We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great City Hotel”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Great location next door to the Old Town. Restaurant was delicious for dinner with fresh food and gourmet dishes. Room was Ok, nothing special. Very much a city hotel with no beach or outdoor areas to relax.

  • Liked — Food was great
  • Disliked — Bed was not very comfortable
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,221
    648
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
564
1,593
159
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I completely agree with the two previous reviewers. I booked this hotel based on the glowing reviews on this site and the recommendation in the Rough Guide saying that it had been 'sympathetically restored'.

If they think that sticking a supermarket style revolving door on the side and an aluminium and glass conservatory (very 80s) to the front is sympathetic, I don't feel I can trust their or this site's judgment any more.

I simply cannot rate this any higher than okay/average because of it's price and star rating. The service and cleanliness of the property should be a given for the £300 that we paid. There was nothing that exceeded in any way. Yes, the staff were friendly, our bed was huge, the room was spotless, but surely, that's to be expected?

I don't usually stay in Hiltons but only went for it based on reviews as mentioned and the location which was great following a night out in Dubrovnik.

We did eat in the restaurant as part of our one night package and have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed the food - it was excellent.

So to sum up if you like salmon pink walls/80s decor, piped pan pipes, Hilton branding everywhere, meeting rooms at every turn and £8 for a glass of wine, then this is the place for you...

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Over Priced
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thegaddabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

As already mentioned this has an excellent location just outside the Pile Gate. The aspect of it is fantastic but there was just certain things just 'not right'.

I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member and was therefore upgraded to a room with a fantastic sea/city view. waking up in it and looking out onto the sea was just spectacular, and the terrace was enormous.

The Executive Lounge was excellent also, and unlike some was open all day. A young lady called Marjana was particularly helpful and charming.

However, what REALLY let it down was the bar closing at midnight. Now I am not sure whether Croatian law does not allow bars to be open beyong 12, maybe they do, but to switch on the main lights as if they are clearing a nightclub at closing time was galling and rather patronising. I was also informed by another guest who I was speaking to that it was nigh on impossible to book a spa treatment.

Overall, a potentially excellent hotel, spoilt by small irriations. But at £250 per night they should not be present.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the early closing of the bar
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigboots_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We felt really disappointed with our stay at the Hilton.

What was good:-
- The location. the hotel is just a few minutes walk from the north gate
- The staff were all very friendly and welcoming
- The parking was convenient and not terribly expensive (at around $USD 40 per day) given the location

What was bad:-
- Room - 'Garden View' room on the ground floor faced a wall. It was dark and dreary. We refered to it as 'the dungeon' during our stay
- Atmosphere - The hotel was accentuated by excessive pan flute versions of every bad 1980's love song. The average guest was age 60+
- Breakfast Buffet - Was totally packed with people and felt like a Vegas style all-you can eat competition

Other comments:-
Don't expect this hotel to live up to its star rating. If you do, you'll be disappointed. I'd give it a 3 star rating a 4 at a push.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank snowbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This is an excellent hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms were perfect. The breakfast was brilliant. All the staff were very helpful. A particular mention needs to go to the concierge, who couldn't do enough to help us. He organised many activties for us and had lots of useful advise, and a friendly smile.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Hilton Dubrovnik

Stayed here in the Hilton for a week .

Just an overview on the hotel it is the best located hotel in Dubrovnik near the Pile gate at the entrance to the Old City .

On arrival rooms that we were offerred I was not happy with but every effort was made by the Duty manager Sandra to come to a satisfactory solution which we did eventually. She was very hospitable and freindly throughout our stay and a very good ambassador for the Hotel .

Hotel is the oldest in Dubrovnik having first opened in 1898 but you would never be aware of this as it has been completely and tastefully renovated with lovely bright colours.

While the facilites are good the most outstanding point about the Hotel are the employees who are unfailing helpful and willing to please - this in a country where good service is not as noticeable.

A few observations -

Internet is very expensive at approx €10.00 for an hour over a 24 hour period - there are other options available but these are equally expensive.

Additionally the Restaurant is also expensive for what you get ,one dish Chicken at about €25.00 does not make sense in this location .

Concierge is very knowledgeable and helpful

Breakfast has a nice slection on offer in the self service buffet and most people are seated outside in the sunshine - Toaster needs to be fixed quite time consuming and often broken.

If you are a HHilton Honors member like I am dont expect any recognition - as a Silver member I thought that while staying for a week some gesture would be made but nothing. Upon enquiring the hotel only recognizes Diamond Members !

Overall a good experience and a Hotel that I can recommend to anyone wishing to be in a great central location in Beautiful Dubrovnik.

  • Liked — Spacious nicely decorated rooms
  • Disliked — Price of Internet access
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aust12345
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton Dubrovnik for part of our Honeymoon.
Easy booking online. Easy check in. Clean rooms. View out to the sea and the old town.
Location was great for the old town. The staff at the front desk were very helpful.
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay, and the hotel contributed to the excellent experience of Dubrovnik (we were there in winter).

  • Liked — Great location.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aust12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,017 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,495 reviews
2.4 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Property: Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing