We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in central Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in central Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is an ideal place to stay in Dubrovnik. The location could not be better, just a short walk from the Pile gate to the old city. Hilton have sensitively converted an old building into a modern hotel while retaining some of the character. The hotel does not feel particularly ‘corporate’, so staying here does not feel like attending a conference. There is a large indoor pool with saunas and steam rooms, which are very welcome after a tiring day of sightseeing.

The multi-lingual staff are very well trained and highly professional, but also extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is the usual lavish Hilton buffet, and even includes Japanese options!

The rooms are as you would expect in a Hilton, with minibars and excellent quality beds. Only one criticism – the small old-fashioned televisions have seen better days and should be replaced by modern flatscreens. This is the only thing which lets the hotel down.

Overall – Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradgate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,221
    648
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
564
1,593
159
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

In a very picturesque city with great views,i stayed three nights in a standard room,at the second building .The room was good,spacious,clean with everything i needed,except sleepers which were provided immediately when i asked for it.The TV set was old fashion and the the view was a wall about three meters away, not even medieval.The main building was nice,the staff polite and helpful,the breakfast rich and the pool with sauna and steambath valueable if you want to do some excercise.I had a meal at the hotel which was nothing special.Yes, the location makes the difference.

Room Tip: Avoid the second building,especially the lower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is ideally located for those wishing to visit Dubrovnik. It is perched on the outskirts of the old city and therefore you are in the heart of the all that it has to offer. Hiltons are a global brand and this one does it justice. However, i was dissappointed by the the dining experience, but as I ate out most evenings this did not cause me any problems. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and have excellent facilities. Its a pricey hotel, but if you book long enough in advance you may be able to get a discounted rate like I did.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

the location of the Hilton Imperial is excellent, 2 minutes walk from the Pile gate entrance to the old city and right next to the main bus stop. The hotel is clean,stylish and has great amenities, good gym, good pool and helpful staff in the business center. free efficient wifi in main lobby (also worked in gym area!) I am a Hilton Gold so had use of Executive lounge, the 2 ladies who run in, Paul and Marianna are just the best, so friendly, helpful, polite and efficient, they made everyones stay just perfect. The food is the lounge is great, nice snacks throughout the day, yummy tapas style evening snacks until 8pm, free wine until 11pm, i had an absolute ball meeting other guests, just like a real club atmosphere. all the staff in the hotel are soo polite, friendly and helpful, they go out of they way to help you.
Few price guides for your stay in Dubrov, taxi to port 50/60 kunas, bus fares 10 kunas per trip, walk the city walls entry fee 70kunas, cable car 80kunas, ferry return to Lopud island 46kunas, all worth doing. i had 3 days in Dubrov, loooved every minute and would recomment the hilton hotel as a great base.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the fort, good all day sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

what a positive experience, the Hiton has brilliant staff, nothing too much trouble, certious, professional, try the executive lounge for professioalism,care and great snacks. The front of house staff welcome you as if you are part of the family. Excellent position to explore the old town, get a bus, find a restruant. Lovely outside dining area traffic a bit noisey but it is a busy town. Explore after 3pm when the thousands of cruise goers go back to their ships. Excellent hotel to use as a base, great internet connection good veiws from the executive loounge splash out for an exe plus room. Only draw back is there is no outside space and an indoor swimming pool, the spa is functional so don't expect too much in the way of pampering.
Thank you Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Hilton is a very nice place, but at over $400 a night, it had better be. This is not a hotel for the frugal tourist, but if you want to impress someone, don’t think twice. The breakfast was excellent in every way, the rooms were spacious and modern, and the window view of the Dubrovnik fortress just two blocks away was gorgeous. I cannot say it was that good a deal, given the price, but I cannot complain, either. (Note that the A/C is in the rooms is designed to shut off unless the windows are completely latched shut – and I mean completely. You’ll avoid having to make a peeved phone call to the guest services desk if you keep that in mind.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auslanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in late September. I used my HHonors points for the room so my review will reflect that fact that I didn't have to pay full price.
Property/room: the hotel has pretty public areas. The name implies that the hotel is a huge stately palace but it's really not, by which I don't mean as a detraction. You enter the front reception area immediately as you enter the hotel. Then up some steps and there's a long hallway that leads down the hotel. The beautiful facade of the hotel faces the street and it looks every bit as pretty in the pictures when lit at night. I don't have my elite status with HHonors anymore so I was given a regular room but it was more than enough. Our room faced the back of the hotel so there wasn't much of a good view. The bed was a true king size and very comfortable. Plenty of space in the room. The bathroom was large. The only negative was I thought the towels were somewhat old & tired and not fluffy enough. We did have nice thick robes to wear which were put to use when we went swimming. There's an indoor pool. It's not heated, but it was warm enough for us. (By the way, the pool is about 5' deep all around so it's not for young children.) The carpets in the hallways gave off an odor that I found unappealing. This was true throughout the hotel, less so inside our room. Breakfast was a steep 150 kunas per person.
Location: you couldn't ask for a better spot. The hotel is one block from the Pile gate into the old town. After a day of exploring the old town, you walk out of the Pile gate and look up at this wonderful hotel on a grand stage and you smile at yourself knowing that's where you're staying. All the city buses stop a few dozen yards from the hotel so it's easy to use public transport.
Service: the staff were polite and efficient. The only very slight hitch was when we used the spa one afternoon to get massages. The spa prices were low compared to NYC so we couldn't help ourselves. The massage was decent, though I thought the pressure applied by the masseuse was lacking. But when we were finished and wanted to pay, there was no one at the desk for over 10 minutes. This may have been our ignorance in how they do things at this spa, but you would think there's always someone around to help.
To wrap it up, if you've got the budget for it, this hotel is where you want to be in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,011 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,495 reviews
2.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Property: Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing