We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views of Adriatic Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Views of Adriatic Sea”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Entering the hotel you have a panoramic view of the Adriatic Sea and anticipating the same from the room, as emailed hotel in December requesting a room high up with wonderful views. What a mistake that was - room was on lowest floor with minuscule view of sea and lots of screening plants. Phone didn't work in the room so had to go go to reception to request room change. Reception staff not that interested in changing rooms advising they were fully booked. When requiring milk for tea in room went to restaurant as phone still not working and they attempted to charge 8kn. Next day after going to reception yet again, advised would move to 6 floor later in the day. Returned to reception yet again advised moving to 5 - this time room view with large pine trees in front of window blocking half the view. 1 pillow on each bed and 1 spare - really??? Drinks in bar pricey, breakfast OK, toiletries adequate. Paying for a fantastic view from reception or pool area is not value for money. Coming from 5 star hotel in Prague this is more like a 3-4 star hotel. Positives are Renato and Mario at reception ( after room changed) were both very pleasant and eager to please. Room service staff efficient and cheerful. Bell staff were friendly and courteous.
Checkout 12 md is good, with Renato extending to 1pm very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Attempts to request room with view were not met - obviously a waste of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafferty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. Looking at your reservation we can notice that we received it in February through the on-ine channel without any special remark on the floor preference. First information on this for us was after you checked-in. Room 113 that you were first in is the room with balcony sea view just like all the others. We were not able to move you immediately as hotel was fully booked and we agreed to move you next morning. However, you left for an excursion which again postponed your move until afternoon.

We are glad that you found our staff to be pleasant, efficient, cheerful and eager to please. This is the most important.

Thank you once again for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and we apologize if we were not up to your expectation when it comes to room allocation.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    552
    169
    46
    22
See reviews for
277
1,036
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Got here and was checked into a room which had a sea view obstucted by trees, we went back down to reception to say we wanted to change rooms because of this - we were given another room, but this again had a view but obstructed by trees - could not belive it..!! We went down again, to be told there were no other rooms available, we told them we did not pay for a 5* hotel which says all rooms have a sea view, to be given a room which is blocked by the hotels trees... After getting very upset, we asked for the main manager who did sort us out with a perfect room.. Don't deal with reception staff if you have a issue, ask for the manager..!! All this took 90 mins coming and going, not ideal when checking in should be exciting, we have never experienced this in previous 5* hotels... Hotel is ok, thought the shuttle bus to old town 10mins is complimentary, but it is not, you have to pay - only small charge, but again for a 5* you would think this would be a complimentary service.. Breakfast is average, bacon is poor - just reems of fat, no beans or grilled tomatoes, it's a good selection has fruit yougurts fish salads omlettes, my concerns are just personal prefences :-) hotel pool is nice, lovely view, swim up pool bar drinks only though, no pool side food available, unless you use hotel restaurant... Loungers round the pool go fast, there are other areas you can get a lounger, it's just limited around the pool..!! The hotel has a nice indoor pool and spa, and small gym... It's a nice hotel and would not want to put anyone off staying here as nothing is majorly wrong with it, it's just not 5* luxury... There are places to eat and have a mini shop around near by ( walking distance) so you don't always have to go into the old town - we walked to the more restaurant & cave bar which was very nice only 15 min walk around the bay.. Hope this 5review is helpfull - Croatia itself is gorgeous 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckcw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. You have tackled many things in your review and just for the other readers we have to mention that all of our rooms are sea facing and with sea view. There are indeed in front of some rooms pine trees that are extension of the protected park forest above the hotel and they are a natural part of the Mediterranean landscape just like in other countries in this geographical location. There is no room in the hotel where the sea view is completely blocked by the trees.

Regarding your comment on "shuttle bus" we have to inform you that it is a public bus and not hotel service and we do not have it anywhere advertised as such.

Thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great stay. The hotel outside old town (15mins by bus), but its a great location. Our room had fantastic views over the sea, had more than enough room and a balcony. The pool area always had plenty of sunbeds (either poolside or down by the sea) so you could arrive at any time and still get one.

We ate hear one night in the restaurant down closer to the pool area, and the food was very good, as was the service.

Breakfast was good, buffet style. On first impressions looked like huge choice, but it was just the same stations repeated. However it catered for all tastes.

In terms of price, it was more reasonably priced than some of the other hotels in the same category.

Overall if going to Dubrovnik well worth looking into

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duddsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your review of Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. It is nice to see that you had a great stay.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beograd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Evryone was very kind and helpful. Great location for daving, jet skiiing, enjoying by the pool or just jumpimg into sea.....will return! Food by the pool a bit pricy ....especialy fish, sea food....however staff very nice....

Room Tip: All rooms are with a great view ....magnificant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvbBeograd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and for posting your review. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future.


Kind reagrds,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a great hotel and worth checking out if you’re looking for somewhere quite contemporary around Dubrovnik. Its not in the old town but has parking if you hire a car and a bus goes directly to the old town gate every 15 mins from the front door until about midnight. It has amazing views over the sea and captures the afternoon and evening sun on balconies and pool well.
We checked in and while early greeted by very friendly and attentive staff, the room was excellent and brand new, I think it has been refurbished this year. Unfortunatly due to some monsoon type rain that had hit that afternoon we found the wardrobe wet and some damp patches on the ceiling and carpets. We contacted the desk who sent a maintenance man, the only gripe was we had to chase the front desk to know whether we would be moved or what to do which delayed unpacking and relaxing. However we did get moved to a new room and upgraded to a suite which was more spacious and included sofa and bigger balcony. About an hour later there was a knock on the door and the hotel manager and member of staff were standing there with a bottle of Moet, chocolates and strawberries as an apology for our inconvenience. This was a great addition which wasn’t expected as we’d already been upgraded but really gave the first day of our holidays a nice start. From then on the hotel was great, friendly staff, decent pool area, gym and rooms. I’d say the buffet restaurant food was a bit average in the evening but the waiters were great hosts and loved chatting to you. Breakfasts we good and the lounges are nice though drinks pricey for Croatia but standard for a hotel. Would certainly stay again and recommend others do.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade for not much extra its worth it, but the standard rooms are very good anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjr202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you had a great stay.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending our hotel to others. We are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is very well maintained - it's clean, orderly and the staff offer better levels of care than is the average in Croatia. It is conveniently placed at the end of the bus line to go into the Old Town and a short walk from a cinema, supermarket and pharmacy. It has a cash point on the premises, it's own (small) beach, and a good breakfast that's available from 7am to 10.30 every day. There is also a dive school on the premises, a spa and a park next door where you can walk the cliffs.

However it is more a base for exploration than an event in and of itself. The pool is very small with limited sun loungers. The beach is basically a rocky outcrop. The beach bar is dead by 8pm and the beautiful views from the main bar are wasted on the small handful of people who stay there for any meaningful period of time. The restaurant is very expensive and focused on lobster dishes and while there is a great healthy food bar next to the spa the only option for a simple meal like a burger is your room service.

In conclusion, this is a hotel to have as your base so you can come home to reliable service, a balcony with beautiful views and wake up to the sound of the sea. With that in mind, do everything you can to GET those sea views. We were very lucky but some guests saw only trees.

Side note - despite hearing to the contrary from friends, we were disappointed to have several moments in our trip to a Dubrovnik where local sellers tried to rip us off. Be particularly wary buying trips on the harbour. It's not a problem as you get this in all tourist resorts, it's just we had been explicitly told this was not the case in Croatia.

Room Tip: Book a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booboobearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us.

Regarding your comment on meal options, in this case burger, we have to inform you that beside tavern, and Lean and Light that you are mentioning there is also a beach restaurant Ponta offering exactly that, burgers, pizzas, salads etc... It is hard to miss that one as it is located centrally on the beach.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked a superior sea view room for 2 adults and a baby only to get to the front desk where they told me we'd been upgraded to the Presidential Suite. And boy was it heavenly - a bedroom the size of your average house and a wonderful Jacuzzi bath. If price is no option then presidential suite is a must. Great facilities, very friendly staff across the board. And very accommodating for our baby too in the restaurants in the hotel. Pool tended to get a bit busy but you have to time it right to get a lounger by the pool. Short bus ride to Dubrovnik old town was EUR4 and very easy. All in all, couldn't fault it. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed in your stay with us.

We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing