We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place in Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A lovely place in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 20 July 2007

I am always amazed when contributors to this website (including ones commenting on this hotel) complain about the service not being up to the standard of other places. What does that mean exactly? Are they saying that all service should be the same whether it be in Fiji, Norway, Italy, Russia or London? Surely surely not! It brings tears to my eyes at the thought of such tedium!…. Every country has a way of doing things which is ‘different’ – isn’t that why we travel?

At this hotel we found the service to be excellent and attentive at the front desk (including the porters), the bar and the breakfast room. Those were the only service people we dealt with during our stay. We were there as part of a conference so am not sure what sort of room we had but I would describe it as understated ‘classy’ quite large and extremely comfortable. It was located in the annex beside the hotel and had no vista which was not a bother because of the hotel’s great and convenient location. The bathroom was of a very high standard and the shower worked perfectly. There was a variety of nice things to eat at breakfast....and most importantly for us - the coffee was good and plentiful.

We are looking forward to returning and spending more time in this beautiful country of Croatia and when we stay in Dubrovnik we will be more than happy to stay again at this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — the position and quality
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CiaoMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,113
    615
    129
    32
    17
See reviews for
520
1,527
152
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Hilton Imperial: Dubrovnik
Date 12th july 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the fabulous Hilton Hotel Dubrovnik.
We upgraded to an exec room and were lucky enough to be given the most wonderful room. It was large well decorated and extremely comfortable. But to top all that was the most fantastic balcony(enormous) with the most beautiful views of the old town.
Next door to our room was the exec lounge which without a doubt is the most generous we have stayed at. Wine beer soft drinks tea coffee and food all day and spirits(should you wish) from 8pm. The breakfast was ample but you can eat in the main breakfast room if you wish. The staff in the lounge were very friendly and pointed you in the right direction when it came to dining in the evening.In fact hunt out restaurant Orhan across the road from the hotel and down a small street. The food is lovely and the prices reasonable(be sure to book). It is on the small harbour edge underneath the fort. The hotel is very close to the old town which is beautiful and surprisingly small. The gym and pool area are excellent(indoor).
Yes the Imperial is a first class hotel in a beautiful city .

  • Liked — Good sized rooms and great balcony.
  • Disliked — Bathroom a bit small
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Yungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Firstly the good points:

Agree the location is excellent
Balconies and views are lovely BUT ONLY IN EXEC PLUS ROOMS
The Exec. Longe is pleasant and generous in the availability of drinks but it is not as good as other Exec. longes I have visisted in terms of the range of food and the servixce
It is a beautifully restored building

Negatives:

The rooms are not great...comfortable and functional but in no way luxurious or stylish
The buffet breakfast was below standard for a hotel of this alleged class
The service was poor...not dreadful just a bit unprofessional and occasionally incompetent

Overall decidely average and overpriced ...and I am happy to spend on hotels...not awful but apart from the exterior and location pretty mediocre...disappointing

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not up to scratch for class
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Veryfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

The hotel, its staff, the accommodations, breakfast, the reasonably priced massages, manicures, indoor pool and saunas are just top of the line. Ask for the executive plus room perks. You may have access to the 24 hour executive lounge where there are plenty of free snacks and beverages. Cocktails are included in the evenings. Nice way to unwind after a long day of exploring.

Located just steps away from the Pile gate entrance to the Old Town. This medieval fortress is fun filled with endless restaurants and shops to easily waste your relaxing days away in. Don't forget to walk the ramparts of the wall. You can scale the stairs and do the full walk in an an hour and a half. Cost about 20 kuna but worth the view. Notice all the brightly tiled roof tops. These are the rebuilt buildings after the last communist war. So cool!! These Croats love Dubrovnik, adore tourist, and speak fluent English in most parts of the city.

Also located just 1/4 a mile from the hotel is local beach access named the "south-west" beach by the natives. Just ask the hotel concierge or the bartender (like we did) and they kindly fill you in with full detail.

  • Liked — The executive plus rooms have perks and great views!
  • Disliked — No complaints loved it!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claverdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We have just spent a most wonderful week in Southern Dalmatia, based in Dubrovnik at the Hilton Imperial.

Needless to say we booked it after all the rave reviews here and because it is so close to the old town.

Arriving at the airport we had thought of taking the Atlas bus into the Pile Gate but it would have been another half hour before it left
so we took a taxi for 30 Eur.

The drive into town is spectacular along the coast road. Driving in town is no fun though. Lots of one way streets, very narrow and nowhere to aprk when you do get there!

The hotel is everything people have written. We decided to go the extra and have an Executive Plus room.

This was on the front, on the first floor above the bar area and overlooking the dining terrace. It also gave us access to the Executive lounge which had snacks and drinks from 7am to 11pm. Breakfast to 11am, then appetisers and wine/beer to 8pm then spirits/
wine to 11pm. The views from the front of the hotel are "to die for".

The street outside is noisy because buses come from the new part into
Pile and then back out again. The double glazing meant that this wasn't a problem though.

Sitting on the balcony, which gets the sun until 7pm, was a great pleasure - just watching the world go by.

There were bathrobes in the room together with all expected amenities. TV has CNN, Sky News and BBC World amongst others.

We had breakfast in the Exec lounge and down in the terrace restaurant. Both were fine.

We had one meal in the restaurant and, I'm afraid to say it was a disaster - hence the almost perfect. My first course was luke warm and the waitress brought the wrong course for my main!

Not many others were there. Mainly half boarders. Most people go into town!

Restaurants we do recommend are: above all others the Nautika. Expensive but for location and quality it cannot be beaten. Also the Orhan. Good food, good company and a lovely location. The Proto in town. No views, nice terrace and good food. We also ate at the Ragusa
2 in town. It was not good.

Trips:
We took the boat to Locrum - lovely island, very peaceful. We hired a car for 4 days and visited Korcula via the peninsula and ferry. The
ferry takes abot 26 cars and goes every hour. Korcula is beautiful.
We went to Cavtat just south of Dubrovnik and found a lovely spot to sunbath and swim. Mostly rocky places everywhere. We also went to Mostar in Bosnia to see the rebuilt bridge. Beautifully done but the signs of war are still everywhere.

Dubrovnik is bad for parking but the hotel charges 200 kuna a day, so it saves all the hassle.

We used the indoor pool once. It was OK. Didn't use any of the spas facilities.

We had a most memorable time.

  • Liked — The location, views, lounge, service
  • Disliked — The restaurant for dinner
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

My wife and I took our son and daughter with their respective partners for a week to this wonderful hotel. I can't praise it too highly. My wife and I had room 427 which had a superb balcony with views over the city rooftops. It was worth paying a little extra in order to gain access to the executive lounge where delicious complimentary snacks and drinks were available to us.

The breakfast is very good and all the staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Dubrovnik itself is a beautiful compact city and whilst there aren't sandy beaches, there are secluded rocky coves to bathe from, some of them with bars.

Boat trips are a must, we had lovely days on Cavtat and Lockrum.

If you're going to Dubrovnik, then stay here - other than an outdoor swiming pool, it has everything most people would want and it's in an excellent position close to the Pile Gate into the Old Town.

  • Liked — Ther balcony and view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DavoRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

This was an excellent hotel - a true 5 star experience. Great staff, fabulous room, fantastic breakfast. Only down-side is to avoid the restaurant as it is overpriced with very small portions.

  • Liked — Classy hotel with nice staff
  • Disliked — Evening meal in the restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babserella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Property: Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing