We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for mass”

Church of Saint Blaise
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.57*
and up
Dubrovnik Discovery Day Trip from Split or Trogir
More Info
US$78.39*
and up
Dubrovnik Museums Tour
More Info
US$35.63*
and up
Dubrovnik Legends Evening Tour
Ranked #31 of 163 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for mass”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Another beautiful church but quite graphic with dead body of st silvan martyr so just beware if you have children ... was free for me so not sure why you need to buy tickets... maybe cos I walked in during mass which was lovely ... great church to get married in beautiful

Helpful?
Thank Loteafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    174
    74
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Church of the patron saint”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Dubrovnik is covered with statues of St Blaise. Here is his church. I have happy memories of attending Mass in French here in 1980. it is not open as much as other churches so you need to check opening times or grab your moment as we did. Baroque and, movingly, damaged during the 1991 bombardment, it is a landmark on the main square

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1984abrcem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church at the end of Placa”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

On the far eastern end kitty corner to the bell tower, and with the statue of Orlando out front. This church to the patron saint of Dubrovnik is beautiful inside and out. Always collects a crowd in the plaza out front

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level 6 Contributor
887 reviews
580 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
“Dubrovnik - Church of St Blaise - Simple attractive church which adds to the historic location”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This eighteenth century church was reconstructed on the former church site some years after the original was damaged in the 1667 earthquake. The church has a special place in the history of Dubrovnik and this affords it a great spot in the main square. Architecturally simple the added sculptures and carvings are beautiful meaning this church is not lost in its surroundings and demands to be admired. If you visit Dubrovnik you will not miss this place. It's worth having a closer look.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveJacksonnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Some explanation notes about history would be helpful here!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a beautiful church with notable Baroque decorations which make it a nice place to sit and enjoy the quiet atmosphere. However, it has very strict opening hours so if you want to see more of it, check for its opening times.

The guide book that I had with me was saying that on the main altar of this church there is a silver statue of St Blaise from 15th century holding a model of the city which shows what it looked like before the Great Earthquake in 1667. This was the only statue in the church to survive the disaster in fact. I wanted to see this statue but was not sure where exactly to look at. One of the statues looked like the one I was looking for but it didn’t seem to be a silver one. It had more yellow (or gold) colour so I was not sure whether that was the right one. It could have been gold-plated silver. The church was just about to be closed and the nun who obviously was in charge of opening hours was not happy to help when I asked her. She was focused only on one thing - to close the church. I understand, rules are rules, and the church should be closed at noon precisely. However, at least there should be more explanation notes at the place itself. No one should rely on the guide books only. Moreover, this statue is one the most valuable works of art in the long history of Dubrovnik and as such, it is of interest.

Another (even more) noteworthy church in the Old Town of Dubrovnik is the Church of St Ignatius (or the Jesuit Church). It is open all day and is notable for its magnificent frescoes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank niki101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of Saint Blaise also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Church of Saint Blaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing