We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tirena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$735
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$713
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$581
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$553
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valamar Argosy Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel More(Dubrovnik)
US$559
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Lapad(Dubrovnik)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$708
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$634
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
196
333
136
35
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
333
136
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel departmentthe busvalamar hotelsbabin kukstar hotelthe hotel shopvalamar groupbreakfast and dinnerpresident hotelold townhalf boardcava beachsmall shopping areapool areabuffet stylecopacabana beachthree star
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Buffet breakfast at this place is one of the worst I have had. One guy making ham omlettes, on one hot plate cutting it into 3 small pieces (every 5 minutes) for a line of 10 people PLUS cooking bacon PLUS pancakes. Food not topped up and quality poor. Room ok. This place is aging. Grounds are not looked after. Staff ok. Beach is 10 min away, 15 if dont follow the signs carefully. The pool is ok, but lots of kids.skip this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on our TripAdvisor website. I am very sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. I am surprised that our food quality did not measure to your liking ,especially because we receive most of the top comments from our guests on food and breakfast quality. We hope that we will have an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion and thus have a chance to show ourselves in better light by providing the best possible customer service we strive to offer to all our valued guest.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

At first sight this hotel looked a bit spartan but once we settled in we found it exceptionally clean and the staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful. It is quieter than its sister hotels on the same peninsular but you can use their facilities and charge to your room, which was very helpful. We did daily aquarobics at the Valemar Club where there is an animation team and lots of families. They held a celebration of Croatia's accession to the EU with an evening's entertainment ending with fireworks and free cake and fizzy. I can also recommend cocktails on the terrace of the President hotel at sunset. The beaches are a bit disappointing and a steep walk to reach but that's the nature of the rocky coast. Food at the hotel is very good value but the buses into the centre are so quick and regular that it was easy to nip back into the old city in the evening to sample the many good bars and restaurants (and ice cream). Ariana trip to the three islands was worth doing, with fish cooked on board and time to swim on Lopud and the trip to Mostar with an informative guide was very interesting but very hot. We had a fantastic time both at the hotel and in Dubrovnik generally and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room on the lower ground floor facing the courtyard did not have an attractive view but kept nice and cool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much on your fabulous review. We are sincerely pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us, moreover we are happy that you took a chance to visit some of our sister hotels in the area and enjoy their offer as well like the spectacular midnight fireworks celebrating Croatia's entrance to the big EU family. Thank you for recommending us and we would be delighted to be able to greet you in Tirena on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Have just got back from a two week stay at the Valamar Tirena.Our flight was delayed and we arrived at 11.30 in the evening. To our surprise salad and cold meats and cheeses had been laid out for us in the dining room as we had missed dinner. The check in staff were efficient and we were soon in our cool, clean, comfortable room. It was on the ground floor and we enjoyed having our own little garden area where we could sit before dinner and enjoy a glass of wine. The food was excellent with a huge choice for breakfast ranging from toast through cereal, pancakes, fruit etc. right up to a full cooked English. Dinner was the same with several choices of main meal every night and always salad and freshly cooked meats, soup and a large range of puddings. You would have to be a very fussy eater not to find something that you liked!! The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. We picked this hotel because we wanted to explore the old town of Dubrovnik and it was an easy bus trip to get there (buy your bus tickets in the hotel shop, they are cheaper or get a Dubrovnik card) so weren't particularly interested in the beach but we did use the hotel pool which was lovely to come back to and cool off in after sightseeing. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penelope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guests,
Fabulous review! Thank you very much. It's great to read of your experience of your recent stay with us. It makes all our staff very proud and glad they were able to make your stay a success. I am happy that our food offer variety was a match to your preferences and that you have enjoyed it completely. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you might be able to come back to Tirena and Dubrovnik on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely,
Nenad Marić,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel - the staff were very friendly, the rooms comfortable and clean, and it was in a good location. We booked with Thomas Cook and got a good price - it's worth noting that the hotel itself offers a price match promise on its website: "If you find a lower price anywhere on the Internet we will match that price and give you an additional 5% discount".

We had a balcony room, although it looked out onto the hotel drive/car park so I wouldn't bother paying extra money for it...we just used it to dry swimsuits on!

I enjoyed the buffet breakfast (as a vegetarian there were more than enough options). The evening buffet was also very good on the night we tried it, but I'm glad we didn't go half board. There are some cheaper, equally as good restaurants a 2-3 minute walk away and some more interesting restaurants in the old town.

The hotel pool is nice, as is the beach which is a short walk away. Both can be a bit busy and noisy with children, but that's to be expected anywhere and didn't bother me particularly. The hotel has a 'hospitality desk' which is good for booking excursions (I recommend Adriatic Tours, particularly to Mostar) and most of the excursions will pick you up from directly outside the hotel.

The bus to the old town runs every 15-20 minutes until 2am and the stop is just outside the hotel. The hotel is located quite early on the bus route so you might even manage to get a seat!

All in all, I thought this hotel was great value and definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to read that you and your friends had a great vacation with us and that the hotel has completely met with your desires. I am glad that our restaurant food offer has met your diet needs as we try to offer a choice of food for everyone's taste. Hopefully we will be able to greet you again in Tirena and until then we send you warmest regards from Dubrovnik.
Nenad Marić
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I agree with most of the other reviews on this hotel but would like to emphasise that the staff are really lovely in the restaurant/reception but the 'beach' is a 15 min walk and when you get there it couldn't be more disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and pay extra it is worth it. However most of those rooms are over the bar so not good if you go to bed early.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelledLass_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Tirena and that our staff has met with all of your needs.
I'm sad to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the beaches in our surroundings. I hope that you have visited the beach of our sister hotel President as it is one of the best beaches in Dubrovnik with immaculate sea quality which has been recognized for many years with the blue flag award.
Best regards from Tirena staff,
Nenad Marić
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews