We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Highly recommended. Read the reviews for all the info you need.”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

I'm writing this from the hotel lobby waiting for our transfer to the airport, at the end of  two weeks at the Tirena: we picked this hotel from the Trip Advisor reviews. The first thing we noticed on TA was that the hotel management had responded to almost every comment on here. Good effort!
The staff here are excellent. I hope on reading this the hotel management take time to pass on our thanks to the following exceptional staff from the bar and restaurant: Anel, Sima, Bozena and Nikoletta. 
Things to say about this hotel in no particular order:
- The hotel has free (fast and reliable) wireless in the lobby, bar, terrace and dining areas. We also could access it from our room (355) which was fantastic. 
- The room is fine. Air conditioned, bath, shower, tv, plenty of hot water. 
- No. 6 bus goes from outside hotel to Old Town every 20 minutes. (don't get on No. 7 by mistake!) Top tip - buy a 7 Day Dubrovnik Card which included 20 bus rides. 
- Couple of beaches close by: Copacabana and quieter Cava beach. 
- Pool is fine. 
- Breakfast is excellent - big choice, grill, continental, fruit etc. 
- Dinner buffet (we were on half board) was great. Every night had wide range of salads, pasta, pizza, meat, mixed grill, seafood, soups and desserts. Good variety. There are no complimentary drinks with dinner, not even coffee or water. This is mentioned often in TA reviews: management should consider addressing this. Coffee and tea is available at breakfast. 
- The hotel is part of a group of hotels close by, which have facilties that guests can share- we didn't but heard good reviews of the kids pool and spa. 
- Bar is fine (not expensive, either) we spent most nights at the hotel (entertainment quality is 'varied')
- We had two small issues with our room, tiny problems fixed immediately. Can't ask for more. 
- If you look for it, there is a nice walk from Copacabana beach sling a path the new harbour, then, if you follow your nose (or a map) to Lapad beach you can walk back on the other side of Babin Kuk to Hotel Neptun and back to Tirena. Nice walk. 
If you are thinking of Dubrovnik as a holiday - try it. It's beautiful here. Very lovely country, very friendly. As recommended above: get a Dubrovnik Card and see the sights. 
If you are thinking of staying at Tirena: do it. You won't find much better at this price. Friendly, clean and nicely located outside the really busy bits of town. 

Read the reviews. See what you're getting here so you know what to expect. We weren't disappointed. Definitely recommended. Thank you Tirena. 

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your vacation memories with the TA community. I am extremely happy to read that you have fully enjoyed during your vacation and that our hotel has met your every need during your two week holiday. Chef Dario will be extremely glad to hear that the food quality and variety was the exact thing that you wanted. Thank you for recommending Anel, Sima, Bozena and Nikoleta’s service, as they are very hard working individuals who make our hotel to be known for great quality of staff service. I am pleased that you got the chance to explore the pathways surrounding the hotel and that you have explored our serene part of town. Thank you once again for choosing hotel Tirena and staying with us and hopefully we will get the chance to see you again in the future. Until then I send you best regards from Tirena staff, and especially Anel, Sima, Bozena and Nikoleta.
Best regards until next time,
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Excellent smaller hotel on the Babbin Kok hill. Stayed with Riviera for 4 nights last week of June 2012. Comfortable good size room, air con to 75 F, about 90 outside! Good food (1/2 board) and no issues at all. Good pool area with bar, grill, towels, plenty of shade or sun and aqua aerobics if you like! Local mall just outside, easy bus to town, just an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for 308-310, or 408-10, seaview, away from bar terrace, easy access to lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for reviewing your stay at Tirena with the tripadvisor community. I am very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful time at our hotel and that you got the chance to use most of our facilities. Hopefully next June you will return as well for some more sunny weather in Dubrovnik.
Best regards,
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Good clean rooms. Very good breakfast - inbelievable amount of choice cold and hot.

Room Tip: You don't want to be over the terrace if you want to go to bed before 11.30 as there is usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 580423Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving a comment regarding your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you have fully enjoyed our food quality and offer and that you have experienced the good service our staff is providing. I hope that you will be our guest in the future and until then I send you best regards.
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently spent 6 nights here - two adults and two kids. We were disappointed when we arrived that the room I had booked and paid for 4 months in advance would only be ready the following day, so instead we got two interleading rooms with single beds instead of double. In the end we decided to stay where we were to avoid the children having to share a bed and inevitably keeping us up! The rooms were spacious and kept clean (with aircon) and the kids enjoyed having their own space. Bathrooms had baths with overhead shower - bonus. Breakfasts were huge and kept us going, but we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as it was expensive, but there are lots of other little pizza / pasta / grill restaurants on the property. Also buy bottled water and snacks at the small shop in the restaurant area. The pool was nice with a much cheaper snack bar, perfect for lunch. We also discovered half way into our stay that we could use the pool in the neighbouring Valamar Club hotel (same group) - much bigger kids' pool and altogether lovely for spending a day. Also nice sandwich options for lunch, and they had no problem giving us cups of ice for us to keep our own drinks cool. Pool staff very friendly. Old Town was just a 15 minute bus trip away - very worth visiting this ancient city. My only complaint would be that my bed was a little bit saggy - but fine for a short stay. Would love to come back here one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a family room with interleading doors for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyCapeTownSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor webpage. I am sorry to hear about the mix-up regarding your room reservation, but I am very pleased to read that you and your family had enjoyed your other interconnecting room as well as the cleanliness of the same. I am also very happy to read that you have enjoyed and liked our food offer as well as the lunch offer at our pool snack bar. Hopefully we will host you again in our hotel and until then I send you best regards from Dubrovnik.
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Tirena. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent, very fresh and tasty. There is lots too choose from in buffet restaurant, something for everyone. The pool is clean and a good size, there are
plenty of towels and loungers. We enjoyed walking around hotel grounds after dinner. Very impressed with Croatia. We will certainly go there again on holiday. Wonderful country.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking olive groves and grounds lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trish_topping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for commenting on your recent vacation with us. I am pleased to read that you had enjoyed your vacation and that you have liked our services and the food offer as well. It is always nice to read that guests would like to return to our country and our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me if you are in a need of help booking a room for your next vacation within Valamar Hotels and Resorts.
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Even though it's a little way's out of the main town of Dubrovnik, the Hotel Tirena was very good and the staff was excellent. We stayed at the holtel for 3 nights as part of a tour of Croatia and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were standard fare but spacious and clean. We ate a couple of nights and three mornings in the hotel restaurant since it was included in the cost of our tour. The staff in the restaurant were excellent and we actually asked to be seated in the same area each time so we got the same server.

The hotel is connected to a small mall that has several shops and restaurants and there is a path down to the beaches, but the beaches aren't the sandy types. Mostly rocky and steep but I we walked down to one and found a wonderful little bar on the beach where we could enjoy a beer and watch the boats go by.

If you're staying in Dubrovnik and don't mind taking the bus into the town, this is a great hotel to stay at. The bus stops right in front of the hotel and it's an easy ride down to the walled part of the old town. We felt at ease the entire time we were there, on the buses, walking through the old town, and riding the cable car up to the top of the hill for some fantastic views of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving your overall impressions with the tripadvisor community regarding your stay in hotel Tirena. Your comments are of a tremendous importance to us and we are very pleased to receive praise and excellent marks for our service and level of cleanliness as well as the food quality from you. I truly hope to welcome you again in our hotel and until then I send you vest regards from Dubrovnik.
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed here with jet 2 holiday .The hotel was great for 3 star, the food being better than many 4star hotels. The variety was amazing, at breakfast and dinner. All freshly cooked, and always replenished when empty. The room was 348 good size and very quiet to the back of hotel, it also had a balcony.
We went to montenegro on day trip and found this to be good. We visited Mostar, but felt it was a long trip and not much to see. We visited Cavtat, which is a must, we had a lovely day there. We got no5 bus from president hotel, then got off at chairlift and got on no10. We were there in 45 minutes. We walked along sea edge from back of president hotel right to the old town. We also walked to Gruz harbour. These are lovely walks and took abo ut 1hour 20 minutes. Plenty seats on the way. The Gruz harbour shopping i sgood too. We enjoyed our 2 days in at the old town. Plenty to see and do. Good ice cream shops, lots of craft stalls in square.. We loved our holiday, and would recommend it to others. We also visited the President Hotel for coffee, it was lovely too. The weather was 37-39 degrees we are now back to rain, and much cooler in scotland.

Room Tip: room 348 very quiet 2nd floor with balcony parkside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay at hotel Tirena. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your vacation with us and that our food has exceeded your expectation. I see that you have managed to visit many places in and around Dubrovnik and that you have enjoyed your holiday to the very last minute.
I send you best regards from Tirena staff all the way to Scotland
Nenad Maric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#24 of 68 in Dubrovnik
862 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £63 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing