, however who wants to be on a holiday in a grey painted room with green carpet and beige curtains, not to mention old orange wood wardrobe doors! Our shower door fell off on day one, which given its size was quite dangerous. The duvets are not wide enough for the king size beds, so you have to request another. Oh and don't think you'll be able to lie in and get a sun lounger because most of them are reserved by 9 and the best ones much earlier than this, which makes the whole experience less than relaxing. Although one expects all hotels to have strong and more negative elements, this hotel is very misleading and I am surprised by some of the rave reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My husband chose this hotel, booked through Kuoni, for our honeymoon, as a surprise to me. The hotel had it on their computer that it is our honeymoon but no reference has been made to that fact by any member of staff or any gesture from the hotel.
The views of the Adriactic are stunning and all rooms have a balcony and sea view.
The rooms are very narrow and dated in decor. Even though it is our honeymoon we are sleeping in 2 single beds pushed together and 2 single quilts.
Yesterday our room was not serviced at all.
The bathroom floods with each shower and the towels are hard and grainy not soft, fluffy or luxurious.
Tea, coffee and kettle facilities have to be requested but each day they are not replenished and no fresh cups are brought until we phone and then wait anything from half an hour to an hour for the fresh cups and tea/coffee to be delivered.
The curtains in the room are hanging off both ends and im the middle and sunlight streams through as soon as the sun rises. This meant each night was a disturbed night.
The staff do not put themselves out for any guests. I was told by the omelette chef that was my fault that there were insufficient ingredients left to make the omelette I wanted as we came to breakfast too late. This was after standing in the omelette queue for 15 minutes and arriving at breakfast 35 minutes before the advertised breakfast closing time.
Yesterday in the Lean and Light restaurant the waiter told a table of four he was too busy to take their order. They left.
The staff at the pool bar and the so called beach restaurant are surly and smile as though they have remembered they need to smile and not because they genuinely want to be happy and helpful. All the staff prefer talking to each other than serving customers.
The access to the sea is really limited and not very inviting if you are not used to being in the sea and not used to rocky beaches. There is no sand here.
The top floor spa indoor pool and outdoor sundeck and jacuzzi are lovely. Secluded and mostly private as not many people seem to venture to the 10th floor.
The 2 indoor Jacuzzis on the 10th floor and the outside jacuzzi on the ground floor do not have full power and only work on one side of each jacuzzi.
All in all it is relaxing but in no way should be a five star hotel. The service really ready let's the hotel down and overshadows any other memory.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancaster187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel is beautiful and has a gorgeous view of the sea. We spend a lot of time in the hot tub, pool and swim up bar which are all seaside. The hotel was clean, the restaurant and food were very good, and you can enjoy your breakfast outside with a lovely view of the water. Service was excellent. The only "learning edge" I could think of, is maybe to update the rooms a bit. We had a balcony room, didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but if I HAD to find something to improve, it would be the room. However, the hotel is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel is really the best, for lots of reasons. The location is amazing, beside the beautiful Adriatic Sea and a short bus journey to the magnificent old town of Dubrovnik. It's at the terminus for the number 4 bus which leaves you to the city gates. We found there was almost always a bus waiting at the entrance to the hotel. Buy the return ticket for 24 kuna at reception, cheaper than on the bus.

The reception area has a panoramic view of the sea & islands as does every part of the hotel. There really isn't a bad room in the hotel as all of them have balconies overlooking the sea. The reception is on the top floor so a room from 4 up will have the best views. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they are well laid out, come with decent sized balconies, plenty of closet space and a very comfortable bed..the linen is always fresh, the room is kept very clean. The brown bed cover is a bit dowdy and brings the impression on arrival down a bit. The views quickly bring it up again.

For a five star hotel, which I think this is, the bathroom is a bit disappointing. It's old fashioned but works very well. The shower is great, although I had to adjust it a bit on first use as it was spraying water everywhere and the hair dryer is weak, one of those ones that attach to the wall and can be frustrating as they take twice as long as the plug in types. Bathroom toiletries were fine.

The rest of the hotel exudes a lovely, relaxed atmosphere with fantastic and very friendly service. The staff always smile and really couldn't be more helpful. They are clearly very well trained. Although this is a big hotel we never had to wait more than a minute for a lift, even though July is very busy but we were not too fond of the long corridors as we went up and down from the beach area.

The hotel has a number of restaurants, the beach restaurant is very good with a limited but good choice, try the pizza with a Greek salad. Perfect for two! Beside this restaurant is the poolside bar, again overlooking the sea. Drinks are served with welcome bowls of peanuts. Then there is the main restaurant where we had one of the best meals of the holiday, lamb chops & chicken, cooked exactly as requested. All these are located beside the sea and a day spent here is heaven. Plenty of beds, great service and the beautiful, clear blue sea to swim in. The swimming area is roped off, which is just as well as it can get rough and if the red flag is up there is a current that could pull a swimmer out. There was a lifeguard on duty some times.The pool itself looked good but I preferred the sea. There is a smaller pool for kids and a jacuzzi.

There is another pool on the top floor, indoor, a juice bar, gym and spa. When we were there this area was very quiet and most guests relaxed by the private beach. This is not a sandy beach, it's rocky and fish swim happily among the rocks. Bring goggles. Getting in and out is not the easiest and would be helped by steps going out a bit further or the ladder having flat steps instead of round ones. Small points in an overall near perfect hotel.
One last tip, it was very hot when we were there and I have never stayed in a hotel where the air conditioning worked so well. Usually it can be either too cold or too hot but it really was perfect. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the view is not obscured by the few trees that are there, one on a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coletteM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel has a stunning setting and the outdoor area is great. Buffet breakfast is fantastic too, with great food and the option to dine on the stunning outdoor terrace. Guest relations v helpful - booked the bus to Split for us. Rooms a little tired however and lunch by the pool average.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABJ_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of an Insight Vacations Tour in June 2013. The only downside of this hotel is that it is not in walking distance of the old town. However, there is a local bus that stops literally right out side of the hotel. You can buy your bus tickets from the hotel desk. And then 10-15 minutes later you're dropped off right at the gate to the old town.
There was a minibar in the room, but no in room coffee, no iron, and a very poor hair dryer. We had a nice king size bed and a lovely balcony that over looked the sea. But it also over looked part of the outside restaurant in which some one was badly singing for hours each night.At first we thought it was karaoke, but then realized it was actually one person trying to sing/perform for the guest...terrible! The other negative was that our shower/tub had one of those half glass door type things, which meant our bathroom was flooded after each shower.
There is a large pool area and many deck chairs, and also several access points to swim in the sea. There is free wifi, but the signal/access in the room was weak. We had breakfast at the hotel buffet each morning. It was huge with lots and lots of choices! You can't go wrong with the breakfast buffet here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing