We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed by our least favourite Hilton yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Imperial having stayed at the Hilton Bomonti in Istanbul 2 nights earlier and it was like going from an Audi to a Ford. Sure both do the same job, but one does has a style and finesse that the other can’t match.
On arrival there was a noticeable lack of staff presence to greet us and help us with our luggage. The front desk staff were friendly, however every time we saw them they seemed flustered by the presence of guests and ringing phones.
The hotel is an old building, fitting with Dubrovnik’s old town surrounding, and it doesn’t really try to be anything other than that. Sadly, it lacks the character and charm that other older hotels in Croatia have, such as the Esplanade in Zagreb.
The rooms were fine, clean and like all Hiltons have good beds and pillows. TV channels were limited which seems to be the case in Croatia. But if you like the news or American Dad voiced over in German then you should be happy.
We had access to the executive lounge and this was one area that the really hotel let itself down. We felt that this was a depressing space that was not conducive to relaxing and the older lady with short hair, who watched your every move, didn’t help things. Although, it should be said that the other club staff were all welcoming and friendly. The snacks in the evening were very good.
When we stayed here my husband and I were celebrating our 9 year wedding anniversary and the hotel acknowledged this be giving us 4 small squares of cake. The same cake that we had access to in the lounge for free! Again comparing this to the previous Hilton that we stayed with it was underwhelming. In Istanbul we had our room upgraded which then gave us club access, we were also given a personalised cake and a bottle of Turkish sparkling wine.
If I try to find positives about this place the first thing is that the breakfast was good. Some rooms and the lounge have good views and the location is close to the old town. However, my advice would be to choose a different hotel just out of town, such as the Radisson Blu. Here you can enjoy the same area but also relax at a resort and then do a day trip to the old town. They will also organise trips to the Elaphiti islands and Montenegro.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,
We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Dubrovnik .
Whilst apologizing for the inconvenience, please be informed that, we have noted your constructive feedback and areas mentioned will be rectified in due course.
Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future

Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

A beautiful hotel ideally located by the entrance to the Old Town. Not a typical Hilton, this hotel has style and elegance, matched with exceptional Croatian service. The breakfast is good, with the facility to eat on the veranda, the bar service great with the opportunity to sit on the balcony terrace, and the rooms clean and well proportioned. Bar food was very good, with prompt service. The only draw back is some rooms have a limited view, and the standard rooms on the smaller side. It is therefore worth upgrading for a superior room with a view.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a superior room / view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeztwyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Dubrovnik .

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future

Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great stay at the Hilton. Perfect locations, so close to Old Town and bus station. Excellent room, stayed in the villa part of the hotel. Breakfast on the terrace was fab, amazing choice and exceptional service. Lobby bar great for a drink in the afternoon. Were given a breakfast box on our last day as we checked out at 4am. Pastries, fruit, yoghurt and juice. Fab! Free wifi in communal areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraturner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Dubrovnik .

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future

Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as it is located mere minutes from some of the main attractions in the city. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the other facilities (gym/spa) were useful. My only criticism would be that ground floor rooms are dark with no view whatsoever, and despite it being 2014 you had to sit in reception to use the free WiFi.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lolapoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
I take this opportunity to say “ Thank You” for an excellent review.
We are pleased to hear that, we lived up to your desired expectations and you walked away with pleasant memories of your holiday in Dubrovnik.
Whilst humbly accepting your compliments, we would like to thank you for the constructive feedback given, which in turn will immensely assist us to improve the guest experience in the future.
We would look forward to well come you back to Hilton Imperial in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed five nights in this excellent hotel. Perfect location with everything on the doorstep. The service was outstanding, both before we arrived and throughout our visit. We had a good sized room with a wonderful view and they still leave a chocolate on the pillows. The breakfast selection was extensive and continually topped up and attentively served by cheery staff. The lounge bar was a great place to relax when the weather turned and the prices were less than the cafes in the old town. Free wi-fi was great to have too. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Let me say “ Thank You” for your review,
We were delighted to read your review and very pleased to noted that your experience with us was an exceptional one.
Guest reviews of this nature will definitely motivate & help the team to achieve higher standards, which will in turn enhance the guest experience.
Once again we thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you and would love to welcome you back to imperial in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location, helpful staff and a wonderful place to return to after walking around Dubrovnik. The hotel is just outside the old town and no more than 5 minutes from Pile Gate and 25 minutes from the Cable Car. The Spa was truely exceptional and made a great finish touch to our short break away. Would recommend this hotel strongly and made a great base to visit Dubrovnik and surrounding areas

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to complete the review on TripAdvisor,

We were delighted to read that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered at the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for selecting us for your stay in Dubrovnik .

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik in the near future

Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here in early April for 3 nights with friends and had a lovely time. The hotel is very close to the Pile Gate entrance to the Old Town, there are a few restaurants close by too.

The rooms are large and comfortable. The bed is one of the most comfortable we've slept in and the pillows were great too! Complimentary water was a nice touch and was replaced daily even though we had only put it in the fridge!

The spa area was very good and the treatments on offer were very reasonable although we didn't manage to get an appointment as they were fully booked.

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was good - lots on offer including cooked, continental and local ham and cheeses. The restaurant never seemed to be occupied for dinner but this may be due to the large number of restaurants within walking distance!

Would recommend visiting Dubrovnik and would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Kaz&Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Let me say “ Thank You” for your review,
We were delighted to read your review and very pleased to noted that your experience with us was an exceptional one.
Guest reviews of this nature will definitely motivate & help the team to achieve higher standards, which will in turn enhance the guest experience.
Once again we thank you for the opportunity given to us to serve you and would love to welcome you back to imperial in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Krishantha Damunupola
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £223 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing