We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel great view”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just returned from our 6 day holiday. We stayed in a lovely sea view room, and really enjoyed it! The staff were polite and helpful at the restaurants. The included breakfast was really good - lots of choices. We had a few issues with the room on the first day, e.g. with the TV, and bed. When we returned, the bed wasn't fixed. My husband had to lift the mattress and fix the bed himself. Other than that, it was a great experience. We truly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty_Qi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that you found our hotel to be great and that you truly enjoyed in your stay.

We apologize for the lack of reaction on the bed issue. We will look into this deeper through the maintenance log book, as obviously maintenance team entered the room to fix the TV, but somehow they missed the bed.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    561
    172
    46
    22
See reviews for
283
1,065
61
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good 4-star hotel with amazing sea-views

A must is hiring a jet ski and exploring the the many little islands near to the hotel

Good bus service into old town which is great to explore night after night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and posting your review.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you again.


Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned after a 7 day break with friends, the hotel has views to die for from 95% of bedrooms (request a high room as one or two lower rooms have trees growing in front and will spoil the views) The hotel is situated quite a walk from everywhere,hence ,beware, but the local bus stop(terminus) is right outside the hotel entrance which takes you direct into the old town for a return ticket of approx £3.30 return(ask for tickets at reception as they are cheaper)..If you have a "paddy" licence and wish to dive you won,t have to travel as there is "paddy" school in the hotel...Go H/B, as evening meals with a drink (water or other) will cost upwards of £50.00 per couple..Not a cheap hotel for anything so be aware...This is not a hotel for children as there is next to no entertainment(day or night)and also no beach..Plenty of areas to sun bathe but all hard standing but help yourselves to towels and brollies..Fridge, safe and tea making in all rooms for free( but you may have to ask for tea making as they were not in the room on arrival) ask for top ups for milk(or anything) at anytime and its there within min,s ,cost free...I have never been to a hotel(and I have been to hundreds around the world) where all the staff are so helpful and willing to please(even when I made a complaint it was corrected and I was rewarded accordingly) If you retire early,there are enough "English speaking" chanels on the flat screen T.V. as not to get bored.....This is an ideal "honeymoon" and restful 5x hotel with everything you want served by a great team....Ideal for a long weekend maybe to see the sites of Dubrovnik and as I say ,not for the young or those after a week on the booze as its not a resort hotel...Our stay was in the mid period but I would not like to visit during the high season, far too hot and crowded)). Enjoy...

Room Tip: Request as room from the 6th floor upwards for the best views..Hotel is built on a hill ,hence, rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 115Bigolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to see that you described our hotel as "simply great".

Special thanks goes for the acknowledgment of our staff and their everyday's effort in providing excellent service.

Thank you for choosing Dubrovnik Palace for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.


Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Two retired couples choose this hotel for its off season lower rates, and we found it to be absolutely superb! Every room was large and well appointed, each facing the sea, for beautiful—no magnificent-- views at all times. The food costs and laundry costs were high, but the included breakfast was magnificent, presented beautifully, and enough for an army. A convenient bus stops right at their door and you are in Old Town in 15 minutes at most. The hotels’ facilities were first rate too. Every one of their stars was earned.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizonatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to share your positive experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you as a Tripadvisor's Top Contributor and experienced traveller found our hotel to be absolutely superb.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your friends again.


Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Dreadful place! Completely soulless,with no atmosphere and a lounge like an airport lounge!

No assistance with bags to the room on arrival, just told "take the lift down to your floor". Room like a corridor with no pictures (and we paid for the upgrade), a balcony with a couple of plastic tub chairs and no plants ( forget the sun loungers ).

The bed was so hard that my wife and I had back ache every morning and only 1 tiny pillow each with an excuse for an extra one (even smaller) in the wardrobe.

Asked room service for a biscuit with morning coffee (they don't have biscuits).

The first night out in the lovely old town and we arrived home at 12:15 only to find the place deserted (evidently the bar closes at 12 EVERY night).

Our last night, we decide to have a quiet drink in the bar around 11:30 before they close and at 5 mins to 12 they turn on the full lounge lights ( so bright it would rival Blackpool illuminations) quite clearly giving the message that it is time we weren't there!

All in all just very impersonal and a hotel where they don't really value customers. I guess they are so big and so busy that they don't have to worry!

Would never recommend or go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simon007surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. As a guest you have every right to share your opinion, although after looking at cameras the situation that you described for the last night of your stay we cannot fully agree with everything that you mentioned.

However, you are a guest and we will definitely not go into argument of into proving something different. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

As a hotel we are proud on our staff and the service they deliver and all the comments on this site from the guests that were in the hotel at the same time like you did can only confirm that.

Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you like your hotels big and brash with absolutely no heart and soul, this hotel is the best choice for you. Its functional, efficient and comfortable, but has no atmosphere in any of its public areas. It also has a strange arrangement for getting to the pool area via a restaurant door.

the restaurant food prices were astronomical, so overpriced for Croatia and the drinks were expensive also. The reception and bar area has huge glass windows overlooking the bay, but no balcony attached to the bar so that you can sit out in the open and have a drink. The gardens outside to walk in were limited and I would not like to stay in peak season as I imagine there is no peaceful place to find for yourself.

It is quite a walk around to the other side of the bay where all the nice bars and cafes are, near the More hotel, and the walks on the other side near the More are beautiful, but near the hotel the walking is not so scenic and there are no bars or restaurants I could see.

The positives is that you can get to Dubrovnik via the bus that stops outside the hotel, so for that it is convenient.

This may be the most wonderful hotel in Dubrovnik for a lot of people, but for me it was a disappointment with its lack of character and atmosphere, but I know it is just my personal opinion which may not be of the majority view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that our hotel did not meet your expectations in its design. However, we appreciate the fact that you rated our service as excellent.

As you said it is the matter of the personal view in this case and we are really sorry that you didn't like it. Thank you once again for staying with us.


KInd regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Can't recommend this hotel enough! It was the perfect location for exploring dubrovnik, the staff were delightful and helpful, the food was amazing and a great range to suit all, the general vibe of the hotel was very relaxed and very comfortable. The spa treatments were also fantastic!

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chantspriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your kind review. It is great pleasure to see that you have such an impression about Dubrovnik Palace and especially when we see what was the occasion of your trip.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing