We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and well managed hotel, without the frills.”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A clean and well managed hotel, without the frills.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel about 20 minutes bus ride from the old city, which has so much to offer.
This hotel scores because of
1. Exceptional cleanliness
2. Well equipped bedrooms with comfortable beds,free safe deposit, fully stocked cocktail bar, and very nice bathroom.
3. Great selection of food for both breakfast and evening meal with pleasant efficient manager and catering staff. Ivan, the breakfast chef, cooks great eggs/bacon/ pancakes etc to order.
4. Helpful, informative and courteous staff, but then that's par for the course in all parts of Croatia.

Points could be lost because of
1. An abundance of feral cats roaming the gardens, though never allowed inside.
2. Bedrooms could be cold if temperature outside drops. Air conditioning does not reverse for provision of heat.
3. Noise could be a problem if rowdy parties went on late into the night. This did happen once, during our stay, but to be fair to the hotel, the noise came from a building close by but not under the control of the hotel management.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaJulianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and review of hotel Tirena. I am glad to read that you had a good vacation in Dubrovnik and that you found our hotel of a good standard. Ivan and the rest of the food and beverage staff will be glad to read your comments regarding their work and will definitely be glad to see you again if your travel voyages lead you to Dubrovnik in the future.
Until then, I send you warm regards from Dubrovnik.

Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    301
    117
    32
    9
See reviews for
120
315
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is in a complex about 20 minutes bus from the old town centre, and initially has a pretty charmless feeling to it. It's a large concrete structure (100+ rooms?) probably built in the 1960s or 70s, with smallish rooms (but good en-suites with shower and bath), and catering mainly for large tour groups. The main issue that could be a problem for many guests is noise: from the bar in the evening with the "entertainment" and especially from the shopping precinct which some rooms overlook (ours did!). We stayed for 4 nights and suffered till nearly 3am on one night with rowdy noise (football or Nationalist songs?) being sung in a bar in the precinct: not really a serenade to sleep. The dining is all buffet style, but despite this was very good, albeit noisy in the concrete-floored and walled dining room. Once the head waiter spotted that we were a couple eating later (c. 8.15pm) he generally greeted us at the door and found us a table for 2 which was a nice touch. Certainly not a romantic stay, but eat, sleep and explore the wonderful old town...

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the precinct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your vacation tips with the tripadvisor community. I am sorry to hear that the neighboring bars kept you awake one night and even though the hotel itself is powerless in that case please let me give you my sincere apology. I am glad that our restaurant manager provided you with a great service and that you enjoyed our food selection.
Hopefully you will be our guest again in the future so you can enjoy Tirena in a more romantic and relaxed way.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in June 2013, when we first arrived we weren't sure which bus stop to get off at, we ended up going to the end of the line which was luckily where the hotel and it's sister hotel were situated. The hotel is only a 15 min bus ride from the city centre and is a cheaper alternative to the taxi. When arriving at the hotel jump off at the stop next to the open car park! - it's a much easier walk with a suitcase. First impressions were that the hotel is quite dated and could do with some renovation, but for the price you pay it is great as it is clean, tidy and the staff are very friendly. Our room was of a reasonable size with a good sized bathroom and shower. Air conditioning was also included in the room. The room was also clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast was very good with a wide range of food available. Continental and English breakfast are served as well as yoghurts and toast for those who are less peckish in the morning. The hotel is situated about 10 mins slow walk to the beach area which provides a nice view of the surrounding Croatian countryside. Just outside the hotel is a small shopping centre type area where you can find some independent shops and restaurants, as well as convenience stops and souvenir shops. The staff were very accommodating throughout the stay and delivered excellent customer service when we experienced problems with our booked excursion (through the hotel), where we were told the incorrect pick up time and ended missing one of our meals. The hotel allowed us a free dinner for 2 which we were very pleased about, and I would like to thank the Hotel manager and hospitality desk clerk for their professional and swift dealing with the problem. All in all it was a fantastic stay at the Hotel Tirena and I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere cheap, clean and well situated near the city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank PhiliasF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for an fantastic comment regarding your stay in our hotel.
I am happy to read that you took some nice memories from your vacation with you.
All of us hope that we will have a chance to great you again in the future, and until then I send you best regards from the whole Tirena staff!

Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A fine hotel with very nice breakfast. Its a huge hotel with very many hallways. The area is safe for cids but it can be a maze to find back to the room. Just 10 min to walk to the beach and its the same with the bus to the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your travel experience with the tripadvisor community.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future and send you best regards from Dubrovnik.
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Tirena hotel is ok. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean but the location is not ideal. We only stayed here a night as part of a tour, I don't think I would have been overjoyed to stay longer. The staff are, however, very pleasant (and so are the cocktails!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Tirena with the TripAdvisor community. I am happy to read that you liked our staff and as well as our cocktails, however I am sad that you spent only one night at our hotel and did not have a chance to explore the area as our guests usually compliment y our serene and peaceful location with an easy access to the busy Old Town.
All of Tirena staff wish you all the best and send you sunny regards from Dubrovnik.

Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, NH
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights as part of Go Ahead Tours, so roooms pre-assigned. We had room 404 - top floor, right off stairway, right over bar/patio area. Excellent views of harbor - you could see the many cruise ships entering port each morning, leaving later in day. Only downside to this room was the noise in the evening from the bar/patio below, plus the nearby minimall area, with its restaurants - weekend 'parties' often went to 2 am.

Great breakfast buffet - plenty of hot/cold choices, including eggs made to order. WiFi in our room worked very well all the time, and it was free. Ten minute walk to pebbly beaches - Cava or Copa Cabanna. Suggest you bring flip flops or water shoes, as it's hard on your feet on beach and nearshore.

As others have noted, catching the #6 bus into the old city is very easy, convenient (right up the drive from hotel), and only costs 12 kuna each way if you buy your tickets from the hotel gift shop (15 on bus from driver).

Would stay again.

Room Tip: If noise at night bothers you, avoid Room 404, but it's got a great view otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for a great review of your stay in Tirena.
I am happy to read that you and your friends had a good time with us and that you enjoyed your room view of the ongoing cruise ship travels. We hope that we will have a chance to greet you again in the future and until next time all of us at Tirena wish you all the best.
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here recently and found the hotel to be very good. The hotel was very clean and presented very well.

The food was buffet style, breakfast was really good with a lot of choice, and dinner was also very good - but perhaps I would I like a bit more variety with the meats (maybe some more seasoning).

Rooms were adequate size for the price and were very clean with fresh linen every day. The bathrooms were spacious and very nice.

We were upgraded to a balcony view for free which was great.

On the whole all the staff were helpful - some more cheerful then others.

I would definitely stay here again as the price is reasonable and you are next door to the bigger 4 star parent hotel which is VERY nice and has an excellent fine dining gusto restaurant. You are also 10 minute walk from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your travel experience with the tripadvisor community. I am happy to read that you have had a good time at our hotel and that you have enjoyed our room quality as well as our food preparation.
We hope that you will visit Dubrovnik again and that you will stay with us at that time, and please do not hesitate to contact me if you are in a need of help with booking your stay.
Best regards,

Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Property: Tirena Hotel
Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing