We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spring Break”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

First visit to Dubrovnik and this was the perfect location within the city walls. Very helpful staff - recommended a taxi trip rather than cable car to experience the superb views which provided many photo opportunities. In March not all of the hotel facilities were open and it was very quiet but on the positive side this was a perfect and quiet time to visit and the attractions using the excellent value Dubrovnik card. The rooms were quirky but pleasant and spacious ad the meal we had in the restaurant was good with attentive service - breakfast was excellent with meals cooked to order. Taxi transfers to airport were timely and porter from hotel met us at gates, Fabulous city and hotel

Room Tip: We were at the rear and it was quiet - it would have nice to have overlooked the square but mat have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb56422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Dubrovnik and our hotel. Hopefully we will have an opportunity to host you again in near future.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Having read some of the other reviews we were a little unsure about the hotel but in reality the key question is do you want a city hotel in the heart of Dubrovnick, 15 minutes walk from anywhere (as long as you can Cope with steps) and as a consequence get some noise, or do you want to be outside the walls and not be at the city heart.

We chose the noise and whilst there is no traffic the market square does start early and the chatter and sound of people being active was fine. The morning we wanted to sleep in we shut the windows and heard nothing, the air con working a treat. The did church bells added to the sense of place.

Our room overlooking the square was very good. Spacious, light and with good flow of breeze if we opened the windows. The bathroom was "wet room" style which meant the floor was wet - especially after I used it. However the room was cleaned twice a day and when we returned back from day out or dinner it had been restocked and cleaned.

The staff are excellent, happy to explain and help with a command of English better than you find in most London hotels! Free wifi, good menu based breakfast and perfect location are all positive. We didn't eat in the evening in th hotel so can't comment on the food, but with thirty restaurants within 200 meters the choice encourages eating out.

Ths is a modest sized hotel, 17 rooms, in an old city with tight building regulations, so don't expect pools and spas, but if you want a friendly well run hotel, centrally located with great staff you will have chosen the perfect location for your city break.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank OldPos1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank ou for your nice feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you experienced life inside the city walls. You were very objective and concrete with your expectations and your comments. We are looking forward to meet you again in our hotel.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Super location and reasonably priced wine bar next door.
Tatty, poorly maintained room. Doesn't deserve its 5 stars.
Facilities not as described. No porter or airport pickup and drop off available. Filthy tiles in shower and broken shower door. Only soap as advertised 'luxurious Bvlgari cosmetics'. Other bathroom cosmetics not replaced. Broken wardrobe door. Some staff rude. Internet not working. Cold tea, and restaurant food average.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor overlooking square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to hear all this after your positive feedback at our reception.
Concerning the airport pickup and porter, they do exist in our hotel and you could probably see porter during your stay at the reception. Since you have booked your stay through an agency that doesn't provide guest details we couldn't contact you in order to offer airport transfer service.
Concerning the Bvlgari equipment unfortunately because of the company's concept change of the bottles we were not able to provide you with full bathroom cosmetics however it is expected to arrive soon, in the meantime our guests can use equally good Croatian brand.
For the broken wardrobe door you could have report it immediately when you saw it, our technicians would have repaired it.
We would have liked if you had address your comments during your stay so we could have made up for the on the spot.
However, we do hope that you enjoyed Dubrovnik and that you will be coming back again in the future.
Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

What a fabulous hotel! The location is the best you could wish for for a city break looking at the old city in Dubrovnik. The staff here were as helpful as you could ask for. The room was a good size with a fabulous bathroom and the view from the window in to the square was lovely with the Cathedral and Rector's Palace on show. We ate dinner at the restaurant one evening as well as all our breakfasts and cannot fault the food we were served. The black risotto was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I am a fussy customer!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmabelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on Trip advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed Dubrovnik and your stay at The Pucic Palace hotel. We appreciate all your comments and hope to see you again.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were not guests at the hotel but were out walking in the evening and decided to end the evening with desert. The desert menu on display at the Pucic looked appealing so we sat down at an empty table in the outside area. When the waiter finally approached us we indicated that we had already dined but would like desert. The waiter gave an ugly groan in response. I asked if this was possible and he replied with a grunt " I guess you can have what you want". At this point I felt like getting up and leaving but we decided to ignore his rudeness and ordered deserts. The deserts were very average but we ate them and then asked for the bill. We waited 15 minutes for the bill to be brought to the table despite lots of fussing around other diners. We then waited for some time for someone to return to collect the money but as no one came we got up and walked into the reception area, found the waiter who was chatting to his colleague and handed him the account. I commented on the poor service and left. This was very disappointing end to an evening especially from a 5 star hotel. Very short sighted also as, had the food and service been good we would have returned duing our 5 night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear this feedback concerning the service in our hotel restaurant. We do apologize for the inconvenience and hope that the next time you come to Dubrovnik you will return to The Pucic Palace. I would like to have little bit more details concerning your desert experience so if you could please contact me at guestrelation@thepucicpalace.com I would appreciate it.

Kindest regards.

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest relation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The positives are fantastic location, very friendly and helpful reception staff and beautiful rooms. Being on honeymoon they upgraded us to a lovely room overlooking the square which allowed us great views of the morning market and we spent alot of time sat on our balcony watching the world go by. Unfortunately the cleanliness of our room was not to the standard I have previously experienced from a 5 star hotel - the floor was not properly cleaned every day and when the sun shone in you could clearly see the dust in the corners and ledges/shelves harder to reach had accumulated quite thick layers of dust. The rainshower was great but the drainage not adequate resulting in the bathroom floor flooding and we had minor issues with the sink plug jamming, the balcony door being temperamental and the wifi repeatedly disconnecting. These were only minor and would have warranted 4 stars if it weren't for the appalling service we received at breakfast. The staff were rude and unfriendly, our orders were taken incorrectly, items requested never materialised and most upsettingly, despite always asking for and informing the hotel prior to our arrival of my need for soya milk as I am lactose intolerant, I was brought dairy milk and had to send it back. Perhaps as we are a younger couple and dress more casually and therefore are not the usual 'clientele' of the hotel we were not afforded their usual level of service but, being on honeymoon and the hotel being aware of this, we expected better and it really damaged our overall opinion of the hotel. Based on our experience we did not eat in either of the hotel restaurants so I cannot comment on whether the service improved throughout the day but by our final day we were apprehensive about breakfast and the problems that would ensue. A real shame as for such a lovely hotel and great location it has potential to be great.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pedders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Pucic Palace hotel was one of the nicest experiences in Dubrovnik. It is small charming hotel in the city center. Great charming rooms which breath the history of Dubrovnik. Make sure you book room facing the square from where you will have really magnificent view and you will be able to experience the market in the morning. Great variety at the breakfast in Cafe Royal was important for good start of the day, while our evening ended with delicious food at the Defne restaurant. Beautifull little terrace, surounded with flowers and houses give impression as if you are not in the Old town where there are many people walking at the streets. We definitely recomend this hotel if you want to see how it feels like living in the Old Town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkinita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you liked our hotela and Dubrovnik. We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you in Pucic Palace.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £110 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing