We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, very expensive once you're here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very expensive once you're here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I stayed here in August and found the following:
Advantages
1. Amazing views
2. Comfortable rooms, big beds!
3. Great shuttle and bus service into the old town (it is worth noting the free shuttle service only runs 9:30am – 12:30pm then 6:30pm – 9:30pm so getting the bus is necessary sometimes the shuttle could be full at peak times)
4. Walking distance to lapad a typical resort with bars and restaurants.
5. Good breakfast (not amazing, not 5* in my opinion)
6. Guest services advised us on restaurants in town and booked.
7. AMAZING spa area really a hidden gem.
8. Sushi bar great, but around £50 for 2 people to have a small meal.
9. Free WiFi everywhere and use of business centre.
Disadvantages
1. No sun beds past 10am
2. £8 for a cocktail!!!!
3. V.v. expensive restaurants, all mediocre (all of the restaurants in town were better)
4. Staff service varied, some friendly, none particularly good and some pretty poor.
5. No sandy beach
6. Tired looking bathrooms
7. Although all rooms are ‘sea view’ some are majorly obstructed by trees.
Would I stay here again? Definitely, just be warned if you want to stay in the hotel for the whole week and not venture out you will spend a small fortune!
Restaurant recommendations
• Arsenal (old harbour)
• Mussel restaurant (again old harbour)
• Dominos (amazing steak!) old town
• Mea-Culpa (great cheap pizza) Old Town
• La Brasserie (in the Zagreb Hotel) Lapad

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han1Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment issued on TripAdvisor web page. All the critics are welcomed that enable us to improve our service at guests' satisfaction.
We are happy to hear that despite the disadvantages you mentioned you had a nice time with us.
Please note that in the peak season our hotel is fully booked and there are sun beds as much as our cosy beach can accomodate. Speaking of the beach please note that our coast is mostly a rocky one and there are only a few sandy beaches in our vicinity. As far as the sea view obstructed by the trees is concerned it is worth mentioning that we do our best to mantain the greenery around our hotel since this is a porous soil.

Once again your observations are much appreciated and we do really hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Yours truly,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    536
    168
    46
    23
See reviews for
267
1,002
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south ruislip
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

My boyfriend booked this hotel with thomson and we stayed at this hotel for a week. I have to say one disapointment I had was the moany people on this site writing bad reviews about an excellent hotel and a fantastic location (so please ignore them). The hotel is beautiful and has the most spectacular views. The staff are very helpful and friendly......the older gentleman in the lounge bar and the pool bar staff make the best cocktails! The prices of the food in the hotel are a little pricey but if you turn left out of the hotel and take a 10-15 minute walk to the promenade you will find a row of restaurants and bars. Please please please make sure you go and visit paladium. This is a gorgeous little restaurant run by lovely people. The prices for the food are low and fantastic quality! When you have been in their once you will want to go back (we went there 4 times in a week). Our room had a gorgeous sea view and was kept very clean (when cleaned a fresh supply of l'occitane toiletries were put out in the bathroom). If you are looking for a relaxed, beautiful, adult holiday and your willing to spend a few pounds then book a holiday here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmaburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Dear Guest,

We are much obliged for your nice words you posted on TripAdvisor page. It's always a pleasure to hear that we have done a good job and that our guests have enjoyed their holidays with us. It's an injection for our staff and management to make more effort in providing their services on hotel guests' satisfaction.

Yours truly,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Incredibly friendly, very helpful, extremely clean.... This is a great place to be if you want to get away and relax.

If something is not right or you are unhappy then the staff will go out of their way to make it right... From the cleaners to the general manager they all have the 'customer experience ' in mind ... Dubrovnik itself is also wonderful old town to take in the sights, the cafes both day and evening... Why did it take me so long to come here!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for positive comment you put on TripAdvisor page. We always like to hear that our efforts to meet guests' expecations are recognised and that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

We are looking forward to hosting you again next time you visit Dubrovnik!

Yours truly,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Ca
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

The Dubrovnik Palace Hotel went out of their way to make our stay special... beautiful room... amazing pool... spectacular views.... The Croatian coast and Dubrovnik are breath-taking... the Palace is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSoCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for nice words you published on TripAdvisor page. Our goal is to have a satisfied guest and we do our best that a memory on our hotel and town stays in te guest's mind long long time.

We are looking forward to hosting you again next time you visit our beautiful town!

Yours truly,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Blah blah music, no rose bythe glass nor champagne, fight for a sunbed at 7.00am, Bare torsos and tatoos at the bar, women in bikinis walking about and at the bar. Coaches galore. three star hotel with one star guests. Avoid

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSandzillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor page. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy staying with us. During the summer our hotel is fully occupied and our beach is cosy. As far as bare torsos and women in bikinis are concerned we can say that it is allowed to walk dressed like that on the beach area.
In our hotel everybody is welcomed.

Kind regards,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days in the beginning of August.

The location is excellent. 10 min drive to the old town. Great views. Nice beach. Upon other advantages, I can name a great dive center (among a few in this region), friendly and helpful room service and champagne offered for breakfast.

However, some things do spoil your impression from this hotel. These are:

1. Very few restaurants. Most with poor quality and too high prices.
2. Old and uncomfortable sun beds.
3. Low standards of the front desk personnel (incompetence and unfriendliness).
4. Old looking bathrooms.

I would not return to this hotel on my next visit to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavic_Ov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Dear guest,

We are very obliged for your comments published on TripAdvisor pages. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel and service. Please note there are four restaurants in our hotel: Satu sushi bar, Elafiti main restaurant, Maslina a-la-carte restaurant and Ponta snack bar. We would appreciate very much if you could advise us in more details your objections from point 1 to point 3 enabling us to improve our offer and service.
Also kindly be advised that each year during the winter time we do refurbishment of our premises and inventory in order to keep up with 5* standards and to offer our guests good value for money.

We hope that you will change your mind and that you will choose our hotel again next time you visit Dubrovnik.

Kind regards
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. In our experience the staff, at every level, went out of their way to be courteous and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a standard room and were concerned that we were only 2 flooors below the nightclub, but didn't hear a thing. For such a large hotel there were no congested areas, the restaurants, taverna and beach bars always had space to sit and enjoy food and drink. The large restaurant coped very well with breakfast, due to the high number of staff who worked efficiently to clear tables, etc - and it was the best choice of breakfast we've had anywhere! The hotel was in a lovely spot and only 15 minutes walk to a number of bars and tavernas for those who didn't want to bus into the old city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisa76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment edited on TripAdvisor pages.
We are happy to hear that you spent nice holiday with us.
We hope that you will choose our hotel again next time you visit our beautiful town.

Kind regards

Rade Malobabic,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing