We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attended Mass Here”

Church of Saint Blaise
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.33*
and up
Dubrovnik Discovery Day Trip from Split or Trogir
Ranked #31 of 161 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
944 reviews
453 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,207 helpful votes
“Attended Mass Here”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

While visiting Dubrovnik we happened upon the church while mass was being conducted (in English). After mass I had my throat blessed as is custom since St Blaise is the patron saint for protecting one against throat illnesses (as well as the patron saint of the city). We then toured this very beautiful church.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    169
    71
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Dubrovnik is one of the best places to spend a day of two for a nice relax and coffee time. do not chose time of the year take time and enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JurijKobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Patron Saint of Throats”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

While I was always aware of St Blaise and had my throat blessed each February on his Feast Day. I never recognised that he was also the patron saint of Dubrovnik - Saint Vlahu.

This is a beautiful Church which was built at the beginning of the 18th Century to replace the Church that was destroyed by an earthquake.

I enjoyed the time I spent sitting in the Church in silent prayer. Indeed I felt very much at peace with myself during that time..
.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really nice church”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a really beautiful church. There are always lots of people loitering on the steps, that's fine though; it can be a great place to sit and have a snack. It's worth checking out in Dubrovnik since it only takes a minute.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kira_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just beautifull”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We visited it during the sunday mass and enjoyed watching the domestics and listening to the singing even though we didnt understand a word.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of Saint Blaise also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Church of Saint Blaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing