We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic setting but one thing let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“fantastic setting but one thing let it down”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

OK, if you like big rooms do not book a classic double we upgraded to a superior which was so much better. Next, there are no tea/coffee making facilities or irons/boards in the rooms but you just request these on your arrival at no extra cost. The Elfinite restaurant( level one ) is very expensive and not that good, and my hubby got bitten badly whilst eating in there so take mozzie repellent! but the sunset and view are breathtaking. The biggest let down for me was the pool area, there was no space, crammed in like sardines, six inch gap between people and children, not good, but thank god we found a tranquil spot next to the indoor pool (top floor) where we able to relax. One thing for the men, no shaver outlet in bathroom and no free sockets in room, take dual roundpin plugs, reception only have so many to lend out. Those are the negatives, positives, good bus service outside hotel, infact, its the terminus for the bus so there is nearly always one there waiting , number 4, 15 mins into old town( get tickets from reception as they are cheaper oh and eating is not allowed on bus ) the people are wonderful and the view from the hotel is fabulous. Dubrovnik oldl town is a beautiful place, stunning architecture, so historic and wonderful people, we took a boat trip from the port in the old town to Cevtat this place was beautiful, small, quiet, with good bars and restaurants and its cheaper than the old town, we were advised to eat at Leut, the food was fantastic, and right on the waters edge along with a backdrop of greenery and one or 5 beautiful yachts bobblng about. Take the cable car if you can the views over the old town and out to sea are not to be missed and if you are fit walk the walls of the city, mind you, leave these activities until late afternoon as it can be too hot.

One other thing, there are no english papers at hotel but they do photocopy the Times every day which is in reception. This is a good 5 star hotel, the rooms are classic style not boutique, the beds are very good but the pillows are a bit thick and firm and there are only english news channels on tv, not that you will be watching much tv!! The sea is crystal clear but there is no beach just rocks with access into sea. Enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinawfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    552
    169
    46
    22
See reviews for
277
1,036
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the final leg of our honeymoon holiday in Croatia.

Hands down the best out of the three - the others being Split (Radisson Blu Resort Split) and definitely Hvar (Amfora Hotel).

Staff very friendly and efficient.

Great location and setting on the hill side with a short bus journey to the old town from right outside the hotel.

Warm pool and easy access for a dip in the ocean. Get down there early as there's a lot of sun loungers reserved long before breakfast.

Amazing views from the spacious rooms (the higher the better) but the bathrooms are a bit dated.

Only ate at the terrace restaurant once and whilst my meal wasn't to my taste my wife enjoyed hers. Had lunch every day at the beach cafe - good portions and tasty meals although the menu lacked a bit of variety.

Good selection at breakfast except for the sausages which were dreadful!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Gluten and Celiac friendly too.

Room Tip: Higher the better - 813 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumanovo, Kumanovo, Macedonia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel is in good location,when you check in they don't ask you which floor you would prefer,so if you have sea view room it could be a problem on the 2 floor rooms.Don't accept the 2 floor.The rooms are just ok,nothing special.The pool beach area is really nice with a lot sunbeds to use.The worst part of the hotel is the beach, i can't understand 5 star hotel to not clean the entrance of the beach from big rocks,all the guest were going into the sea with little scare to hurt their legs. I have visit 4 Dubrovnik, 5 star hotels and the breakfast in Dubrovnik Palace was the best. Overall ok hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept 2 floor if you have sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encino13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just had a fantastic week at the Palace. From check in to check out the people, service, rooms, facilities, environment and location all first class. Have holidayed extensively in Europe and Americas and this holiday has probably been the most relaxing and enjoyable experience in over 20 years. All staff professional, pleasant and efficient - a particular thank you to Ivan who serves at the poolside. Breakfast great selection in a well presented and relaxing environment - made to order omelettes are a must. Beach restaurant -good quality, value and great location. Rocky beach area relaxing, clean and peaceful - great swimming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceideeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My Husband and I are just back yesterday, having spent a week at the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel. We had a fantastic week. Found the staff very helpful, and polite. We had a meal on the first day we arrived at the Beach Restaurant and found one female member of staff very rude and most unhelpful. ( The only rude member of staff we came across.) We were back a few days later and to our delight that member of staff was off duty and the other members of staff were very pleasant. We found the staff at the pool bar very pleasant and helpful could not do enough for you. The Breakfast and Evening meal were all excellent, The chef in the mornings and at night went out of his way to help. Fantastic views from the bedrooms across the Adriatic Sea. The sun set at night was lovely to see from the restaurant on the 7th floor when you were having your evening meal. The TV in our room wasn't working we reported it and it was fixed right away. I would recommend this hotel to any one for a very relaxing holiday. Also the bus stop outside the hotel is very handy it takes you right in to the old town. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing time.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyatwellbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Outdoor pool, Sea/Island views, Cleanliness, High quality breakfast, Great staff, Good location, Bus route to Old town. Walking distance to Lapad. Excellent value. Old town takes only 10 mins on the number 4 bus which stops outside the hotel. There is no road noise whatsoever. There is also a PADI diving school on site if you wish to do this. You can hire boat trips from the hotel and the staff are very helpful. We will go back which is always the sign of a good hotel I feel. Lovely place, with plenty to do or just relax. Dubrovnik is a stunning place to visit

Room Tip: Just ask for sea view upgrade - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This Hotel is perfectly located in a quite idyllic coastal setting whilst being only a relatively short and convenient bus ride from the Dubrovnik old town. The reliable regular bus service which starts from the hotel (hence you can always get a seat) is a real plus. Not really an international 5* hotel and drinks/minibar a bit expensive but nevertheless this hotel has a lot going for it and I would recommend it. The photos speak for themselves. Hotel has PADI scuba diving which I took advantage of and was reasonably well organised.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but some (especially at lower levels) may be obscured by trees probably sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing