We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If small is your thing than THIS is your hotel!”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If staying within the wall is of interest, which in my opinion the only place to stay, then this hotel promises to exceed expectations. No cars are allowed within the walls so the hike from the main gate to the hotel is a bit far when you have luggage however the staff will meet you at the gate and carry everything for you. This is a very small hotel but what they lack in size the kill it with hospitality and service. The front desk can make ANY travel requests you may have as they planned days upon days of ventures for my wife and I. The hotel sits on a plaza which becomes a farmers market on the weekends with amazing food vivid in colors, textures and flavors. The language is hard to learn to say the least however the people have a warmth and kindness that will have you return time and time again. Beds are extremely comfortable, bath room very well appointed and ample power outlets for charging your devices. The Wireless allows great consistent connection. Our trip was not with our child however I would not hesitate in having him with us. We have stayed in the hotel 3 years in a row and will absolutely stay when we go there again. One bit of advice, the city becomes very crowded when cruise ships pull in but that should not sway you form staying here. We ventured out into the country side when they came hitting the beaches just down the road. By 4:00pm the streets become clear and restaurants wide open with locals. Last note, there is a really nice man who runs an ice-cream shop just a couple of shops down form the hotel, great guy, great ice-cream and you will be supporting a local. Not trendy rather classic modern.

Room Tip: only 11 rooms and have never had a bad one. The plaza side is cool as you can open the windows and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of the entire The Pucic Palace team I would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your positive experience from Pucic Palace on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to see that we managed to make your stay in our hotel unforgettable and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely hotel, in a great location in the walled city. We were picked up at the gates by hotel staff member who carried our bags to the hotel. Our room (13) was comfortable, but I thought the bathroom was a little tired and didn't look clean because the tiles were worn. Our room overlooked the square and it was lovely to look out over the market and restaurants. Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast was superb, full al a carte menu, you could choose anything and as much as you like. We had a very early checkout (4am) and they made sure someone was there to make us coffee and toast so we would not leave without something in our stomachs. If you want to stay in the walled city, stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that you liked your stay in our hotel and that you experienced life inside the city walls. We are looking forward to meet you again in our hotel.
Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you're looking to stay inside the walls, you can't do better than this. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, very clean and beautiful hotel.

For first time travelers to Dubrovnik: There are no cars inside the walls of the Old City and dragging multiple pieces of luggage from a cab or bus several hundred yards from the Ploce Gate to the hotel may be difficult for some (very difficult from the Pile Gate...), so make sure you arrange for someone from the hotel to meet you if you need help, they'll be happy to oblige! I'd suggest using the hotel's private car to pick you up from the airport if you can.

Make sure to take advantage of the very nice breakfast (at the hotel restaurant) that is included in the room rate. It's been so long since I had a complimentary "order off the menu" breakfast that it confused me.

I could give you endless anecdotes about the wonderful service we received at Pucic Palace. I can't, however, come up with a single negative about this hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floors may get a bit more noise in the morning from the farmer's market next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mckayvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Dubrovnik and posting this comment on TripAdvisor. Moreover, thank you noticing all the efforts our staff puts in creating unforgettable experience for our guests.

We all hope we will welcome you again in our hotel and beautiful city of Dubrovnik.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were here for a few nights coinciding with the start of the summer festival, and Dubrovnik was completely rammed with people - and it was great to have the Pucic Palace as a base in the city to retreat to when it all got a bit much! The hotel has been effectively modernised, and has a warm service ethos, with some urban briskness; the cafe and restaurant are well used by Dubrovnik's many visitors.
We had a room on the third floor, overlooking the square which was busy until 11pm and from 7 am as the farmers market was setting up. However, the noise level was fine. The art in the room was eclectic, but there was certainly a hint of the history of this fine building in the room and in the very limited common areas.
Breakfast service and content was top class, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
The arrival and departure handling was very good, with porter to and from the city gates - we were not left until our driver had arrived (thank you Nermin), and this care exemplified the service ethos.
By the way, if you want to escape the city, you can take a short cheap ferry ride to Lockrum for respite! There's a nice little restaurant and very good rocky swimming and sunbathing, and a good botanical garden.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin - Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on the TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read a comment complimenting hotel service and staff. In behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your vacation in Dubrovnik.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

From the first friendly welcome at reception, our stay was a pleasant and relaxing one.

We walked from the bus/taxi terminal at the Pile gates, down through the old town to this beautiful stone building sitting on the corner of the "fashion" street (Ulica Od Puca) and the farmer's outdoor markets at the piazza called Gunduliceva Poljana.

The interior has been beautifully renovated in keeping with the building's history, while the refurbishment is restrained opulance (copper bath - glorious) with a touch of the modern (s/s lighting in the bathroom- a tad disappointing).

We had the corner bedroom on the top floor (looking over the market square). It was spacious, bright and airy with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The windows are large and double glazed (which is necessary because without them it would be pretty noisy from the restaurants underneath till about midnight, and then the church bells at 7am!). The room was also well equiped with satelite tv and a stable, fast wireless internet - very important!

Be aware that there is no swimming pool or large foyers or grand gyms and spa rooms as this is afterall a boutique hotel in an old, UNESCO listed, medieval town.

We had dinner and breakfast included. Dinner was served in the downstairs restaurant and we received excellent service with the good food and wine. Breakfast the following morning was an a-la-carte offering of eggs, fruits, cereals, yougurt etc. and copious amounts of coffee. I was very happy!! Again the food was good and the service excellent.

We also managed to visit the wine bar next door (run by the hotel and well worth a visit to sample some of the best Croaatia has to offer) which has a great "cigar bar" feel to it.

Next time we will dine in the upstairs restaurant (located on a very romantic terrace) which offers eastern fusion cuisine. Always need to leave something to look forward to.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (not the attic) facing over the market square and preferably on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anabolic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read such a kind and extensive comment on the TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing The Pucic Palace and we hope that we will meet you again in our hotel .

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights at the start of our tour of Croatia. The hostess came to meet us at the city walls where we left the car in their parking space, and gave a brief tour of the city on the way to the hotel. Great breakfast, lovely rooms and very helpful staff. One of the best tips we received from the hostess: do your sightseeing outside the hours of 10am until about 2pm; not only is it slightly cooler but you avoid the masses hordes of cruise ship people!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dickyj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on the TripAdvisor.
Our staff's mission is to make our guests feel comfortable, and we therefore try to provide useful tips for exploring Dubrovnik. Once again thank you for choosing The Pucic Palace and we hope that you will return to our beautiful town and hotel,

Best Regards from sunny Dubrovnik!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night in end June. Was upgraded to a family room which basically meant both my 13 year old son and us had a separate room with bathrooms. Stay was excellent and so was service and breakfast. Staff was helpful. Location of hotel is brilliant as it is right in heart of old town. Only negative that we faced was that our rooms were next to their terrace restaurant and as a result it was fairly noisy at times with the World Cup football. Overall a great experience!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Devesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you and the rest of your family had a an excellent stay in our hotel and we hope that we will host you again when you return to our beautiful town.
Best Regards from sunny Dubrovnik and The Pucic Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £143 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing