We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing for 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing for 5 star”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

The positives are fantastic location, very friendly and helpful reception staff and beautiful rooms. Being on honeymoon they upgraded us to a lovely room overlooking the square which allowed us great views of the morning market and we spent alot of time sat on our balcony watching the world go by. Unfortunately the cleanliness of our room was not to the standard I have previously experienced from a 5 star hotel - the floor was not properly cleaned every day and when the sun shone in you could clearly see the dust in the corners and ledges/shelves harder to reach had accumulated quite thick layers of dust. The rainshower was great but the drainage not adequate resulting in the bathroom floor flooding and we had minor issues with the sink plug jamming, the balcony door being temperamental and the wifi repeatedly disconnecting. These were only minor and would have warranted 4 stars if it weren't for the appalling service we received at breakfast. The staff were rude and unfriendly, our orders were taken incorrectly, items requested never materialised and most upsettingly, despite always asking for and informing the hotel prior to our arrival of my need for soya milk as I am lactose intolerant, I was brought dairy milk and had to send it back. Perhaps as we are a younger couple and dress more casually and therefore are not the usual 'clientele' of the hotel we were not afforded their usual level of service but, being on honeymoon and the hotel being aware of this, we expected better and it really damaged our overall opinion of the hotel. Based on our experience we did not eat in either of the hotel restaurants so I cannot comment on whether the service improved throughout the day but by our final day we were apprehensive about breakfast and the problems that would ensue. A real shame as for such a lovely hotel and great location it has potential to be great.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    81
    20
    15
    6
See reviews for
53
228
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Pucic Palace hotel was one of the nicest experiences in Dubrovnik. It is small charming hotel in the city center. Great charming rooms which breath the history of Dubrovnik. Make sure you book room facing the square from where you will have really magnificent view and you will be able to experience the market in the morning. Great variety at the breakfast in Cafe Royal was important for good start of the day, while our evening ended with delicious food at the Defne restaurant. Beautifull little terrace, surounded with flowers and houses give impression as if you are not in the Old town where there are many people walking at the streets. We definitely recomend this hotel if you want to see how it feels like living in the Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkinita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you liked our hotela and Dubrovnik. We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you in Pucic Palace.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The location is great, however service is slightly lacking.
There doesn't seem to be enough staff, usually just 1 at the reception and another is the porter who also doubles at desk duty sometimes. And the porter is really needed in a Dubrovnik hotel located in the old town! The reason is that no vehicles are allowed in and most guests would need some help with luggage both when getting in and leaving the old city.
Rooms are spacious.
The hotel furnishings are quite luxurious but condition of the building (eg bathroom, roof structures, etc) are not in prime condition.
Btw, there have been changes since the earlier reviews in this column:
1. Wifi is now complimentary, however doesn't always work
2. The bathroom accessories are no longer Bulgari but a Croatian brand. That doesn't bother me but some people might feel this is important.

I have stayed at quite a few luxury boutique hotels and this one somehow gives the impression that they are not really trying. Or don't have to, considering the hordes of tourists flooding daily into Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: If you really like to have a window, it's best to specify, otherwise you can end up with a spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurorasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I had a square facing room, and it was just amazing to be able to wake up in the morning (and I am an early riser) to see the farmers markets and restaurants setting up from the window in my room. That being said, if the window is open, the noise really does carry into the room. I think it was louder in the room than outside. I enjoyed that though, because I felt like I could be a part of it all, without actually being in the square.

When choosing a hotel in Dubrovnik (old town), you should really consider what you are looking for. If you are looking for a peaceful beach vacation, there are lots of great hotels close to the old city that have their own beaches. This hotel is unique, that it is a gorgeous hotel right in the center of it all. Especially since it is a pedestrian area, it feels SUPER safe. That does mean there will be tourists everywhere you go, but it also means you will be very flexible in wandering the city at whatever time you choose without having to go very far. If you take a tour, most tours pick up at a location that is only an 8 min walk from the hotel, so that is no problem at all. The hotel breakfast is terrific. Simply terrific. They'll make eggs to order, and days where there is no market, you can even sit outside on the square seating.

The folks that work at the hotel are extremely nice. Probably one of the best parts of the hotel even. I felt like they were always looking out for me, which is awesome.

Next door to the hotel is a terrific wine bar. Try the Dingac wine. It is really good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiSo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Dubrovnik and that you experienced even busy mornings inside the city wall. Our constant accent is on guest care and we do want everybody in our hotel to feel welcomed, happy and relaxed, and we are doing everything possible to have happy guest as you are.

Kindest regards.
Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Pucic Palace for 10 days, from 23.03.-01.04.2012 and obviously had the Junior Suite adjacent to JMM_SQ's room. I can only underline his positive remarks as well as those of JAMWestSussex on this hotel. We enjoyed every second of our stay. And it has been a good choice to go that early, as from 29th March on, the Old Town seemed to be invaded by cruise tourists and their number was increasing by the day.

There is one special compliment I would like to extend to the staff of the hotel:
It is very rare to find such a friendly, polite, cordial and extremely helpful staff in a hotel as we met in the Pucic Palace. Congratulations!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlw-309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed in our hotel. Junior suite is really spacious and nice especially because it gives you opportunity to feel and experience the Old Town and Market every day. We are always trying to give our best to the guests so that you can relax and enjoy Dubrovnik to the fullest. We do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you to The Pucic Palace.

Kindest regards.

Josipa Pavlovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed four nights in the Pucic Palace towards the end of March 2012. As previous reviews mention, it’s in a great location right in the centre of the Old Town of Dubrovnik.

I think the hotel has something like 19 rooms, so don’t expect it to be like a big hotel in a chain – that’s part of the charm! The rooms are nice and reasonably sized. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept well (apart from being woken up at 5am on the last morning by a small earthquake!). The bathroom has all the usual amenities with mosaic floors and walls. There were comments in previous reviews about paying for wifi – it looks like this has changed and is now free (although I didn’t use it during my stay). I had a corner room which overlooked the square, great for seeing everything going on. If you’re not an early riser though you might find it a bit noisy first thing, despite the good soundproofing. Dubrovnik comes to life early as the traders set up their stalls in the market in the square.

Breakfast is all ordered – no buffet, but there is a good choice. As everything is freshly prepared and cooked to order you need to leave enough time to enjoy it. I didn’t eat in the restaurant.

The staff were all very helpful. If you let the hotel know when you are arriving in Dubrovnik they arrange for someone to meet you at the Ploce Gate to the Old Town and take you and your luggage to the Hotel. Similarly when you leave they will take the luggage back to the Ploce Gate.

Everything in the Old Town is within easy walking distance and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars near the hotel.

Dubrovnik is a beautiful city and this is a good place to stay to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMM_SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Pucic Palace Hotel. Yes wifi service is free of charge from this year. Thanks to the previous comments of our guests we listened what our guests would like. We do hope that you will be visiting us again.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recently stayed at this beautiful hotel for 4 nights from 10th february after researching the internet....it's the only hotel within the walls of the old city and it's location is stunning...we had a room overlooking the old square with a small balcony and a lovely bathroom and couldn't fault anything at all about it...the decor of the room was very classical with the comfiest bed ever and was cleaned daily....all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and laid back and willing to help with any questions or requests we had. Breakfast was plentiful with the usual choices of cereal, fruit , juices and cooked breakfast. We visited out of season and unfortunately for us the weather was quite bad so most restaurants and cafe's were closed so we had our evening meal in the hotel on our first evening which was just ok ....then on the sunday with particularly horrendous weather and nowhere open we decided to have room service for our evening meal and this was from the same menu in the restaurant... i ordered risotto and unfortunately it was so full of salt it was inedible...my partner ordered chicken which was not good either so definitely not 5 star food at all...we wondered if because we were visiting out of season, and there were not many guests wether they had a temporary chef. We didn't complain because all the staff were so lovely and we could not fault anything else about the hotel but if you are visiting in season there will be lots of lovely restaurants to visit in the evening so I would suggest eating out. We would definitely come back to stay again in the summer and Dubrovnik is a stunning city. Thankyou to all the hotel staff for making us so welcome. We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Either ask for a room overlooking the main square with a lovely balcony....or room 16 is in the atti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you liked Dubrovnik and our hotel despite the bad weather. We are really sorry for the problem you had with the food in our hotel. There is no excuse for it weather it is in the season or off the season. We are going to take it into consideration and pay mora attention to it in the future. We do hope that you will be visiting us in the future.

Kind regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,209 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Property: The Pucic Palace
Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing