We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygiene leaves much to be desired. Avoid.”
Review of Hotel Sumratin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sumratin
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hygiene leaves much to be desired. Avoid.”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stayed here, having read mixed reviews. On a positive note, the hotel is in excellent location in Lapad- close to beach and other lovely hotels and restaurants.Hotel Kompas has great music at night and very reasonable foods. Rooms in Hotle Sumratin are sufficient- plain and basic.Don'touch the food though! While having breakfast, I witnessed the waitress wipe some scrambled egg BACK INTO THE SERVING DISH :( I reported this to manager, despite his reassurances, I was not refunded for meals not eaten in this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    34
    48
    32
    23
See reviews for
19
62
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We booked this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find in Dubrovnik. We weren't expecting much based on the reviews and the hotel website, however as it isn't a cheap hotel (over £60 a night) we did expect more than we got! We've travelled a lot and this hotel is definitely NOT good value for money.

The whole hotel is really dated and in desperate need of a refurb. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was depressing! The toilet stank and the tiles in the bathroom looked like they hadn't had a thorough clean in years. The shower hose didn't fit the fixture so you had to hold it to shower and the sink base wasn't attached to the bowl. The towels were rough and had seen better days. The interior of the room was dark and dingy. Bed linen was cheap and nasty as was the furniture. Overall feeling that the room was dirty. The only plus side was the air con unit which worked perfectly!!

Breakfast is included in the room rate but it's probably best to avoid! The fruit juice was watered down and there was never any fruit on offer. It's also served in a dreary dining room that has seen better days!

Staff were friendly enough but not overly helpful - we didn't bother complaining as we only stayed for as couple of nights and only slept in the hotel but we go the impression that nothing would get done about it even if we had complained!

The hotel is centrally located in the tourist district of Lapad and the bus to Dubrovnik is only a 5-10 min walk away. However, Lapad is a really tacky, Croatian tourist resort and I wouldn't recommend staying here as it is full of amusement arcade style games, over priced restaurants, etc...The beach is good for swimming, especially for kids but it gets overcrowded and isn't very picturesque.

The best value restaurant in the area is outside of the hotel Sumratin BUT this doesn't belong to the hotel!

We've stayed in budget hotels in India that were 100% better than hotel Sumratin and I would recommend that you don't waste your money staying here. Dubrovnik is expensive for hotels but there seem to be a lot of B&B rooms that you can rent which would be better value for money and much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonBezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
cheltenham UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This hotel gives decent accommodation at a reasonable price. It is in the Lapad area, on the main pedestrianised route down to the Lapad beach. There is a bus stop about 100 metres away, and about a 10 minute 8-kuna bus ride to the old city gate (the buses can get very crowded). Plenty of reasonably priced bars and eating places close by.

The hotel looks a little shabby from the outside, and the rooms are a little dated, but all the boxes are ticked, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, quiet at night. The buffet breakfast is provided in the cavernous dining room, and while not a gourmet's delight will not leave you hungry.

Note that some rooms have balconies. The balconies on the first floor are a decent size, with room for a table and chairs, but on the second floor where we were they are tiny and not worth having.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malky-moo-moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2009

This hotel is very basic and the rooms are in need of a major facelift. However, our room was clean and had a nice balcony. The only problem was with the television, which did not work, and it took over 24 hours to borrow one from another room (even though plenty of rooms were unoccupied). The hotel is in a great location: three minutes walk to the beach and, in the other direction, to the bus stop for the Old Town, and a few yards from a lovely pedestrian promenade full of decent bars and restaurants. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbieRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Although the hotel is basic, the reception staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Unasked, they carried cases to our room upstairs when the lift was broken (it was fixed within 2 days). When no taxi responded to a phone call, Dragon from reception drove us to the bus station in his own car. Other receptionists were likewise pleasant, polite and helpful. There was a TV in the bedroom (this has not been the case for other guests) but the choice of channels was limited.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Leprecaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

You get what you pay for in Dubrovnik but if you don't need anything more than no frills accommodation (at least it's ensuite) then this would do. nb the rooms didn't have a tv when I visited there - not sure if they do now. Lots more hotels have opened since I last visited Dubrovnik so I'd probably look further afield before staying here again.

  • Liked — low price
  • Disliked — no tv in room
  • Stayed September 2003, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in June of 2006. The room was decent and clean, though definitely no-frills, and the hotel is in a great location for the price. There are plenty of bars and restaurants outside and swimming areas a short walk away, and the bus to the Old City was a quick walk. The hotel employees were extremely helpful and nice. Our room did not have air conditioning, though the big windows helped to keep the room comfortable for the most part. The included breakfast was substantial. I'd recommend this place as a good bargain overall.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PetuniaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Micika
Villa Micika
#46 of 68 in Dubrovnik
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#59 of 68 in Dubrovnik
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#47 of 68 in Dubrovnik
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sumratin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sumratin

Property: Hotel Sumratin
Address: Setalliste Kralija Zvonimira 31, Dubrovnik 2000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sumratin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sumratin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumratin Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing