We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fine building but rooms just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location and fine building but rooms just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed on Hilton points which sadly means an average room and no breakfast. Hotel was very nice from the outside and a great location just a 100m from the old city. Took a look at the dinner buffet and must say was not impressive so went into town.
Stay here if you can afford a room with a view, otherwise it's unlikely to be worth the money.
Our room was fine but really nothing special and felt very average 4star, nothing to get excited about.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view, but I think this will cost you more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial for your stay in Dubrovnik and for your kind comments. I regret that you were disappointed with your room amenities. All guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it is only through constructive criticism that we are able to assess and continuously improve the service standards we strive to achieve.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,075
    604
    127
    31
    17
See reviews for
510
1,500
152
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We are currently staying at this great hotel in the perfect location - 2 minutes walk to the old town of Dubrovnik. The hotel is truly 5 star in terms of location, food, drink, service, comfort and cleanliness. There has recently been a change to the menu in the evening meal, resulting in us enjoying the most amazing dinners and not being able to stick to our diets!!! There is a wide range of breakfast choices to suit everyone and the dinner in the Porat restaurant is some of the best food i have ever had. The staff are all very accommodating and always friendly, polite and helpful. The Hilton Imperial is right at the pile gate and therefore minutes from the shops, bars and beaches. There is no outdoor pool yet the hotel does have its own private beach and in this relentless heat it is nice to have an indoor pool! The gym is modern and well-equipped so gym bunnies will not be disappointed! We have stayed in Hilton hotels all over the world and the Imperial truly lives up to its name.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for letting others know of your nice experience at the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik. I regret that you were disappointed with the lack of outdoor swimming pool. Unfortunately location and the hotel surrounding area is limited. Hopefully a glass roof swimming pool and local beaches in walking distance, helped. It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy with our accommodation, hotel location and that you were extremely satisfied with our Porat Restaurant. I’m really glad you’ve enjoyed specialties made by our Executive Chef, Christopher Gauci.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future.
Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with excellent service in a convenient location in a great city. The only drawback is that wi-fi is extremely expensive and not available from your room. They say they are going to change that soon. Breakfast buffet was included and though it was plentiful and beautifully presented, it was not as tasty as it could have been. On the other hand, it was very pleasant staying there and only a short wallk (2 blocks) to the walled city and to many good restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the business rooms, which were quiet though in a separate building from the main part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for letting others know of your nice experience at the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik. It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy with our accommodation and hotel location. I regret that you were disappointed with your internet connection. As you already said, at this moment we are in process of implementing wireless internet which will be free in our public areas. Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you for your next Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik experience.

Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have recently returned from my very first trip to Dubrovnik (such a beautiful city that I will definitely be returning!!) but what really made my holiday was the fantastic hotel, the Hilton Grand Imperial Palace! Firstly it is really well situated, a 2 minute walk from the gates to the old city with great views over the bay and city walls. It is such a grand iconic building, one of the oldest in Dubrovnik but beautifully furnished and finished inside. There's a really well equipped gym, pool, sauna and steam room as well as business facilities and a beautiful terrace for drinks and food.

And that leads me to breakfast - there is SUCH a fantastic choice of hot and cold food including made to order pancakes and omelettes that my friend and I looked forward to over-indulging every morning!!

But the thing I would definitely give this hotel top marks for is the staff. EVERYONE we encountered from the reception staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping, handymen and concierge were SO helpful, friendly and gave exceptional 5 star service that I would like to thank them for making it such a wonderful stay - well done to all!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik and for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your wonderful comments. It is a delight to hear about how satisfied our guests are with the hotel and the services. Acknowledgements such as yours are of great motivation to us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast, we have recently put a lot of effort into further improving the variety and the quality of food and your feedback is extremely rewarding. Once more, thank you for all your comments.
I will share your review with the team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back, on your next trip to Dubrovnik.

Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was fine, the service was friendly and helpful, the position was great, just outside the Old City but there were no outside grounds or garden to use, and the pool was indoors under cover. You have to pay through the nose for a wi fi connection, with the choice of one hour or 24 hours, and even then it is only in the bar and foyer area, not available in your room, so arrivals/departures/noisy children/conversations/music compete for attention. The Hilton Group just seems stingy and very old fashioned with its outdated internet connection policies.

Room Tip: The room we had was fine, on the ground floor, but obviously the higher floors with.views over the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for letting others know of your nice experience at the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik. I regret that you were disappointed with your internet connection. At this moment we are in process of implementing wireless internet throughout all the building which will be free of charge in all public areas. It was a pleasure for me to read that you were very happy with our accommodation, hotel location and that you were satisfied with our Team member’s effort.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik experience.

Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are in Dubrovnik for the old town and not the beaches, then the Imperial Hilton is the place to stay. We had a sea facing room ( took an executive suite) with a balcony and room was superb. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was served on the patio and was very good. The service was attentive with staff extremely helpful. Not cheap, but no hotels in Croatia are really, ans Incertainly feel my money well spent.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room with a sea view. So sad if you do not. Pay up a bit extra if you need to, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to receive your kind comments.
It is indeed a pleasure for me to note that you enjoyed the Hilton Imperial experience and we are very proud that our friendly and efficient team members met your expectations!
Once again, thank you for your visit and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another visit!

Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
286 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Dubrovnik is a lot of hype about 'not much'. The old town needs a couple of hours to visit including the city-walls walk. It is worth visiting ealry morning (in summer because then it gets too hot) and in the evening for a different night-perspective.
The hotel is perfectly loated. The shuttle bus drops you off a couple of 100 metres away. Mind you the shuttle then picks you up from about 1km away so if you are travelling with a lot of luggage at lunchtime in summer prepare to be soaking sWEaT!

Room Tip: Inform them you do not want a room in the adjacent building as some of my colleagues had this kind o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFC_ASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmargaretic, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Imperial for your stay in Dubrovnik and for your kind comments. Thank you for complementing our location and the benefit of being so close to the airport shuttle drop off location. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Imperial in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vlaho Margaretic
PR Manager
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Property: Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing