We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three-star hotel that feels like a four-star”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Three-star hotel that feels like a four-star”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Spent a week in the Tirena Hotel as part of a Travel Department package. Though it has three stars, this modern hotel felt like a four-star because of the high standard of accommodation, quality of food and very friendly staff. It's in a great location, only 20 minutes from Dubrovnik by local bus and the facilities, including swimming pool are excellent. Cleanliness was also obviously a top priority as the rooms, bathrooms, pool etc were all spotless. If I return to Dubrovnik, I will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lostli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing Tirena on TripAdvisor and giving us the best possible grades and feedback. I am happy to read that you feel our service and standard is placing us in the 4 star category as that is the best compliment that we can receive.
Hopefully you will visit Dubrovnik again, and please feel free to contact me if you are in a need of help regarding reservations.
Best regards, and a big thank you from the entire Tirena staff,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    291
    115
    32
    9
See reviews for
117
304
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Excellent hotel for discovering Dubrovnik. Great complex and can use the facilities of sister hotels. Good pool area with towels provided. Finding a subbed did not prove problematic. Choice of food was excellent and staff were all very attentive. They took their lead from the manager who was always hands on and leading by example. Great value for money hotel. Could easily have a 4 star rating. The hotel is well served by a good bus service and I would recommend going to the stop at the President hotel if you wish to have a seat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewanderer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you and your family for choosing hotel Tirena for your vacation!

Let me extend our staff and my personal gratitude for the kind words with which you described the stay in our hotel. This post is a great incentive for all of us and the peak of this season, and we are always proud to have satisfied guests.

Hope we will have the chance to have you and your family as our dear guests, until then,
Best regards from sunny Dubrovnik,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Myself and my partner have just back from Dubrovnik and we had a wonderful stay in hotel tirena, the hotel rooms are spotless, the breakfast buffet every morning was lovely and loads of choice. The pool had plenty of loungers and umbrellas. The hotel is about 15 mins bus journey from the old town of Dubrovnik you can get tickets from the shop in the hotel for 12kuna or on the bus for 15kuna. The bus stop is 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Overall the hotel is good value for money, clean, friendly staff and decent location. I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cait2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Tirena for your couples retreat.

We are proud to be a part of your wonderful stay in Dubrovnik and are glad you enjoyed our spotless rooms, good choice of food, pool area and friendly staff.

I hope we will have the chance to have you again as our dear guest!
Warm regards from sunny Dubrovnik,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
338 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is a 20 minute drive from the centre of Dubrovnik - but don't take a taxi as the number 6 bus stops just outside and runs about every ten minutes. Get your bus ticket at the hotel - it is cheaper that way!
The facilities are good with a large outside pool and access to the beach, shops and restaurants.
Wi-Fi did not work in the room and this meant a trip to reception to check emails

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review and giving hotel Tirena the highest possible rate, I believe you tips will be helpful to our future guests.

It is nice to read you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to be excellent. I am sorry to hear you had problem with the WiFi, which sometimes occurs due to the hotel building structure, but I am glad you managed to check your e-mail in the reception area.

We would be glad to have you again as our dear guest, until then, have our best regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is clean and the breakfast was excellent. The location is nicely quiet, except for the hotel's own pool barbecue evening, when the music is heard in the rooms. The hotel is situated on a hill, so even though the distances (e.g. to old town) are not excessively long, buses are good to be used. As an overall experience, we were very satisfied to the hotel and Dubrovnik in general.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your overall positive experience.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and hotel quiet location and especially that you think hotel Tirena is good value for the money. I am sorry if our barbecue pool dinner with live music disturbed your stay in any way, but we try to offer extra services in the hotel to make our guests stay even more memorable. I sincerely hope it did not diminish the quality of your stay as the music is over until 10.30PM.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to have you again as our dear guest!
Best regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Tirena lies ca. 5 km from Old Town. It's very nice walk or you can take a bus which is going every 10 minutes. 3 minutes walk to nice and clean beach. Room was standard, but cozy and clean. Good space in the bathroom. Very nice and helpful personnel. We found very good food in the hotel as well. Breakfast was much over three stars hotel has! Evenings buffet was very various and tasteful. In the evening we enjoyed our drinks at the bar to the music of Georgio one man band. He was really good:) If we will be back in Dubrovnik, it will be Tirena again:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiktorNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing hotel Tirena for your romantic holiday!
I was glad to read you had a great time in our hotel and enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff. I am delighted to hear that you found our choice and quality of food to be over three star standard, as it is always our goal to offer more to our guests.

I will be glad to personally assist you for your next stay in hotel Tirena, as I am positive you will visit Dubrovnik again!

Until our next encounter please let me extend warm regards from whole Tirena staff and me personally,

Kind regards,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We are leaving today and have been here during the heat wave.hotel recptionists very friendly.hotel very clean.we found a good selection at breakfast, evening meal, those who say different perhaps you should have the job!! We was close to beaches, buses, shops and restraunts, all fairly good food. You will find the bus trips alot of hastle pushing, no queing system, if you carnt beat them join them everyone is so rude on buses.lapad is half hour walk, no bus neaded.pool is nice, although someonevneeds to stop parents letting kids stand and pee in pool, or is it just english that find that unexceptable!

Room Tip: Catch bus at bus stop near president you can seat then when its over loaded you dont get sqashed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and sharing your positive experience with hotel Tirena!
I am glad to hear you were overall satisfied with our service and enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff and good choice of food.
I am sorry our lifeguards missed the opportunity to warn the guest about misbehaved children and I will make sure to pass the remark to them, as we do not approve this type of behavior either.
Hope you had a safe trip home and we really hope we will have you as our guests again.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,729 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,087 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Property: Tirena Hotel
Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing