We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but needs a few minor tweaks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A fantastic location for a break. Only a 10 min walk down to the boulevard, with plenty restaurants etc. Bus No. 4 starts and ends at the hotel and is the perfect way to get into Dubrovnik Old Town. Busses run every 15 mins. Staff at the hotel were fab and very helpful. English is a second language. The pool bar was a terrific place to spend the afternoons after sightseeing. Highly recommend doing the Segway tour around the Lapad area 330 Kuna. This isn't a cheap destination. Costs as follows all in Kuna: Local draft beer 32; heineken 36; dubrovnik bus card (10 trips plus access to 8 museums on old town 180; pizza (large - seem to only come in this size) 50-90; decent wine in restaurant 150 -200; house wine 1 litre 85+; supermarket wines start from 30; baguettes start at 65; cocktails 45 - 66; soups avg 30 - very tasty; taxi's to airport start at 280; taxi's from old town to Dubrovnik Palace 70; meals out excluding drinks start at 90 on low end - to as much as you are willing to pay. Buffett dinner in Dubrovnik Palace 220 per person. I would definitely travel and stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank GigiRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June 2013 and I would really recommend it!! The location is slightly outside dubrovnik old town which we were concerned about.. Not a problem at all!! There is a great wee shuttle bus service that runs every 15 mins taking you to and from the old town. Invaluable tip, if you are planning to jump on and off the bus a lot, get the dubrovnik pass, big money saver. The location is actually one of the best parts, it is situated on the rocks of the Adriatic and the views are tremendous.

We were bed and breakfast and for us the breakfast could not be faulted. Huge selection. The fresh fruit tends to go pretty quick though.

The pool area is beautiful and the cocktails at the pool bar are worth the money. I really enjoyed sitting on the stools in the pool at the bar with a wee iced cocktail, cools you down in the heat as well. There are loads of terraces to relax away from the pool also. The indoor pool area was lovely as well. Nice to go to after a day in the sun.

We had dinner at the fine dining restaurant which was very expensive but worth it! The John Dory dish is probably the best fish dish I have ever had!

Only small criticism would be that the room was quite basic but nothing to put you off!

All in all an amazing holiday and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfonzohungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

At first we were disappointed that the hotel was not closer to the old town, but we realized on the 15 min bus ride that most of the hotels are located in the same area. When we saw the hotel, we better appreciated the location. The rooms, restaurants, and general areas all look out over the water. Spectacular views, especially at sunset. Buses run frequently and drop you off right at the main hotel entrance. The breakfast buffet was extensive and very good. We did have one dinner buffet there which was ok, but they did have freshly grilled chicken, fish, and something else that were probably the best thing that night. The desserts looked better than they tasted. The pool area is fantastic and there's even a swim up bar. We liked the idea of it better than our $12 Red Rose cocktails which weren't very good. It was a little tricky getting into the sea with moss covered rocks and round rungs on the ladders. All in all a pleasant surprise after a week in a tiny yacht cabin on the Harmony G. We were glad to be in a large room with plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel with truly stunning views. It's a lovely place to stay if you want to be away from the hustle of the old town - especially in high season.
A bus stops directly outside reception every half hour which takes you to old town and you can also walk to a small number of restaurants in nearby Lapad.
Overall we had a great experience. It was my birthday when we stayed and we were upgraded to a junior suite and they also sent me a cake on the day of my birthday. I thought those extra touches were very sweet. We did have a couple of strange experiences with room service who left dirty dishes in our room after cleaning and then forgot to come when we called - however this was only a minor thing and did not impact on our overall enjoyment.
One more small tip - the breakfast is amazing and abundant and we loved sitting outside in the terrace each morning - but you will attract wasps if you have anything with sugar.

Room Tip: We were in the 7th floor and the view was great. The higher the floor the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family and i have travelled worldwide staying in 5 star luxury hotels and this hotel run by Damir Lukic Hotel Director and his amazing staff is to be rated has one of the best we have stayed at for location ,location,location and suberb staff . The staff from the time we checked in until the time we left the hotel were the friendliest always happy people providing true croatian hospitality to ourselves and all guests they met on a daily basis .
The superb views from our rooms were the highlights of our day watching the cruise liners enter the port early mornings and the best sunsets in the evenings that could be seen anywhere in the world that added to the charm of this hotel and make it a special memory of this wonderful superb hotel .
The food served at this hotel for breakfast was very varied offering many choices from very fresh fruit of a wide selection , cereals , cold meats and fish ,sushi , and freshly prepared omelettes and fried eggs and selected food from the ban marie constantly changed by the chef's .
In the evening the varied food selection was amazing and what a great chef Dodra was always pleasant and ready to hold a conversation with all guests while he prepared fresh food to your request .
The restaurant staff what a great team of staff always willing to talk to guests and to make every person's holiday special . My brother celebrated a very special birthday during our stay and from breakfast where we were served champagne ,and evening meal where we were served champagne and they had made a special birthday cake and all the staff and guests sang happy birthday to him all has a total surprise . We has a family would like to say once again to Damir Lukic and his fantastic staff many congratulations and a very big thank you for making our holiday very special and we look forward to returning in 2014 to have another memorable holiday in a 1st class hotel . We have already recommended this hotel to our friends since our return .

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACQUELINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is really beautiful, nice lobby, great pool, but I definitely wasn't fully satisfied.
1) Rooms are pretty small for the price. Bathrooms are even worse, they look old, and dirty. The view from our room however was amazing. Really HOT, air conditioners are TERRIBLE.
2) Below satisfactory service - if the we asked the receptionist or concierge anything such as - where is a good place to go out... his reply would be EVERYWHERE is a good place. That was literally their reply to everything. The air conditioner in one of the rooms wasn't working and the receptionist literally replied by saying what am I supposed to do - I am not a electrician. Seriously?
3) Not impressed with the food, the room service was decent. The restaurant on the top of the hotel called lean and fit served horrible food, the restaurant downstairs had nothing great.

All in all, we had a good time, but I would definitely not pay for this hotel again. I recommend you try the Villas or Excelsior instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Apekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I had our honeymoon in this hotel back in October 2007. It was worth every penny.
We had a junior suite overlooking the Adriatic and the view was to die for. As the hotel is built on a cliff face all the rooms have a sea view. Ours had a balcony and on the first night there was a terrific thunderstorm that we both enjoyed watching from the balcony. After that the weather was quite sunny and warm for the time of year. Our suite was very well furnished although the furniture was a bit dated in style. As the hotel is built on a cliff face it is upside down! What I mean by this is that you enter the hotel from the top of the cliff where the reception/bar is and take the lift down to access your room. The reception itself has a coffee area with panoramic views over the Adriatic and instead of piped music we had a Russian piano player who played requests. she was a student and was very talkative when we met her at the bar between sets. In fact we had a number of very interesting conversations in the evening before bed. All the staff are very accommodating and really try to make the experience special. The only drawback I can remember was that the breakfast was not very good due to being over dried in the Bay Marie's for too long. Apart from that we would both recommend this hotel without reservation. Dubrovnik itself is a short bus ride from the hotel and the bus stops right outside for convenience. You can buy your tickets direct from reception or, for a small saving buy your ticket on the bus. Dubrovnik is a very old walled city with lots of charm. The architecture is interesting and you can join a tour to gather more information about the history which is quite good value. There are many very reasonably priced restaurants which are all next to each other ( turn right once you have accessed the city and walk up some steps to a street full of restaurants). There is competition for your custom but this is all carried out in a relaxed manner and is not tiresome.
One of the delights (apart from the homemade ice cream) is to watch artisans carving candles.
The designs are quite breath taking and look so easy to do!
Go to the quay to buy a ticket for a boat trip to the nearby islands. The trip lasts for about 5 hours and we managed to visit three islands in that time. Food and drink are included and the crew are obviously very knowledgeable regarding the history of the islands. (If you want to see Dolphins you will need to go further North to Spit.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A1lment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,014 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,556 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £112 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing