We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Fault - Excellent in every way.”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Location was perfect. Hotel was stunning. Service was excellent. Food was delicious!
We did stay in late November which as it was out-of-season meant we got a very good deal (half board was an added bonus when we checked in as we thought we'd only booked B&B!).
Being out-of-season meant that the hotel was only half full and the staff were all the 'permenent' ones - nothing was too much trouble for them. In high season i can imagine that they, like all establishments, have to take on a number of seasonal staff who may not be as attentive as we experienced.
The rooms were classy, spotless and comfortable. Even the maid was always smiling. And the location is the best in Dubrovnik - you were right at the heart of the old city. We ate in several restaurants in the old town and never found better food than at the hotel
My recommendation would be to go to Dubrovnik 'out of season', you'll get better value, better service and experience the best Dubrovnik has to offer when its not over run by the thousands of tourists who descend 'in-season' . A day trip to Cavtat is also recommended and a ride in the cable car. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Dubrovnik as well.

We are looking forward meeting you again.

Kindest regards!

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

To get he bad stuff out the way, I can only give 4/5 as at checkout the reservation lady, nice as she was, remembered to charge me for the room but forgot to give me back my passport and I had already left the Old Town in a taxi before I remembered.
Also in this day and age, I still can not understand why you have to pay for internet access - especially after paying so much to patronize the place.

And the good stuff: the worst hangover ever made me desperate for a bed to curl up in to recover - boy was I blessed with a sweet bed ! It was so big and comfy I slipped away real easy. After some rest I woke and realised what a gem the Pucic Palace was. The bathroom was really special as was it's views of the Dubrovnik's skyline and the Old Town's Terracotta roofs.
The only thing missing was a cigar, as I sat there wrapped up in my dressing-gown at my executive suite desk. Joking aside, the hotel was pleasant and relaxing and the staff were great and really helpful - the bell boy even met me at the gate of the Old Town after the taxi driver kindly contacted them.

Definitely worth a stay - it's the setting for some cherished holiday memories

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously yield better views - the 3rd floor should do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Trip Advisor! We are very happy that you liked our hotel and that we managed to make you feel as a king at least for a day :-)) We do hope that we will have more opportunities to welcome you to Dubrovnik and Pucic Palace.

Sincerely yours

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We spent 4 nights with Pucic Palace and we loved it! The hotel, itself, is deep inside the walls of beautiful Dubrovnik, and our room had great views of the city and its wall. Beautiful furnishings, albeit a bit too old fashioned for my taste, FABULOUS amenities, comfy bed, great turn-down service. Helpful and very cordial concierge who took the time to talk to us about Croatia's recent past and to answer all our quizmo questions, including the correct pronunciation of the name! They also humored us but allowing us to complain about the cruise ship tourists who inundate the teeny city during the day! :) They planned all our evenings at the best restaurants in Dubrovnik, which ironically didn't include their own restaurant, where we did have a great breakfast each morning. Wifi wasn't free… one of my biggest pet peeves, otherwise we loved everything about Pucic Palace.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Pucic Palace on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that we managed to go beyond your expectations as this is always our goal.

Thank you once again for choosing hotel Pucic Palace for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are already looking forward to your next visit.


Sincerely yours,

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just spent 3 nights at his lovely hotel in the centre of the old town. Position is the best. Excellent service. Comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Pucic Palace and we are looking forward to welcome you in Dubrovnik and Pucic Palace again.


Sincerely yours,

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed in the annex building and had an apartment for 3 nights. Beautiful bathroom and separate bedroom from the living area. The place was clean however there were a few hiccups, like lights burned out, etc. We just let the staff know and things were fixed quickly. A little trick to the hot water though. It is controlled by a switch outside the bathroom, as are the lights, so we accidently turned it off. The staff turned it back on for us and left us a note apologizing for any inconvenience. The location was away from the main hotel where breakfast was served, but it was convenient as the Old City is very small. There was a good variety of choices for breakfast. While it is a lovely facility, it is a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: We really liked having the spaciousness of the apartment after being is some really cramped rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaB503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sencere feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had nice time in Dubrovnik and that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Annex Apartment.

We are looking forward to meet you in our hotel again.

Sincerely yours,

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Arguably the Pucic Palace is the only place to stay in Dubrovnik but really that's just because of it's excellent location within the city walls and the fact that as the only hotel within the city there is no competition. And maybe it's because there is no competition that this hotel doesn't feel it needs to make much of an effort. To call itself a luxury high end hotel is to lie. It is not 5* and anyone assuming it is will be seriously disappointed. (They seem to be quite keen on this theme of false advertising ... order champagne and you get Cava.) Small rooms, aeroplane bread and staff who leave other people's dirty laundry and towels in your bedroom were just some of the delights we encountered. On the plus side a couple of staff members were helpful and charming and the bed was comfortable. But in summary at over 400 euros a night I left feeling ripped off and pissed off.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank venetia235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Guest,
We are sorry that your experience in Pucic Palace ended with these comments. We apologize for the inconvenience that happened with the houskeeping department.
Our hotel is a small boutique hotel with only 19 rooms and the whole building, as everything inside the city walls, is protected by UNCESCO. Size of the rooms goes from 20 m2 to 53 m2 and is given with the shape of the building wich was built in 17th century. Maybe it can not be compared with some other rooms in some other hotels, however our hotel is a heritage hotel and it can not be modified.
Airplane bread as you name it, is freshly baked in the kitchen every morning and its size and shape can vary from small buns to large breads.
All in all we do hope that we will have an opportunity to meet you in Pucic Palace again.
Kindest Regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for just one night and absolutely loved it. It's vintage style gave it a certain charm that larger hotels don't necessarily have. The rooms were large and the bathroom was gorgeous with the amazing old fashioned baths.
The location is unbelievable, it is right within the city walls so it means that everything is at your fingertips. The staff were wonderful too and nothing was too much trouble, giving advice and bits of history about the city.
Breakfast was a la carte and wonderful, it filled us up for most of the day!! We didnt eat at the restuarant but the menu looked great!
We loved Dubrovnik and rate it as one of the best European cities we have ever visited! Its not a cheap destination but there is great food with a huge Italian influence, amazing pizza's and the Croatian red wine wasn't too bad either (cheaper than coca cola!!).
We definitely recommend a trip up the cable car as the views from up there are truly spectacular!
All in all an amazing stay and highly recommended for people who are looking for a charming, break in an extremely central location.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pollk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your experience of Pucic Palace and Dubrovnik as destination made your vacation stunning. I hope that we will have an opportunity to see you in Pucic Palace again.
Sincerely,

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £143 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing