We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3 star hotel”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Croatia is one of the hardest holidays to plan so I took a lot of time researching where to stay and I was not disappointed with Tirena. On relfection I am pleased I didn't stay in the Old Town due to the number of Tourists. The Old Town is best visited at night when it is quieter.

The location of Tirena is great, two good beaches nearby and the use of the two sister hotels which have better facilities (pools, gym etc...), so you don't need to pay extra. The room was comfortable and a 3 star hotel standard, very clean and comfortable.

The two downsides were that I ordered a transfer from the airport which didn't arrive and I found the breakfast to be very poor.

It's a 10 minute bus into the Old Town which is straight forward. I would recommend staying here if you don't want to spend silly money and want somewhere just outside the old town that is comfortable and near to two nice swimming areas in Babin Kuk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Trigtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear ajmLondon

Thank you for choosing hotel Tirena for Dubrovnik part of your Croatian holiday. From your comments and rates I see that you had a good time in our hotel and that the value of money spend is equal to the quality of stay.
We are happy that you got the chance to see few of our four sister hotels in Dubrovnik during your stay and that you took the liberty of exploring their facilities as well. As you said, our location is quiet, traffic free and perfect for people who like to be close to the beaches and at the same time be only 10 minute away from the busy Old town. We are sad to read that you had difficulties with your shuttle connection upon arrival to our hotel and that we couldn’t match your taste for breakfast.
Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future and we at the hotel are looking forward seeing you again.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Tirena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

My Wife and I having just got back from a tour of Croatia and Bosnia stayed in this Hotel on our first and last night. This Hotel is a three star and has great food and very comfortable beds. The only complaint is we were on the second floor and I could see no lift and had to lug our suitcases up and down stairs without any help. I also requisted a wake up call on our first night as it was the start of our tour with Elite Travel but luckily we managed to wake up on time as we never got the call the first morning but we did get our wake up call on our last night.

It is situated a mile or so outside of Dubrovnik and is serviced every ten minutes or so with a number six bus costing 12 Kunas single fare. I would recommend this Hotel as it has got great food and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear mayojoe
I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your holiday stay in our country, and for giving us high marks in all aspects of the review. I am sorry to hear and I apologize about your problem with the wakeup call on your first night in our hotel. Thankfully that was and isolated issue as your second wakeup call was done in a proper manner.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our food quality at the fullest and that you have been happy with our room as well.
We hope that your holiday in Croatia was excellent and that you bring good memories with you back home. Hopefully your path will come across Hotel Tirena again in the future and that you will be our guest yet again.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod,
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

While on a holiday with the Travel Department Dublin, I stayed in the Hotel Tirena for the duration. It was my first trip to Croatia and I was most impressed what a beautiful city George Bernard Shaw called it the "Pearl of the Adriatic" how right he was, stunning scenery, wonderful weather and the most hospitable people. The Hotel Tirena was a gem, spacious, bright and welcoming. My room overlooked the sea and I never tired of waking up to the view, the room was spacious as was the bathroom and very generous wardrobe space. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous all I encountered all spoke very good English. The gift shop in the reception area also sold tickets for the local bus which was very convenient to the hotel and being able to purchase the tickets prior to boarding made life so much easier. I was on half board and the breakfasts and dinners were excellent lots of choice and freshly cooked food. To conclude if you are considering Dubrovnk for your holidays please do and stay in Hotel Tirena I am so glad I did and I plan to return next year maybe when the weather is a little cooler as it was very hot when I was there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GaeilgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear GaeilgeIreland
Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience with us and with future readers. It is always nice to read such great remarks when people have the time of their life on their vacation. This is the best proof that we are doing our job just like it should be done. We hope that you took some long lasting memories with you to Ireland and that the gentile sea breeze that you experienced every morning will remind you of your vacation. Our Chef will be happy to hear such great remarks regarding our food quality as he tries hard to provide only the best each day.
We are looking forward to see you again next year. I would recommend September as it is just charming, warm (not hot) and relaxing time of the year.
Until next time,
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We arrived at Tirena early on a monday morning, and the reception was kind enough to give us a room right away (way before check-in). The staff at the hotel was very polite and kind, and we especially enjoyed lying by the pool and getting to know the staff at the pool bar.
We also appreciated the opportunity to use the other hotel facilities that make up the Valamar Hotels and Resorts (f.eks. the Spa, pools, pool bars and so on..).
Tirena has a very good breakfast and dinner buffet. Also there is a bus leaving every 15 minutes near by the hotel, which you can take if you want to go to the Old City.
Thank you for 9 amazing days!

P.S.: Take into consideration that we were two girls in our twenties, but the hotel is very well suited for families.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla_Follestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear Camilla_Follestad
It is extremely wonderful to hear that you had an amazing time in our hotel during your holiday. There is no greater satisfaction to our team than to read such great comments on our facility and our service. We are most thankful that you took some time and shared your experience with others. We are enormously happy to read such great remarks on our pool bar staff and our reception service, as it is always a great motivation to our team to give that little extra every time. It is wonderful that you took some time to explore our other 4 hotels in the area with their facilities, so you experienced the total that Valamar is providing in Dubrovnik.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the future so you can add up another 9 amazing days in hotel Tirena.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week with our infant baby and through out our stay in the hotel the service and facilities were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and to the extend that we felt bad leaving them. The hotel is 15 mins bus ride from the old city and is regularly serviced by the bus.

There are many beaches nearby, but we found the beach of Hotel President of the same group excellent. Copacabana beach was bad and the water was not very clear, though it is bigger then rest of the beaches. The restaurant serves great fresh food for dinner/breakfast every day and the staff is very cooperative and friendly.

Full marks to the hotel and Dubrovnik!!!

Room Tip: Hotel has a few sea view rooms at the top floor (4th floor) with excellent view to the bay. If neces...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yash_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Dear Yash_Agrawal

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel.
Our entire team highly appreciate your comments and we hope that your fine memories of your holiday in our hotel last forever.
We really hope to see you again someday in the future.

Hotel General Manager

Josip Konjevod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Really nice hotel. 3star but more like a 4 star. Lovely pool. Spotlessly clean hotel. Breakfast/Dinner very good. We had booked B & B but for an extra 16 euro each we had dinner each night. Nice wine approx 20 euro per bottle. All in all, comfort at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coolbawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear Coolbawn,

Thank You for submitting your comments regarding our hotel.
Our entire team would like to thank you for your lovely remarks as such comments make our job much easier. .
We are glad to see that you had a really good time in our hotel, and surely we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Josip Konjeovd
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We traveled with 2 children (8month and 10 years) loved the hotel and the near areas.Our rooms was family rooms (2 separate rooms) The hotel was comfortable and had air conditioning, which saved our days because there was very hot weather. The hotel have a great pool and is just a short (5 minute) walk from a nice stone beach - Copacobana Beach. Also the great beach is at the Presidential hotel witch is about 3 min walking from the Tirena hotel. Presidential hotel also have water sports. Tirena is also have a nice set of small stores right by the hotel for buying snacks and anything else you need. The hotel is about 10-15 minute a way from the Old Town by car. In Dubrnovik have two little problems. They don´t have in the restaurants baby seats so you infant have to sit in you carriage and there is lot´s i mean A LOT of stairs.

Tirena´s only problem was the soundproofing, it was not possible to sleep. So anyone with young children wanting a early night it could be a problem because you can hear every noise from the corridor. Also there are not water boiler or iron in the rooms.
The breakfast is very good and tasty.
We had a very good holiday and we recommend Tirena for all.
Otherwise enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Family room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blues06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Blues06

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you holiday stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel and would recommend us to others.
We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties with the corridor noise.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in Hotel Tirena in the future.

Hotel Manager

Josip Konjevod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#29 of 68 in Dubrovnik
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.3 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £65 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing