We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the 100 kuna - go late or early”
Review of Ancient City Walls

Ancient City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.31*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 161 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worth the 100 kuna - go late or early”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It costs 100 kuna to go on the walls - not a trivial sum, but the experience is actually worth it. You can spend as much time up there as you want - although you have to only go around in one direction. The views are stunning, not only out across the water but also the unique vantage point looking into the city - down into courtyards and old buildings. It is truly a unique a lovely experience that you should not miss while in Dubrovnik - it's what defines the city. My advice, as others have said, is GO EARLY, or late. But either way you will miss the hordes of tourists and the sweltering heat. There are three cafes up there and a few tiny shady spots, but other than that you are fully exposed to the sun - hat is necessary! And bring water and a camera (and extra battery!) There is sadly no information once you get up there about history or anything so I would recommend reading up beforehand. You can't get a tour from just the office that sells tickets so I'm guessing you'd have to be on one from somewhere else - which I'm sure are plentiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickiandNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,263
    3,158
    346
    71
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik city walls”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A must for any visitor to Dubrovnik but at 100 kuna not the cheapest / best value tourist attraction I have visited

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank johngladwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You have to do it!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had two people over 75 and 78 which were reluctant to do it. We convinced them to try it and it was worth it. The first set of stairs is a bit daunting.. but... you just need to take your time. It's worth it. There are some more stairs up there, but when you get up to the top, you see people of all ages and sizes up there. It's not that bad. Just need to take your time. Also, head there early to avoid the heat. You can ALSO only walk half the wall which is perfectly fine. The rest of the walk is more of the same as the first half. Great views. Great photos. Lots of history to see!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Something to start with but just pick not too hot weather. Dubrovnik card can be a good solution if you are interested to use busses, to visit museums and eat in local restaurants as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iglokott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Buy tickets near Ploce Gate and Maritime museum”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As our apartment was behind St. Blasius Church, we bought tickets near the Pile gate. To avoid the crowd, We arrived around 7:55am to wait outside the ticket office. I'm the first tourist entering onto the City Walls this morning (16 June 2014). We walked towards the Tower Minceta, the highest point of the ciity wall. On our way, we met one tourist only so we can enjoy the views and took many many shots without blocking others way. We're in slow pace and finished the walk iaround 2 hours.
After taking lunch and snap, we continued our walk to the Fortress Lovrijenac. It's included in the 100kn city walls ticket. We reached there around 16:00, there're very few tourists. It gives the stunning view the city walls from outside. On our return way, around 17:00, we drank beer at Buza bar on cliff as a memorable treat!
Bring enough water and few snack with you because it does spend energy while walking up and down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Milky-snowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ancient City Walls also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Ancient City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing