We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK for us”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Some previous reviews have been critical but we were happy with our 4 night stay although the hotel has a slightly dated feel due to the furniture and rambling layout of the accomodation.

We imagine that some of the rooms would not be ideal if they are located above the bar and terrace area as live music was played on most evenings. The corridors are not carpeted so can be noisy at night.

However the general location of the hotel is good with pleasant walks along the coastal path and also the use of the other hotels nearby as they are owned by the same chain.

You can purchase a bus ticket from the hotel shop to visit Dubrovnik which is 15 minutes away. Beware -- the tickets are returns as long as you come back within 1 hour, which as holidaymakers is unlikely. Therefore a couple need to purchase 4 tickets to get back safely!!

The buffet food was very good with a wide choice and there was a chef preparing fresh food at both breakfast and in the evening.

Room Tip: Our room 113 was on the ground floor. It had a balcony but no view apart from some wooded gardens. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWendyPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Valamar and hotel Tirena.

I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and enjoyed the wide choice on our buffet and food freshly prepared by our chefs.
Hope you have enjoyed the evening entertainment as well, as it is our goal to offer extra value to our guests with entertainment, quality of food, service and hospitality.

We hope you will visit Dubrovnik again and choose Tirena again to be the base for further explore of our City and its beautiful surroundings.

Kind regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    274
    108
    31
    9
See reviews for
113
287
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glos.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have just spent seven days at the Tirena hotel (6-13/10/12) and would thoroughly recommend it based on our experience.

I suspect that the Tirena hotel is a little older than the neighbouring hotels that are part of the Valamar group and thus it's a little cheaper, but we felt it was a very good hotel and great value.
We were in room 420 with a balcony. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The cleaners came in each day and did a good job. The grounds of the group of hotel were pleasant and there were some bars and restaurants near by.

The food on offer at breakfast time was very good with plenty to choose from. In the evening they did a buffet, but we didn't try it because we went to the local restaurants or into the Old Town.

It has a lovely swimming pool, but the water was cold as its October, whereas the sea was still over 20 degrees. The Copacabana beach is a five minute walk or so away but it is a gavel beach rather than sand.

The Number 6 bus runs every ten minutes throughout the day till gone midnight from just outside the hotel (1 or 2 minute walk) so its never a problem getting to the Old City. If you are there for a week and are planning to do the Old City Wall (you should), I would buy a 7 day Dubrovnik Card for 220 Kn, which includes admission to the Old City Wall, some museums and 20 bus journeys. If you pay on the bus, it's more expensive and they accept only the correct change.

I would recommend doing the Old City Wall (70 Kn), the Cable Car + Museum (117 Kn for both) and the ferry to Lopud island (38 Kn return) while you are there.

Take insect repellent – they are there and they bite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartInGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your positive experience with hotel Tirena! I am positive other guest will find your experience and tips most helpful.
I am especially proud to hear that Tirena exceeded your expectations and will make sure to forward your compliment to our house keeping department and restaurant.

It is always our pleasure to hear such a positive comments and to know that are efforts are reworded by a guest satisfaction!

We hope to have you again as our dear guest and until next time in Tirena,

Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed here in Late August at the beginning of our Holiday and came back early September at the end of our Holiday. The rooms themselves are lovely, all the amentities you need; fridge, nice bathroom, big beds and a balcony. Only thing with the balcony wa that there was no outside light, so it was quite dark to sit out at night, small thing, but worth mentioning. The staf were courteous at check in an in the Restaurant.

The Restaurant serves a buffet style offering which is second to none! Lovely choice of salads, hot foods, fruits, breads, cheese, fish dishes, meat dishes, desserts etc. Breakfast is the same, lovely and well worth it! All hot and cold offerings you would expect from a 5 star hotel for breakfast. The staff very oblidging and friendly. Nice terrace outside as well to enjouy your meal.

Shops with all the necessaries very nearby, water, beach needs, clothes etc. The Pool is nice too, very clean and plenty of beds. theres also a bar area. The only downside is that the path way to the pool from the Hotel is very uneven with pieces of concrete from the path missing or unevenly placed, so its not the easiestor safest place to negotiate/walk!

Bus stop, just outside the Hotel to the Centre of Dubrovnik which is handy (No.6), but beware, you need to made of stern stuff to get on the bus with the crowds and get a seat!

Overall a nice hotel that would suit everyone, will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racing_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at hotel Tirena. From your review I see that you have had a wonderful time while staying with us, and we are especially happy to receive such great comments and remarks regarding our food and restaurant service quality.
We are very happy that you have had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday while staying with us.
All the best from the whole Tirena staff,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

room 412, room spartan ,basic and with the band playing out side till 11.30 didn't get much sleep.Buffet meals laid over 4 counters and people walking into each other while geting food and then getting back to the table was not an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: last stop on the number 6 bus very near ro hotel (12 Kn each way on bus get ticket before you get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupertgreyparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are sad to read that you did not enjoy the position of your room while staying with us. I am also sad that we did not meet while you were in the hotel in order to possibly offer you another room away from the lobby bar terrace where evening entertainment was taking place.
Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future so we can show ourselves in a better light on that occasion.
All the best,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Some of the recent reviews had us wondering what we were going to! But we found The Hotel, The staff, The service and the food all pretty damned good, in fact very good. We had no complaints at all. We went in the middle of September 2012 for a week. I can imagine in the height of summer its gets a bit busy, but for us it was ideal. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the centre, nice balcony which caught the evening sun. The room was spacious, very clean, and very well serviced, The bathroom had recently been upgraded and was again spacious and pleasant. Everything we needed was there Minibar/fridge, safe, hairdryer, plenty of pillows and spare sheets.
The bar area was a bit quiet and could do with a modernising, but there were somw reasonble acts on nightly. A guy called Markos was fantastic.
The restraunt was on the ground floor and was again always very clean and well presented, The choice of food was great, and all freshly cooked or as many salads and cold things as you wanted. with it being a buffet style you could have as little or as much as you liked of everything! The seafood risotto was especially good and cooked there and then. Breakfast was the same buffet style and each as much as you liked.
The pool was a fairly small area but was a suntrap, yes the water was a bit cool when you got in but nice to swim. Clean towels in the little bar area free every day. While we were there some afternoons we had it just about to ourselves. Again spotlessly clean and well looked after.
The gardens in and around the hotel were pleasant to walkthrough and there were plenty of footpaths and ways to walk around on the headland the group of hotels are on.
Stunning views over the Adriatic, fabulous sunsets.
make sure you pop into the other hotels and have a drink or coffe in them to get a better feel, we did and really enjoyed "mixing it up"
The local bus The number 6 takes you right to the old towns major gate and its 15 Kuna on the bus each, one way so for us it was 60 Kuna to town and back (about £7), TIP buy your tickets for 12 Kuna each in the hotel shop.
On the whole Dubrovnik was a fabulous place to visit the whole country seems to be spotlessly clean. We also felt very safe.

Dont worry about the locals, yes they are a bit abrubt but its their way, but try to learn a few words of Croatian or a phrase or two, they really love it when you try and we got them laughing and found them very friendly and quite a warm race of people.

So great hotel all in all we had a super holiday.

Billy & Debbie

Dobra yuta (Good Morning)

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 4th floor or at least the 3rd floor we were in 417, no sea view but a nice high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Billy & Debbie,

A big Thank you for your words of praise regarding our hotel. It is always nice to read that our staff is doing an remarkable job of making our guests happy during their vacation, and I am happy that you got to experience it for yourself. I am happy that you have enjoyed our evening entertainment and especially Markos. I am also very happy to read that you have enjoyed the walks around our complex and throughout the Mediterranean park area that is surrounding the hotel. "Hvala" is the word in Croatian that we are sending to you which means thank you!
Best regards,
Nenad Marć
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner between 22 and 29th September 2012. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms appear to have been updated fairly recently. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We were on a half board basis and the buffet food was good, although the deserts were disppointing, but perhaps this was because we were told the nation had a sweet tooth so expected more. We were disappointed in the fact that the bar in the pool was closed and the poolside bar was not open all the time but believe that this was because it was out of season, it would have been nice however to be informed of this then we could have bought drinks from the local shop.
Our main problem was with the other guests. The hotel was regularly used by people on tours which meant that each morning from 6.30am onwards we were woken by people wheeling their suitcases along the tiled floor and talking/laughing as they went to get on their coaches. You would just get back to sleep then the cleaners trolley would come along. I think that the hotel should consider placing guests there for a relaxing/extended stay away from those on tours as it really was not fair that we were woken at this time every morning.

Room Tip: See above comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquipotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor website. I am extremely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our staff to be very helpful and friendly .
I am sorry to hear about the early wake up that you had from other guests leaving on their tours and I am sorry that this has affected your sleep quality. Unfortunately we can not separate guests based on their holiday preference since our different room types are scattered throughout the hotel so we place the guests to their designated room type upon availability.
Hopefully this matter did not affect your complete stay at Tirena and we hope that we will get the opportunity to host you again.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Not left yet would have liked to need manager as his responses to TA comments are generally well made and constructive however do the bad points get corrected or forgotten once you've departed?
On arrival my wife & I were very disappointed with our room and balcony which was very shabby/ dirty had dead geraniums and a view of a huge tree. We about turned to reception & requested another room. Informed there were none, then one magically appeared but would cost 80 K more per night for the privilege of being above the terrace area with evening entertainment. Not great if you have an early morning call for day trip out. Also end of evening staff drag tables and chairs back into position & carry out same manoeuvre around 06.45 every morning. & we pay for that privilege. Less than happy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Ducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Derek,
I would still like to thank you for staying in hotel Tirena hotel and also for taking time to write a review.
I am sorry we did not fully meet your expectations and I would like to apologize for the noise that woke you up in your room during your vacation that came from the lobby bar area.
I assure you that we take all of the remarks and comments extremely serious and especially all of the bad points that are in our power to change. Training has been undertaken with our staff following your comment regarding the noise level from the moving of the chairs and rest assured that it has been immediately altered.
Once again I would like to apologize for that inconvenience during your vacation and I truly hope that you will be our guest in the future so we can present ourselves in a much better light that all our our valued guests deserve.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 66 in Dubrovnik
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Property: Tirena Hotel
Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing