We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like I was on the Riviera!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, a historic property, is an exquisite jewel. Just a few hundred feet from the entrance to historic Dubrovnik, it was an enjoyable luxury. Regular room was huge & staff was very helpful & friendly. Hotel pool/spa area was a wonderful treat. Drinks on the balcony overlooking the walled city entry was a highlight, but you have to ask staff to make that happen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miseno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are pleased to hear you found the staff and the services to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
KRISHANTA DAMUNUPOLA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a long time trying to decide whether we wanted to stay in a small boutique hotel within the walls of Dubrovnik or stay at the Hilton. We were happy that we chose the Hilton. We heard the noise at night while in the streets of the old city and were confident that the noise level at the Hilton were so much less. (This was winter time. We can only imagine that the noise level in summer must be so much greater.) Our room was in the building to the north of the main building and provided a very quiet stay. When we did open the windows in the morning, we could hear the little children at the pre-school across the way, but that was the only sounds we heard from our room.

The hotel is such a classic, built nearly a century ago. Renovated today, it still provides an ambience of the Riviera. With views of the water, the walls of the old city and the surrounding mountains, this hotel still retains a romance not associated with the smaller hotels in the old city.

The location is also a plus. The hotel is just a half a block to a block from 3 grocery stores, the taxi stands, the bus stops to all parts of the city, the tourist information office, three of the best restaurants in the area (Dubrovnika and Nautica are two) and Pile Gate - the entrance to the old city. Just around the corner east of the old city (about a 10 minute walk) is a gondola which will wisk you to the top of the mountain for views of the city and the beautiful Adriatic Sea.

This hotel has much better location then hotels like the Bellevue, which we also considered. The Bellevue is a much further walk (maybe a 20 minute walk farther) to the old city and the restaurants.

Our thoughts on what you may have read about restaurants in the guide books - La Dolce Vita has the best sweets including gelato, Lokanda is over-rated offering limited entrees, Gusti is a find and Dubrovnika has some of the best views of the water and city walls-- all within a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Let me say “ Thank You” for your review,
We were delighted to read your review and very pleased to hear that your experience with us was an exceptional one.
Guest reviews of this nature will definitely motivate & help the team to achieve higher standards, which will in turn enhance the guest experience.
Once again we thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you and would love to welcome you back to imperial in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is possibly one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The location is perfect for sightseeing being less than 5 minutes walk to the main gate into the Old City. Rooms are very spacious and clean and we were upgraded to a room with balcony and pleasant views over the city, and a partial sea view if you craned your neck, a nice place to chill with a drink in early evening. Unbelievably this historic hotel was very severely damaged by bombing in the war in the break-up of Jugoslavia in the early 1990s, but is has been superbly and sympathetically restored to its original glory, when you see photos of it burning after the bombing you would not believe it is the same place.
Service from everybody in the hotel was impeccable, and all the staff were happy and smiling at all times.
We had breakfast included in our room rate and there was an incredible choice available with even more options of dishes made to order by request at no extra cost?
Free wi-if was also provided which was good for a quick check on English news sites etc to keep up with what was going on elsewhere in the world.
We found one of the best reasonably priced restaurants was Dubravska, just a very short distance from the hotel just outside Pile Gate, excellent choice of food at very reasonable prices and lovely friendly staff! A 2 course evening meal for 2 with drinks at less than £40 is great value in a tourist destination.

I would suggest if you would like to understand exactly how bad the war was take a trip up the cable car and visit the Homeland War Museum in the Napoleonic Fort Imperial, it will open your eyes to how bad it really was, we had no idea from UK news, spend an hour or so there, it is a very sobering experience!

Overall a lovely hotel and a fantastic city in which to spend a short break, but go "out of season" to avoid the masses that erupt out of the many cruise liners that visit in summer, we were told it is almost impossible to move around at that time of year,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.


Sincerely,

KRISHANTA DAMUNUPOLA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very good hotel adjacent to Pile gate at Old town, Perfect location for old town and access from airport on shuttle bus to Pile gate, costing 35kn each. Only problem is you cannot get back to the airport on the shuttle bus easily, which means taxi at 280kn. The hotel is 5 star although i would rate 4 star based on room and breakfast standard. Dinner meal quality in the rest is 5 star. Plus the staff are definately 5 star being very friendly and helpful, as is every one in Croatia. I would revisit this hotel again particularly if my visit to Dubrovnik is a short city break.

Room Tip: all rooms have reasonable views .Those not overlooking the old town have good views to the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.


Sincerely,

KRISHANTA DAMUNUPOLA
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. location is great, 5 mins walk from the old city and all the major attractions Dubrovnik has to offer. Rooms are very spacious and clean. service with a smile from all staff who are only too happy to help. breakfast was plentiful and tasty. free wifi throughout albeit a little temperamental. Lots of good restaurants close by so we did not eat dinner in the hotel. thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanchia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Dubrovnik .

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Amazing, just a few steps away from the old town. Amazing service, amazing building, great staff. Highly recommendable. The rooms were massive, and the bed was like being in the sky. The only bad thing, is that there is no free internet in the room but is just like 13€ for 3 days internet (not expensive at all anyway).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Borja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Let me say “ Thank You” for your review,
We were delighted to read your review and very pleased to hear that your experience with us was an exceptional one.
Guest reviews of this nature will definitely motivate & help the team to achieve higher standards, which will in turn enhance the guest experience.
Once again we thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you and would love to welcome you back to imperial in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I loved my stay at the Hilton Dubrovnik - in fact, so much, that I am coming back again in 2014! The location is perfect...a 3 minute walk into the city center. The staff was SUPER helpful, the hotel was beautiful...I can't say enough good things! We upgraded to the Hilton Club, which was great - free breakfast and cocktails at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah8711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Dubrovnik .

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £220 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing