We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel exellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed at the Hilton for 6 nights at the end of August 07. We booked an exec room and the one we got was excellent - on the 4th floor with a balcony and beautiful views over the sea and the old town. Our room was at the side facing the town which is preferable to the front which overlooks the road. The staff were lovely although they gave an inital impression of dourness (made us feel right at home!).

The room was exellent with all the usual stuff. The exec lounge was pleasant and served drinks and nibbles all day. Breakfast could be taken in the lounge or the main restaurant. We chose the main restaurant - more choice and we could sit outside.

This is not a hotel for a beach type holiday - no outside pool, no sun loungers etc, but if you want a beach holday I can think of lots of better places than Dubrovnik. Some even have beaches.
The hotel is 100 yards from the entrance to the old town which is what we came for.

Excellent eating at Nautica, Arsenal ,and if you want a quick pizza the Domino by the church of the same name was fine. Dubrovnik itself is beautiful but gets very overcrowded when the tour boats are in town. Musts include walking the walls, the cathedral and the two monasteries. There are lots of concerts in the churches etc - we managed one which was an hours worth of enjoyable light classics.
Lokrum is a great escape with a pleasant cafe (great iced coffee)and restaurant (excellent pasta) and lovely walks.

Cavcat was so nice we went twice. Great walks round the bay - Leut restaurant was terrific for a long liquid fuelled lunch. Took a walk over to the Excelsior hotel just round the bay from the Hilton which seemed very pleasant. Hiked in to Lapad/Babin Kuk which didn't impress me at all.

Would highly recommend the Hilton and Dubrovnik for sight seeing, a bit of culture, sunshine, and some lovely walks

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,614 - 2,620 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2007

Stayed here for a long weekend at the end of May using Hilton points. Upgraded to a smart exec room with balcony at the side looking to the walls, not at the front, which is set back in any case.

Breakfast was included and was perfectly acceptable. Had a bar snack additionally whilst staying also ok.

The location is perfect and allowed a quick retreat when the heavens opened. Also quick access to the old town, the main point of coming to this fantastic city.

A personal emergency was professionally and sympathetically handled. All staff we encountered were fine.

Did look at other properties but was glad to have picked this one regardless of payment method and would happily stay again if I am lucky enough to return to this city

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

This is a great hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here. And what a BRILLIANT location. Right outside gates to Old Town. Service was extremely freindly. Staff were incredibly helpful especially in light of fact we had a little demanding toddler. They organised an excellent babysitter for us who we used most evenings. Also the chef in the hotel restaurant was more than willing to accomodate our fussy toddler's eating needs by making a few of his favourites especially for him. Not one bad thing to say about this hotel - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RitsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

The outside of the hotel is beautiful and the lobby is clean and nice. The first small room they tried to give us overlooked a shoddy stone wall and was cavernous. When we complained, wonderful Sandra quickly 'upgraded' us to a much bigger room in the building across from the 'main' building where we had a nice view and three large windows. The room was very large, fairly plain, but had everything we needed. Breakfast was great. Happy hour 2 for 1 was good. The staff was helpful. The pool (only indoor) was small but fine for a quick dip. Overall I'm probably more conflicted about Dubrovnik than the Hilton. The hotel is only a quick walk into the old city and the sites, but friends staying in the Dubrovnik Palace seemed to have made the real score. 15 minutes away by bus this was a posher resort hotel with a great outdoor pool, other pools, direct access to the sea, and decent food. If you only have one day in Dubrovnik and only want to play tourist, do the Hilton. If you're looking for a longer stay and want to swim and enjoy the sea, definitely go to the Dubrovnik Palace.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank baltorich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

The Hilton Imperial is definitely not a cookie-cutter glass and steel high rise. The hotel occupies a historic building and is a mere 3-minute walk to the gates of the old city. Our room on the executive floor had a partial view of the Adriatic Sea; unless the view is essential, I don't think it's worth the price upgrade. Service from the front desk is very attentive. The room and bathroom are modern and nicely appointed. Breakfast in the courtyard is your typical buffet with both cold and hot offerings. We didn't use the indoor pool. It was much more pleasing to take the local bus to a nearby beach and be outside swimming in the Adriatic Sea. If you want a luxurious location close to the old city (which is where all the action is in Dubrovnik) then the Hilton Imperial is the best choice. If you want immediate access to and/or views of the sea then stay at one of the luxury hotels further removed from the old city.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TrapezeFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

WOW.. That is the words I can use.. What a nice place, the history alone of the building makes it so worth it.. The Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik is housed in a 19th century building, situated 100 metres from the beach and and the city's historic Old Town. Mediterranean-style guestrooms have wood and marble finishes; all are air-conditioned (and it pumps some nice cold air) There is complimentary access to the hotel’s health club which comprises a sauna, steam room, pool and 24-hour gym. The pool is indoor, but with a glass roof. I was in a corner room with a very nice balcony and one heck of a view.. The sea, the old city, the rocks.. WOW!! the staff was grade A+++++ helpful, friendly, and with a tie to the city it was nice to chat with the folks who just love Dubrovnik. The city is the best, and staying here made my vacation so so nice. 5 Stars, in Croatia at some places I have stayed lacked something.. This 5 Star is the best I have been to. You do get what you pay for.. there is a price tag for this, but well worth it.. The breakfast was also so good.. If you are thinking about going to Dubrovnik... YOU HAVE TO! I would stay at this place over and over! All I can say is wow!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank dcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

...........an outdoor swimming pool! Nothing beats a cool dip after a day wandering around a hot city. Unfortunately, Hiltons generally only have the hot and humid indoor variety and the Dubrovnik outpost is no exception. This might make us think about staying at one of the four or five star hotels with an outdoor pool, but further out of town, next time we visit this lovely city.

This would be a shame, as this Hilton was otherwise perfect.

We had a 'Grand Executive Plus' room which was effectively a suite. It was very spacious and occupied a corner at the front of the hotel with a large private terrace wrapped around two sides of the room. The views were great and the room was well appointed and quite stylish in a modern way. This wouldn't suit those who like an older, classic style of furnishing and decor.

The location couldn't be bettered, just outside the Old Town which, as far as most people are concerned, is Dubrovnik.

The public areas are very pleasant and the service was good, apart from being asked to eat breakfast inside because "there are no tables available outside" when there clearly were.

Apart from breakfast, we didn't and wouldn't eat at a Hilton because the food, as in most large chains, is predictable and average.

We would highly recommend the Cafe Royal at The Pucic Palace boutique hotel in the old town for a first class meal with great service and ambience, particularly if the weather is good enough to eat outside.

There are also some cool bars hidden down a couple of alleys off Placa and a great little place for an afternoon drink perched on the rocks between the sea and the city walls. It is very difficult to find, I never even knew it's name, but easily spotted from the top of the wall on the far side of the town if doing the city wall walk (a must, in our view).

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
175 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £220 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing