We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is what you would expect from any large chain 3* hotel. It is perfectly functional in a good location right on a regular bus route in to the city.

The room we had was functional with a garden "view" and balcony, it was clean and tidy. The hotel has a general air of hustle and bustle with a lot of noise in all the public areas due to the lack of soft furnishings.

The food was of a good quality although the menu didn't vary much and the restaurant staff were very friendly.

The hotel is located within gardens on a complex with other hotels of the same Group. There is a tired looking shopping mall just outside and a steady walk down to a nice little beach. There is however a very nice pool area with sunbeds, towels and a reasonably priced café.

On the whole there is nothing to fault with this hotel but nothing to sing about either.

Room Tip: I think higher up with a sea view would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I am glad to hear you generally enjoyed your stay, although some of your points are definitely something we will look into more carefully in order to improve our service even more.

We hope we will have you again as our dear guest and have the chance to give you that something extra that you could sing about!

Best regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    309
    123
    34
    11
See reviews for
123
326
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here on a Riviera tour, and were disappointed in Riviera's choice. The room was big and comfortable, but very dated with loud aircon that woke us each time it came on. The dining room is very large with fantastic acoustics no soft furnishings, as a result it is extraordinarily noisy, conversation was impossible most evenings! The view is of a concrete communist-era courtyard with closed-down shops across the way. The food was very mixed, very basic salads, some evenings the main course choice was very good, puds very ordinary. The breakfast fruit was very poor (previous evening's fruit salad), but you could get a freshly cooked breakfast if you had time to wait. There was also a lovely fresh brown loaf. The hotel is around four miles from town so not in a good location, and if there is a beach near we didn't find it, despite making our way down through rubbish-strewn scrubland. We did find a pebble shore about half a mile away through a five-star hotel.

Room Tip: Other travellers complained of damp in basement rooms, and noise from the bar if on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_L740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion on hotel Tirena.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with Riviera's choice as I am personally talking to many of Riviera Guests on daily basis and mostly getting very positive feedback. It just shows that there is always space for improvement, so please know that we are taking all your points very seriously and will work on them.
Overall I am glad to see you gave us 4/5 points on cleanliness and service which gives me hope your stay was at least enjoyable from that point of view.

Kind regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fantastic location - just a 15 minute bus ride from the center of Dubrovnik. Buses run every 15 minutes from the early hours until midnight, even on a Sunday. Buses are very safe and only 12Kuna a pop. It is located next to a good beach, which is ideal for swimming, sunbathing and snorkeling!

The staff were fantastic from the minute we got there. Toni at reception was a diamond - he was able to answer all our questions and give us advice on Dubrovnik. The hotel was really clean throughout including the pool area. The pool area is very pleasant and towels are provided by the Hotel, which is great!

We only had breakfast at the hotel, but this was brilliant on all the four mornings we were there. Croissants, pancakes, bacon, omelettes, bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt - it was all there and more!

Would really recommend this hotel - a fantastic location and great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review! I am personally very proud to hear that you enjoyed our service, cleanliness, pool and breakfast. I extended your comment to Toni, and he was glad to hear he could help and make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you for recommending hotel Tirena and giving us such a positive feedback, it is really a great encouragement for our team to keep the good work!

We hope to see you again in hotel Tirena and Dubrovnik and until then I am extending best regards from whole of Tirena staff and myself,

Sincerely,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was expecting a proper hotel when I booked it but this place is a glorified hostel. No room service, no a la carte menus, the worst staff imaginable... and there was no complimentary water/kettle in the room. I consider a kettle somewhat important as there was only a 0.25l water bottle provided in the refrigerator. Severely disappointing. The buses to the city are always crowded and very unsafe. I paid over a 100 pounds a night for this ridiculous place! I would advise anyone to simply book the hotel next to it (Lacroma, I believe) that's about 20 pounds more a night. Hotel did not have wi-fi as advertised. At least our room didn't.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
However I would like to emphasize that hotel Tirena is a three star property, and, as you pointed out yourself, maybe hotel Valamar Lacroma that is four plus stars would suite you better. Room service and a la carte restaurant are simply not obligatory nor common service for our category, but all of our guests are welcome to visit a la carte restaurants, bars, wellness etc. in our sister hotels with higher category- Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik****+, Valamar Argosy**** and Valamar Dubrovnik President*****.
We really hope to see you again in Dubrovnik and Valamar properties!

Best regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A few km out of the city but well worth the inconvenience of getting the bus into town.
A large concrete hotel of little architectural merit but internally offers spaciousness not often found with newer hotels. Well run with an excellent restaurant (a bit noisey due to it's size) offering fine buffet food. A comfy bar and terrace with good service.
Fine coastal pathways offering a plethora of good restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking an internal courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mod300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Warmest of greeting from Tirena team and thank you for choosing Tirena for your recent stay in Dubrovnik. Great to hear of you positive experience and we do hope that we will have a chance to greet you again.
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Really nice place to stay. Good sized rooms, lovely balcony with super views. Nice bathroom and comfy beds. Breakfast and dinner are served buffet style, don't worry, you will never go hungry. Plenty pre prepared food of every description with a chef who will cook steaks, omelettes, fried eggs, pancakes to your requirements. Lots of busy stsff doing coffee at breakfast and wine etc at dinner - wonderful. This hotel is one that we would definitely stay at again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks and greetings from Tirena and thank you for a great and most encouraging review. The whole Tirena team is pleased we were able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance should you want to return to Dubrovnik or any other parts of Croatian coast as it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with 11 colleagues on our annual cultural trip around the continent. Pleasant modern, clean hotel in a quiet location. Good buffet breakfast although there was always a queue for the bacon! Great swimming pool (with pool towels) although the water was absolutely freezing. Non-descript hotel bar that appeared to shut early (midnight?) and was never open when we came back at night. A bit of a maze to get to the bedrooms and watch out for the external doors that you can get out of but not back in again at night! Very helpful reception staff, phoned up Coach Transfer company for me and printed off Boarding Card for one of our group. Some good 'afternoon' bars within easy walk to sit outside overlooking the rocky coastline and a few more at the bottom of the hill, although the busiest one was full of teenagers none of whom appeared to be drinking but they were nearly all smoking. Bus or Taxi into the Old Town and/or Cable Car is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guests,
Greetings from the Tirena team and thank you on a great review. Great to hear you and your colleagues stay with us was an enjoyable one and that your experience of Croatia and Dubrovnik was so good. Thank you sincerely for your stay with us and for your review and we hope we might see you again in Tirena. It will be our pleasure!
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,826 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Property: Tirena Hotel
Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing