We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights in Dubrovnik”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The hotel has a nice breakfast, and the rooms are sufficiently spacious. However the hotel is quite a distance from the sea, and we couldn't see the sea from our balcony. The hotel next to ours had better views.
The mattress is very soft; not my preference. But overall, no complaints.

Room Tip: do get an upstairs room, it's windy and overlooks the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noyawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Noyawns,
Thank you for the time that you have taken to review your stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast services as well as our room. Unfortunately our location is such that we have only a dozen of rooms that have the direct sea view. We encourage our guests to book sea view when they make a reservation so they can fully enjoy the beautiful morning sunrises and evening sunsets from their balcony.

Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

My fiancé and I stayed in Dubrovnik 3 weeks ago and what a beautiful place!

The Tirena Hotel was a good find and I chose it having read others' positive reviews about it. It's in a complex of hotels all owned by the Valamar Group. You can use all of the other hotel facilities like their beaches and pools (some charged) but the Tirena Hotel's outdoor pool is awesome! The pictures shown really show what it's like!

The receptionists were helpful and nice. The first night we did get placed in a room facing the car park which unfortunately was noisy with coaches of people coming through the night so we asked to be moved to a sea-view room and were upgraded for free! I believe this was because we were in off-peak season though so I would request a back-facing room at least when booking.

The balcony and sea view room was brilliant. The bathroom lovely and spacious and room massive. The best thing about it was the cleanliness - completely spotless and flawless and every morning the cleaners said hello and were really friendly.

The restaurant was so good we pretty much ate every night. There are some reviews on here moaning about the food but honestly for the price we couldn't complain. The only problem we had was one night it got packed with new holiday-goers and some of the food ran out but it was replenished quickly and those poor chefs worked their butts off! I ate like an absolute piggy and was extremely pleased with the choices!

The only negative I have is the excursions lady could do with a bit of an attitude adjuster and not seem like it's a massive hassle taking a lot of money for a trip then telling you nothing about it! But that didn't really affect anything - we are adults and can figure it out for ourselves :-)

The location was great too - bustop at the top of the road, Number 6 straight into old town for 12kuna takes about 10 minutes. A taxi cost 35kunas.

We would definitely go back - brilliant holiday all around!

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear Redfoxjo,
It is always great to hear that our guests had a great time while staying at our hotel. It is always an extra motivation to see such great marks on all of our services and facilities. Our maids, chefs and the front desk staff will be particularly happy to read such good comments on their work and service. We always encourage our guests to use the facilities in the entire Babin kuk complex that is owned by Valamar to fully experience their vacation, and we hope that you took great memories from our entire complex. We hope that you and your fiancé will return to our hotel again in the future and we are looking forward to that day.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for week as part of an organised group. The hotel is definitely more than a 3* all told but fell down badly on a couple of points. I'll deal with the good stuff first. We had a beautiful room overlooking the water where we could see the cruise ships coming in and out to Dubrovnik. Our room was comfortable, very clean, comfortable bed, well fitted bathroom and plenty of storage space.

There is a minibar in the room which is handy for storing water, milk, etc. There is no safe in the room but you can obtain a key for small safe down behind the reception. The TV had a couple of Sky channels which we looked at for the short periods we were in the room.

The first couple of days were quite warm, low 20's but then it became very cool, particularly at night. We found the bedroom to be freezing cold despite trying to use the aircon which seemed to be not working at all. The reception rooms downstairs, i.e. the dining room and the bar/lounge were also very cold in the evening time and the heating did not appear to have been put on.

The food was of a very high standard. They served a buffet for breakfast and evening meal and there was plenty of choice for everyone. You just could not be disappointed with the food. Buffets were usually repetive.

As a previous reviewer said you could not get water with your meal without having to pay for a bottle. This, I felt, was a bit mean considering water in Croatia is safe to drink. There was no tea or coffee served after the evening meal so it meant going up to the bar to order same and depending on who was serving you would get a half-filled, or fully filled cup of either cold or warm coffee. The drink measures were a bit on the small side also and some people were complaining about this.

This hotel seems to be doing very well for itself from groups like ours who were there for a week but if they start cutting corners people will wise up and they will loose the business. Its in a good position surrounded by at least 3 other hotels in the same group. We visited the President hotel just up the road and found it to be very nice but a bit more up-market than the Tirena. You can get a frequent bus into the Old Town with tickets obtained at the kiosk in the hotel. It took about 10 minutes to get into the town.

All in all, it wasn't bad but it wasn't great either but I think the good points outweighed the bad points. The issue of the heating was unacceptable and we go no response from staff when mentioned at reception on checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Dear mollieNorthEast
Thank you for taking the time to submit your remarks and memories from your stay at our hotel. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay while staying with us. We are also happy to read that you like our room facilities as well as the quality of our food. Unfortunately during your stay with us a cold front with extremely cold wind has occurred in our region. The temperature went from summer feeling to mid 15 degrees in one day. Our air conditioning had to be switched from cooling system to heating and unfortunately the period between the full switch was left with low heating due to the configuration of the equipment. We apologize to you for this inconvenience one more time. We again hope that we will see you again in the future as a guest of our hotel, and that you have left few more undiscovered excursions and locations in Dubrovnik to return to in the future.
Until then,
We send you best regards from Croatia
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just back from a week in Tirena Hotel (with Travel Department). This is an excellent 3* star hotel, very clean with excellent food (although the breakfast does get repetitive by the end of the week). The staff are also very helpful. This hotel is in a really lovely location in Babin Kuk which is well serviced by local buses (for those who don't like hills you can get to the bus stop by walking through the park). It is cheaper to buy your bus tickets in the gift shop in the hotel rather than paying on the bus. The Travel Department included some great trips which really made the holiday, also the tour guide, Suzana, was very efficient and informative. I would highly recommend both using the Travel Dept (this was our first time holidaying this way) and this Hotel. The only negative about this hotel is the choice and quality of the beer and wine. There is only one draught beer which is not good quality and the wines are very overpriced. We were on a half board basis but all drinks with our meals were charged extra. The drinking water in Dubrovnik is of a very good standard, however, this wasn't even available at mealtime so you had to purchase bottled water at 21kunas per btl (3 Euro). Overall a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maryloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Dear MJRCoKildare_Ireland
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your comments and remarks are very valuable to us and with them we can always look to improve our quality. We are always glad to see that you have had a very enjoyable vacation in Croatia and that you are satisfied with our services. We hope that you truly experienced your entire holiday and that you decide to return to Croatia few more times.
Until next time,
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Croatia is one of the hardest holidays to plan so I took a lot of time researching where to stay and I was not disappointed with Tirena. On relfection I am pleased I didn't stay in the Old Town due to the number of Tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorotkaCik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear DorotkaCik
We are happy to see that after thorough planing for your vacation you have chosen our hotel and we are mostly happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our location is perfect for people who look for a peaceful holiday and to get away from busy streets of old town.
Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future when you come back to Croatia.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We last visited the hotels on the Lapad Peninsula 22 years ago. The Tirena Hotel was still recognisable although now has a shopping arcade within its precinct. Accommodation standard is first class. The bus service to the Old City is as convenient as ever - every 10 minutes with tickets available in advance from the hotel kiosk. More trees have grown since our last visit. A signpost to the local beach from the hotel would be useful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear David M
It is always nice to see such good comments regarding our hotel, and it is especially nice to see comments from a returning guest. We are happy to hear that you are still satisfied with our facilities, our rooms and of course with the location of the hotel. The trees that have grown since you last visited have made this area such a perfect place for relaxation.
Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel and we hope that the memories that you will bring home will last for a long time and that we will see each other again in the future.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Croatia is one of the hardest holidays to plan so I took a lot of time researching where to stay and I was not disappointed with Tirena. On relfection I am pleased I didn't stay in the Old Town due to the number of Tourists. The Old Town is best visited at night when it is quieter.

The location of Tirena is great, two good beaches nearby and the use of the two sister hotels which have better facilities (pools, gym etc...), so you don't need to pay extra. The room was comfortable and a 3 star hotel standard, very clean and comfortable.

The two downsides were that I ordered a transfer from the airport which didn't arrive and I found the breakfast to be very poor.

It's a 10 minute bus into the Old Town which is straight forward. I would recommend staying here if you don't want to spend silly money and want somewhere just outside the old town that is comfortable and near to two nice swimming areas in Babin Kuk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Trigtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josip_Konjevod, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Dear ajmLondon

Thank you for choosing hotel Tirena for Dubrovnik part of your Croatian holiday. From your comments and rates I see that you had a good time in our hotel and that the value of money spend is equal to the quality of stay.
We are happy that you got the chance to see few of our four sister hotels in Dubrovnik during your stay and that you took the liberty of exploring their facilities as well. As you said, our location is quiet, traffic free and perfect for people who like to be close to the beaches and at the same time be only 10 minute away from the busy Old town. We are sad to read that you had difficulties with your shuttle connection upon arrival to our hotel and that we couldn’t match your taste for breakfast.
Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future and we at the hotel are looking forward seeing you again.
Best regards,
Josip Konjevod
Hotel Tirena General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,934 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £61 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing