We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and a MUST if you are honeymooning in Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing and a MUST if you are honeymooning in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I spent three nights at the Dubrovnik Palace, it was the first of three hotels we stayed at over the course of our honeymoon in Croatia. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel, from the ocean view from our bedroom to the breakfast buffet, everything about it was 5 stars. We stayed in a room on the 8th floor with a patio that was great for taking in the morning sun. Beds were large and comfortable, and the room was well appointed and cozy - extra points for having two robes.

We took breakfast out on the patio each morning which was a wonderful way to relax and begin the day. Copious amounts of fruits, breads, cheese, hot items, basically anything you could want was available.

Only downside to the hotel, and actually it isn't really a big deal, is that you are about 15 minutes away from old town Croatia. However there is a bus line, the number 4, which you can take into old town and they sell buss tickets at the front desk. It is pretty inexpensive (less than $1.50 a person) and runs about every 15 minutes. We like to dine late, so normally we would catch the bus between 8:45 - 9:30 and have dinner in old town. We always took a cab back to the hotel (I'm not sure if the bus runs past midnight) and that would range anywhere from 90-100 kouna, (about $16USD).

Cannot wait to return to celebrate a future anniversary!!

Room Tip: Have a room on a higher up floor facing the ocean if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Lindsay,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you enjoyed in your stay especially because of suc a special occasion.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,120
    561
    172
    46
    22
See reviews for
283
1,065
61
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

When we first got to the hotel the reception area was very impressive.
The first room we where given (room 307) had a few issues, tree blocking any view, shower didn't work and the safe was not secured you could pick it up, took it under your arm and walk away with it.
After speaking to a very nice and helpful lady at the reception, she knew of the problems with this room already!
We were relocated to another room with no problems but why give anybody room 307 in the first place!
Everything else at this hotel was excellent.
Getting to old town was very easy, a bus takes 15 minutes and stops literally outside the hotel.
Old town is a must for everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_CA590ZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our hotel to be excellent. Regarding your comment on recepton staff we would just like to add that lady at reception did not know about the problems with the room as you suggested but showed her understanding about it and react accordingly. There is a slight difference between those two.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.


Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel management insists on table service for simple things such as tea bags! Each time it's a 5-10 minute wait. Very annoying! Samte with asking for cappuccino, which is not readily available.

I had brought this to the management's attention but they do not take my dissatisfaction seriously. Each time I also asked the waiter or waitress to bring this to managemnet's decision they said they cannot (!)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank hotgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear hotgem,

it is really hard to explain to you here anything that it wasn't explained already while you were in the hotel. We don't understand how cappuccino could be "readily available" as you insist, unless it's from those self service coffee machines which is than of a low quality.

If you sit for example in any cafe in the world where you would be alone again it would take 5 minutes until waiter takes your order for cappuccino and prepares one and you were on breakfast with 300 other guests at the same moment so we believe that 5 minutes from order to delivery of cappuccino wasn't too long. For example if you wanted filter coffee it would be served to you within 30 seconds as this is something that can be "readily available".

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Highly recommended hotel that had pretty much everything you can ask for – with breathtaking views.
Myself and my girlfriend stayed for 10 nights, and the room was very nice and recently refurbished.
The pool is deceptively large and hotel staff are very friendly.
The beach area is very rocky with no sand, however it is located in a nice area, right next to the main pool.
We both also really enjoyed the use of the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.
The hotel itself is located in at the end of Lapad beach and has a very convenient bus stop right outside its doors – which means you can get to old town in 15 mins.
Overall we would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ensure you pay extra for a beach view rooms - the views are out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hemalk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. It is great to see that you found our hotel to be excellent with friendly staff especially after a 10 days stay where you had more than enough time to see all the aspects of the hotel.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and for recommending it to other travellers. We are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spectacular, epic views from your room (well my room....9th floor.....I do understand that some people have had some issues with trees on the lower floors, but you know what.....you can't see them when you're asleep and how long do do spend in your room when you're on your holibobs....get a life, whiners), the sunset cocktail lounge, the pool areas.....just gorgeous. I know I will remember the sight of those sunsets forever.

The Hotel is clean, well organised, accommodating and the service is excellent with a big hats off to the reception staff, breakfast staff and in particular the guest relations personnel always there to help with any query, bookings etc you need...absolutely first class (and for the elegant young lady wearing her tie for the first time...it suited you and you looked amazing).

Buffet Breakfast caters for every taste, and for those wanting cooked breakfast then it will be cooked in front of you as you watch, fresh as.

You can argue all day about the cost of a beer here compared to somewhere else, but really, get a grip......you knew it was a luxury hotel when you booked and you get what you paid for.....excellence and indulgence.

Coming back to Croatia.......I'm coming back to the Palace!

Room Tip: Higher floors for the epic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rokerroar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us and we are really looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The view from the pool and the upper floors is spectacular. The food and drinks were very overpriced and the service was average with the exception of Samira, who made us delicious omelets every morning and actually took the time to have conversations and add a personal touch to our experience. Thank you Samira for making us laugh and smile every morning!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AOLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Dubrovnik Palace for your stay in Dubrovnik. We are glad to see that you recognized Samira as an example of service which other staff memebers should follow as well.

Thank you once again for staying with us and hope we will get the chance to welcome you again.


Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Transfer
We were so glad that we booked a private car transfer with the hotel from the airport as we arrived in really heavy rain and fog. We booked a return transfer too.

The hotel:
This hotel is modern and large, and decorated in a contemporary fashion. It made us realise that we prefer some boutique hotels that are decorated to match the art of the country concerned. However, we chose the Dubrovnik Palace as we wanted to go diving at the Blue Planet Dive Centre.
We stayed on the first floor of the hotel – ideal for the dive centre on this floor.

Our room
The room was an average size, and decorated in a modern fashion. The lock on our front door was broken – but was repaired quickly. It broke again a few days on, but was repaired again. The wardrobe doors also came off their runners, but we were able to sort this problem out. Sadly, the outside canvas roof over the patio was broken on our room, and around half of the rooms on this level. However, we didn’t need it anyway. And the air-conditioning was great. The view from the hotel was fantastic – good for watching sunsets too.

Sunbeds and towels
The sun beds are only around 3 inches apart around the pool, and we only managed to get a sunbed on two occasions in the week – they are very popular, and guests are bagging them before breakfast, sadly. In addition, on two occasions, there were no beach towels available, for two hours each time.

Food and drink
We wished that the drinks were cheaper - £15.00 for two gin and tonics in the minibar, £6.20 for a warm cocktail in a plastic glass by the pool. I phoned room service for some ice, and was told I’d need to go to one of the hotel’s bars to collect it myself. So, every evening, I went to the Taverna Massonlini’s bar to request ice.

Out of the three restaurants we stayed in – we preferred the Elaphiti restaurant on the 7th floor. A brilliant, varied, breakfast is served in this restaurant, as is the buffet dinner (approx. £22/person). However, it is very brightly lit in the evening, and very busy. The Taverna Masolina would benefit from a changing, rather than a fixed a-la-carte menu, but the food was good. Unfortunately, when we ate in the 10th floor Light and Lean restaurant, our food did not arrive together. The waitress brought my meal, saying that my husband’s would arrive 10 minutes later. I asked her to take mine away, and bring it back, hot, with my husband’s. Both dinners arrived 10 minutes later, but mine was cold. We didn’t eat there again. However, if you turn left out of the hotel and walk 10 minutes into town, there is a great selection of restaurants and bars to choose from.

Bus service and Dubrovnik card
There is an excellent bus service (number 4) from outside the hotel, into Dubrovnik (10-15 minutes journey). The hotel reception sells bus tickets (£1.20 each way). However, I’d recommend buying the 3 day Dubrovnik card (£20) – which gives you access to 8 museums (the Art Gallery and the City Walls are the best I think) and 10 bus tickets per person. You have to use the card on 3 consecutive days from when it’s first stamped by a museum. However, you can use the bus tickets over however many days you need. Note: You cannot descend from the city walls for food/drink once you are up there without paying again, and it takes around 1.5 – 3 hours to walk around the city walls.

Excursions:
We went to Lokrum island twice (£7 each on a boat from the Old Port) – a great day out, and 70 kuna (£7) for a beer/sandwich/ice-cream on the island.
Also caught a day trip to three Elaphiti islands from the old port (215 kuna each - approx. £20) for all day.

Facilities:
Two toilet facilities near the bus station just outside the city walls, and one by the old port – 5 kuna/time (approx. 50 pence) – and no change given.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your detailed review which we carefully read and will certainly pay attention on the areas you mentioned. We apologize if we failed to meet your expectations in some segments.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing