We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2009

great location just outside old city walls. spacious and clean room with large balcony.
found staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant had just closed when we decided to eat about 11.30pm but the restaurant manager suggested we chose from the menu and they would deliver our meal to our room. The staff set up a dining table on our balcony, served our food and poured our wine it was a lovely way to end a hard days travelling. The staff in the executive lounge were also very friendly and made us feel most welcome. We both really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxinewaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,524 - 2,530 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2009

My husband and I visited Dubrovnik for our 1st wedding anniversary and just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. The Hilton is a stunning building literally steps from Old Town (there are no hotels within the city walls). Our room, a King Executive, offered spectacular views of the city/sea from a spacious balcony. The room itself had plenty of room for our needs as well as plenty of storage for our clothes/baggage. Our bed was quite comfortable. Housekeeping, not normally something I would notice, was absolutely impeccable. Also, the rooms are incredibly soundproofed -- noise from the street as well as from the hotel was positively eliminated once we shut our balcony and room doors. The local newspaper (one day we read the NY Post!) printed out on newspaper-sized paper and hanging from our doorknob each morning, was a nice touch.

If you are not familiar with the area and are looking to plan any day trips, I recommend using the concierge. He was a terrific resource and helped us plan our day trip to Montenegro.

My husband's Hilton status gave us access to the executive lounge, which allowed access to the manager's reception (more on that, below) and free breakfast. The Executive Lounge offered a quiet place to eat breakfast, which included an assortment of breads, meats, cheeses, and fruit...but most importantly, an espresso machine. If you prefer eggs, french toast, and the like, there is a restaurant downstairs that offers full buffet breakfast (Hilton VIPs receive a discounted rate of around $8 USD).

A word about the happy hour here: you have to be careful or else it is what I like to call "a night-ender." I'm not completely sure when they bring out the (self-serve) booze, but I recall going up to the Executive Lounge at 4pm for a mineral water and everything was already set up. (Most Hiltons have happy hour lasting only two hours, say from 5-7pm.) Basically you can sit up there for hours, drinking away (for free) and meeting other guests on the gorgeous balcony, >> and no one will judge <<. Although the hors d'oeuvres are not quite as great as the other 5 star Hiltons we've visited, they worked just fine. Each night they had little treats of meat, fish, cheeses, and vegetables. The service up in the Executive Lounge is excellent (Paula and Marjiana in particular, who offered terrific advice on sights and restaurants). Happy hour ends at closing time, which is 11pm.

I will create a separate post on restaurants, but as long as you're reading this one, our favorite one was Mimoza, which is right across the street from the hotel. Never in a million years would we have tried it if so many people had not recommended it to us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelnHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This Hilton hotel is centrally located at Pile or the West gate to the old, walled city. The bus from the airport has a stop at Pile (to the airport, the bus leaves from the main bus terminal at the harbour and does not pass Pile). The hotel building fits perfectly well with the other buildings around. Due to its central location, rooms are not absolutely quiet and some traffic noise can be disturbing until late.
Information from the reception staff was not always correct. They insisted on helping us carrying our luggage to the first floor because there would not be an elevator from the reception to the first floor - although there was. The concierge explained that the schedule of the airport bus would be distributed to the hotels one day before but, the schedule which depends on the particular weekday was available with his colleagues at the reception.
We enjoyed our breakfast with a great choice of cold cuts, pastries and fresh fruits outside on the terrace of the Porat restaurant. Dinner here is excellent, too. We had a half-board arrangement every other day. The know-how of the chef to prepare our mouth-watering dinner (except for the lamb cutlets, which were very well done and tough) was much better than in the restaurants in the old town.
Three suggestions: La Dolce Vita has the best homemade ice cream in town, the 14th century villages of Ston and Mali Ston merit a visit (one hour and a half by bus) and lunch in the New Captain's is a perfect treatment and there is a walking trail along the coast from Srebreno to Plat (but, a few hundred meters along the main road) and from Obod to Cavtat and continuing to Cilipi.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mundus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Superb location just outside the city walls so 2 minutes walk into the city. Most rooms have a balcony with view of the walls and the bit of sea between the fortress and the city. Good spa with decent sized pool, gym, sauna, steam etc.Refurbished complete (about 3 years ago I understand) and kept in immaculate condition. Standard rooms large with LCD, tea and coffee, ironing board. Upgrade to Exec rooms gets you even bigger rooms and entrance to Exec lounge and free drinks, but standard rooms are perfectly adequate. Bathrooms good lighting, with thermostatic showers, good towels. The staff are smart, professional but also really chatty and friendly. Only downer is you have to pay for internet - get real Hilton! Breakfast choice is superb - hot and cold. Meals are pricey but you've got 100 restaurants within 5 minutes - although there's a lot of average restaurants. In the city the better steak is probably at Domino and fish at Proto. For better fish avoid the overpriced Nautika and travel 10 minutes by taxi or bus to Glorijet next to the fish market at the New Harbour. In summary Hilton is the Best Hotel in Dubrovnik by far.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurofanwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My wife and I with our baby just stayed for a weekend at the Imperial Hilton in Dubrvnik. The hotel met or exceeded our expectations on all fronts! First of all, the service was excellent. I had contacted the hotel ahead of time to make arrangements for a special occasion, and they had arranged everything perfectly - and not only had they provided the flowers and the sweets that I had requested, but they had upgraded us to a suite and thrown in a bottle of wine and rose petals all over the bed! The pre-arranged airport pick-up was seamless and comfortable and well worth the 45 Euro (a regular taxi is 35 Euro). On arrival our room was awaiting, with all the treats and a baby bed in place already. The front desk was efficient and warm, and the hotel was sparkling clean, with a remodeled interior, inside of a grand old hotel building from the Austrian Empire.
The hotel itself is about 100 yards from the entrance to the old town and is EXTREMELY convenient. I completely agree with some prior comments - spring for the "plus" view so you look onto the sea and old town together. It is a marvelous and romantic vista.
Breakfast each morning was delicious, and my wife was particularly happy with the selection of foods that included not just meats, but plenty of other options at the buffet, not to mention made to order eggs, pancakes, and French Toast! We also had room service one night and the quality of the food was high there as well - but keep in mind also how close to town this hotel is so how easy it is to eat at any number of restaurants in town.
Housekeeping did an excellent job in our room and my wife was particularly impressed when she saw the maid scrubbing the bathroom on her hands and knees - just as part of the daily cleaning! The bed was indeed very comfortable, and we do not say that easily. The Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were very pleasant and plentiful. The pool looked welcoming, but we did not use it on this trip - and a pool like this is a rarity for an old grand hotel so close to an historic old-town. The spa looked small but pleasant, and offerred a number of treatments.
Overall this hotel far exceeded my expectations. I want to extend a special thank you to Mr. Vedran Cikato, the concierge, for arranging everything so perfectly.
This is definitely a special HIlton, and a great choice for lodging in Dubrovnik. It is not inexepensive, but the cost is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed one night here on the last night of a trip around Croatia and Montenegro. We originally booked a standard room, which would have been in the seperate building next door. Although this room looked excellent, we took an upgrade (for €60) to an Executive room. This had a balcony with a good view of the old town. The room was huge and the bed was the most comfortable one we had on the whole trip, bliss!

An executive room gave us access to the executive lounge on the top fllor, servinf free drinks and snacks all day until 11 pm - one or two night caps here paid back that €60 upgrade in no time! This room also has a stunning balcony that has a great view across the town and coast.

The indoor pool was a real plus too, excelletn way to cool off in the heat and was hardly busy the two times we used it.

I have stayed at many other Hiltons throughout the world and this one is up there with some of the best. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This Hilton has a few problems- 1. staff, 2.no outdoor pool.
Otherwise- great hotel. You cant find a better location in Dubrovnik; its 3 minutes walk to Pile; entrance to Old City and Stradun.
Wellness is too small; rooms as you would expect at Hilton- very good.
Food a bit to pretencious, IMHO.
Ih you can afford it and want to enjoy Dubrovnik Old CIty; pick Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankyslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £223 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing