We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious rooms, but somewhat cold atmosphere”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #24 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious rooms, but somewhat cold atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a nice stay, everything was ok. Pluses: big room, big bathroom, with bathtub, nice pool, hotel very clean; Minuses: to get to your room is like going through a labyrinth, the pool closes at 6 pm (we found that extremely early) and the breakfast, although quite rich for a 3 star hotel, totally without any taste. But then again, that is quite common for food in Dubrovnik.
Guys at the reception seemed very confused all the time, not fluent in English, not very friendly- the lady at the Information desk however, Danielja, is very helpful and nice! Overall an ok experience, hotel could be a bit more...personal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with Tripadvisor community.We are delighted to see you gave the highest mark in your review to rooms and cleanliness, and you also think highly of sleep quality and overall hotel value, but I am sorry to hear you found our food not to your liking, as we usually get excellent feedback from guests regarding food quality and taste.I will make sure to pass your kind words to Danijela at Information desk, I am glad she helped you and sort any misunderstanding you may have had with our front office.Best regards from sunny Dubrovnik.
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    280
    112
    31
    9
See reviews for
115
293
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Fantastic stay at this hotel located appx 20mins on bus (no6) from old town which is beautiful too.The hotel breakfast was fantastic, absolutley everything you could ever want and the dinner was amazing too ! Food choice and quality the best , they have great chefs and restaurant staff. Room facilites good, lovely bathroom too. Very clean hotel. Appx 15min walk to Lapad , which has lots restaurants, some supermarkets and lovely sea views. Local to hotel is a small complex with shops , bars & restaurants if you don't want to go to Lapad.

Room Tip: Buy bus tickets from shop in hotel or any shop/kiosk selling them, cost a little less than paying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing hotel Tirena for your romantic holiday and sharing your very positive experience with Tripadvisor community.
It is always a great pleasure to read such fantastic review of our hotel as this type of feedback gives my staff and me the positive incentive to work even harder, to develop our standards even more and to have more satisfied guests like yourself. Thank you!
It would be our greatest pleasure to have you again as our dear guests and if you will need any help with your next trip to Dubrovnik please do not hesitate to contact me.

Please let me extend the warmest regards from whole Tirena staff and me personally,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very nice stay. We arrived earlier than check in, but were found a room early. very accommodating. The room was clean and modern, with a good bathroom, however the bed was booked as a double, but was two single beds pushed together, i think this may be the case for most.
Breakfast was a good standard, ranging from cold, cereal, breads, to hot, omelettes, sausages, pancakes etc.
The hotel facilitys as a whole were good for a 3 star, however most days we walked next door to the hotels sister hotel the Valamar and used their pool and bar facilities as they are just that bit nicer.
The location is great because within the complex is a small mini market, small shops and restaurants, the other hotels to use and a 5/10 minute walk to the beach. The beach isnt really a beach, rather a small pebbled coast, but nevertheless provides great views and a nice place to dip in the sea.
Transport is great with a bus to the Old Town running very often at the front of the hotel that takes no longer than about 15 minutes. Be sure to book your bus tickets inside the hotel shop to get a cheaper rate than buying straight from the bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom_pYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking time to share your positive experience of Tirena on line. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay and that you find Tirena clean and in a very beautiful location. I am also very glad that you took a chance to walk around and explore our surroundings and visiting some of our other hotels and their offer. We hope to be able to greet you again if not in Tirena then in some other Valamar hotel.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Not long back from the Tirena hotel and could not disagree more with review below re the buffet breakfast etc. - Firstly, this hotel is excellent - large air conditioned room, lovely bathroom. 15 minute bus trip to town, which I thought was perfect as it was terminus to terminus and means you can usually be guaranteed a seat! Hotel staff are helpful, esp on reception. As for buffet breakfast, I have no complaints, great variety, staff work hard and yes you may have to queue for your bacon, omelette etc. but it is no big deal.

Pool area is lovely, can get busy with children but not an issue and I slept most afternoons at the pool without any issues

Overall fab hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seachelle3523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you sincerely on a most fabulous review. We are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for highlighting our services and recommending Tirena. We are sure the readers will find your review very helpful and the whole Tirena team finds it as a great motivation to continue doing their best in providing our dear guests a memorable experience.
Sincere regards,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Buffet breakfast at this place is one of the worst I have had. One guy making ham omlettes, on one hot plate cutting it into 3 small pieces (every 5 minutes) for a line of 10 people PLUS cooking bacon PLUS pancakes. Food not topped up and quality poor. Room ok. This place is aging. Grounds are not looked after. Staff ok. Beach is 10 min away, 15 if dont follow the signs carefully. The pool is ok, but lots of kids.skip this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on our TripAdvisor website. I am very sorry we did not completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us. I am surprised that our food quality did not measure to your liking ,especially because we receive most of the top comments from our guests on food and breakfast quality. We hope that we will have an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion and thus have a chance to show ourselves in better light by providing the best possible customer service we strive to offer to all our valued guest.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

At first sight this hotel looked a bit spartan but once we settled in we found it exceptionally clean and the staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful. It is quieter than its sister hotels on the same peninsular but you can use their facilities and charge to your room, which was very helpful. We did daily aquarobics at the Valemar Club where there is an animation team and lots of families. They held a celebration of Croatia's accession to the EU with an evening's entertainment ending with fireworks and free cake and fizzy. I can also recommend cocktails on the terrace of the President hotel at sunset. The beaches are a bit disappointing and a steep walk to reach but that's the nature of the rocky coast. Food at the hotel is very good value but the buses into the centre are so quick and regular that it was easy to nip back into the old city in the evening to sample the many good bars and restaurants (and ice cream). Ariana trip to the three islands was worth doing, with fish cooked on board and time to swim on Lopud and the trip to Mostar with an informative guide was very interesting but very hot. We had a fantastic time both at the hotel and in Dubrovnik generally and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room on the lower ground floor facing the courtyard did not have an attractive view but kept nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much on your fabulous review. We are sincerely pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us, moreover we are happy that you took a chance to visit some of our sister hotels in the area and enjoy their offer as well like the spectacular midnight fireworks celebrating Croatia's entrance to the big EU family. Thank you for recommending us and we would be delighted to be able to greet you in Tirena on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Have just got back from a two week stay at the Valamar Tirena.Our flight was delayed and we arrived at 11.30 in the evening. To our surprise salad and cold meats and cheeses had been laid out for us in the dining room as we had missed dinner. The check in staff were efficient and we were soon in our cool, clean, comfortable room. It was on the ground floor and we enjoyed having our own little garden area where we could sit before dinner and enjoy a glass of wine. The food was excellent with a huge choice for breakfast ranging from toast through cereal, pancakes, fruit etc. right up to a full cooked English. Dinner was the same with several choices of main meal every night and always salad and freshly cooked meats, soup and a large range of puddings. You would have to be a very fussy eater not to find something that you liked!! The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. We picked this hotel because we wanted to explore the old town of Dubrovnik and it was an easy bus trip to get there (buy your bus tickets in the hotel shop, they are cheaper or get a Dubrovnik card) so weren't particularly interested in the beach but we did use the hotel pool which was lovely to come back to and cool off in after sightseeing. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penelope A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Fabulous review! Thank you very much. It's great to read of your experience of your recent stay with us. It makes all our staff very proud and glad they were able to make your stay a success. I am happy that our food offer variety was a match to your preferences and that you have enjoyed it completely. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you might be able to come back to Tirena and Dubrovnik on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely,
Nenad Marić,
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Property: Tirena Hotel
Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing