We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location.....”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We travelled to this hotel with two other couples for a relaxing long weekend on 10th June 10.
First impressions of the hotel as you enter reception are very positive. A huge picture window provides a superb vista of the stunning sea with surrounding hills and islands. We booked standard rooms which were on the 2nd floor and were disappointing. For a 5 star hotel I expected more. The rooms are small and nothing special, something you would get from a standard 3 star business hotel in the UK. The balconies are also small and uninviting. Of the 3 rooms we booked 2 had trees right in front of them which made it difficult to enjoy the view.
The facilities at the hotel are lovely with a number of restaurants, bars, diving centre, and night club.
The location is stunning with the outside pool and sunbathing areas right on the seas edge where you can enjoy the view which we never bored with.
The area directly around the pool is quite small and if you want a sunbed by the pool you will need to be at the poolside reasonably early.
There are a number of places to sun bathe in addition to the pool with some secluded on the sea front.
The staff were efficient and very friendly, we used the 2 outside restaurants on the sea front and the food was very good with views to match. We also used the Sushi restaurant which was also good.
The hotel is a conference hotel and so apparantly have regular corporate events and conferences. This happened whilst we were there and so for a day the hotel became very busy especially around the pool and sunbed areas.
Whether you feel that this is a 5 star hotel or not will be based on what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Personally, I think its more like a 4 star hotel.
Having said that there is no doubt that this is a lovely hotel and will be a great base for a trip to Dubrovnik, which is a stunning walled city. The old town is about 10 minutes away by taxi however the hotel runs a complementary shuttle bus fairly regularly.
We had a great relaxing time and I would recommend the hotel and Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of our hotel with other Tripadvisor readers. Each comment is taken very seriously by our management and we constantly work on improvement of our rooms as well as our services and ammenities.

We are glad to hear that despite your remarks on rooms size you passed nice holidays.

I must say that we are aware of the fact that our standard rooms should be larger. Our moto is to do our best to exceed our guests' expectations in hotel services. We are planning to enlarge our standard rooms very soon.

The greenery around our hotel has expanded and grown so much since the hotel was built and many of our guests enjoy walking in the shades of the trees. We are very proud that we among those who would like to preserve the nature.

Once again thank you for all of your observations. It will be our pleasure to host you again in our hotel.


Kind regards,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    560
    172
    46
    22
See reviews for
283
1,063
61
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We are just back from a brilliant week in this Hotel. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite when we informed them it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. What can I say about the Suite it was just perfect. Room was spotless. When we returned to the room the following day it was to find Flowers, pasteries and fruit for our Anniversay. Really nice touch by the hotel. Also while we were there my husband celebrated his Birthday which the Hotel found out about from our passports. That evening in our room a waiter arrived with a Birthday cake for him. He was so delighted with this.
Food in the restaurant at the pool was lovely for lunch.
Would we return to this hotel yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Dear guest,

We are happy to hear that you and your husband were touched by our small contribution to make your 25th wedding anniversary and your husband's birthday unforgetable. We will do our best to continue to render our guests services that will exceed their expectation.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Kind regards,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Simply stunning hotel. Clean, top notch service AND fab food. The pool was lovely as was the setting and views.

Not a cheap hotel for people on a shoestring but you really do get what you pay for. I would certainly go back, and rarely say this about any hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnigmaticBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Had a 3 night stay at the Dubrovnik Palace. First impressions were it was quite a way from the Old Town. At leat 10 mins by taxi. Arriving at the hotel i was impressed by the overall style and understated luxury of the reception and public areas. The check in was smooth and efficient, the staff courteous. We had a classic twin room booked. Our room was on the first floor with beutiful views over the Adriatic. The room itself was small and cramped with the two beds pushed together and not much room either side.
The bathroom had nice toiletries but was poorly lit and the seall on the shower badly fitted causing a flood everytime we had a shower. No tea or coffee making facilities or iron in the room.
My biggest copmplaint however is the number of corporate clients at the hotel who seemed to take over the pool area indulging in boozy drinking sessions and rowdy behaviour. During out 3 night stay there were two different corporate parties of at least 20-30 people making it impossible to relax around the pool. I can appreciate hotels require this type of business to survirve in this ecconomic climate but surely it should be limited to week days leaving the hotel free on a weekend for guests who have paid to have a quiet weekend away from it all.
On the Saturday afternoon when there were no corporate guests, the bar around the pool area was un-staffed and we had to go into the hotel to collect our own drinks from the bar inside. This is not a cheap hotel and I would suggest you spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, General Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed and honest review.
We are pleased to hear you liked the style of our hotel and its public areas.
We appreciate all the observations you have made and intend to look into all the aspects that can be amended, such as the bathroom fixtures and the lacking amenities in the rooms.
We are sorry that the pool bar was left unattended, but we do guarantee that it was an isolated situation which is being taken care of.
Regarding your remark on the number of corporate guests, we are sorry to hear that your stay was affected. Sadly for some of our individual guests, Dubrovnik is well known for accommodating business clientele during low season, so our hotel is no different. We do hope that, if you ever choose to visit Dubrovnik or our hotel again, you will come closer to high season as you might find it more enjoyable.

Kind regards
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The location of the hotel is superb, and the views over the Adriatic at sunset are spectacular. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff were charming, efficient and extremely helpful.

The hotel has its own pool, and guests can also bathe in the sea, which can be reached from the lower terrace. Buses run to the Old Town every half hour from just outside the hotel, and take about 20 minutes. There are also plenty of taxis.

Our only complaint was that we felt that the breakfast (included in the room rate) was not up to the standard we would expect from such a hotel. There was a wide variety of hot dishes, but they were unappetising. The orange juice was watered down and the coffee was always lukewarm.

We did not have dinner in the main dining room, as we tended to go out in the evenings, but we did try the smaller terrace restaurant and the sushi bar, and both were very good, but expensive.

We would certainly recommend this hotel - it provides a peaceful retreat from the bustle of the city, yet is close enough to the Old Town of Dubrovnik to provide plenty of opportunities for sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lochlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed for 5 nights, had no serious complaints with the service or the hotel. The hotel is right on the sea with every room facing the water. However, about 1/4 of the rooms have view blocked by pine trees. Fortunately, ours wasn't. The standard rooms are quite small, not much larger than the bed; if you care about room size, upgrading to a superior or suite is a must.

The food at the hotel was OK but expensive, but then again, all food in Dubrovnik is expensive. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. The selection was decent (bakery items, cold cuts, fresh cooked eggs, etc), but they served the *exact* same food every morning.

Has a nice, large outdoor pool, with a swim-up bar. Has two pools, actually, the second is a small wading pool for kids. The sea front here is rocky; not rocky as in a beach with small rocks rather than sand, but no beach at all, just lots of big rocks.

Has a computer room, with 4 computers free for use.

The only real complaint about this hotel is that there is pretty much nothing nearby. No stores, no restaurant, no sand beach. [There is a nice beach and shopping areas down Masarykov road, about 15-20 minute walk away, but it gets quite crowded.] For dinner, you either eat at the hotel, or need to take a bus/taxi/shuttle to the Old Town.

The addition of an on-site mini-mart (with drinks, snacks, etc) would be a great addition.

The only problem we had was that we booked a superior room, but got put into a standard room. When we complained, we were told that it was a mistake, but the hotel was full and there was nothing they could do. They made up for it by upgrading us to a Junior Suite for the remaining nights, so no complaints! But it's not a well-run hotel where they get the room type wrong and don't notice (or care enough to tell you). And, judging by many of the other reviews, they seem to overbook quite often.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2009

The Dubrovnik Palace was recommended to us by friends that had stayed at the hotel before... I had a few doubts about the hotel after reading some of the bad reviews on trip advisor but should not have worried as the hotel was everything I had imagined.
A lovely hotel with breathtaking views over the adriactic...Dubrovnik is a beautiful city but gets very busy when the cruise ships comes in so it was heaven getting back to the hotel which is a 10 minute bus ride away for the old town..therefore very peaceful and serene. It was good just to chill out by the pool bar or on our private balcony. Staff were always helpful and pleaseant....A bit of advise for anyone staying at the Dubrovnik Palace is to ask for a room on the 8th or 9th floor as there are alot of trees in front of the hotel and block the balcony view unless you are high up. On our arrival we were put on the 6th floor but asked to move to a higher level as one of the reasons we chosse the hotel was the views but could not see for the trees..the staff were great they moved us straight away to the 9th floor which had the best views.... The rooms are not really what you would expect for a 5 star hotel but they are clean .
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice relaxing holiday with views to die for.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trayrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing