We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world style”
Review of Hotel Sumratin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sumratin
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
northeast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old world style”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Sumratin is well-located in the tourist hotel area and I liked it's old, sort of run-down Eastern European charm, which may not be for everyone. The balcony was well worth the extra money, as it was really pleasant to hang out there and listen to the music at night. It also makes up for the fact that the rooms are really small, and I mean, SMALL. All in all, a good choice for a short stay.

Room Tip: get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    34
    46
    31
    23
See reviews for
19
60
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel left positive impressions in me. Location is very comfortable - 5 minutes walk for beaches (the are also picturesque wild beaches), also it's near bus stop. Staff is amiable. Dinners are very tasty :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGaregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was travelling on a vacation with my wife and another couple of friends.
we stayed at this hotel last July . its a small and friendly hotel, the staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and the location was very good.there is a nice active no cars street just next to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountaintrecker
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of Šetaliste kralja Zvonimira which is the main pedestrianised street in Lapad. The hotel on first appearance seems very posh. It had a nice reception area and traditional looking bar area. The rooms however are a different story. The plug sockets are literally hanging out the walls with bare wires exposed. In fact on one side of the bed there wasn't even plastic shielding around the socket, the plug went straight into the wall and sparked when moved. This hotel would be shut down in England and fined for such fire hazards! The beds were comfortable, air con worked fine (although that was connected to the multiadaptor which plugged into the socket with no protective shielding). When we came back to the hotel after enjoying the nightlife the door was locked and there was no signed stating where the bells was or no details of an emergency phone number. Fortunatly some lads were having a drink in the hotels beer garden and they phoned their friend who worked there and he let us in. We were then showed the bell which was hidden under a load of vine! Breakfast was very minimal, basically small choice of cereals, cheeses, egg, sausages,bread / toast, jams and coffee. Good enough for us though as we were only staying the one night. On checkout we asked if we could leave our luggage as we wern't flying until early evening. The lady at reception told us they had nowhere to keep people's luggage. I literally had to beg her explaining our last day would be ruined if we had to keep our luggage with us. Eventually she let us keep bags in the reception. I've never known any hotol, b&b, hostel, or apartment owner not do this for us before. Sumratin is a large hotel and it's hard to believe they haven't got a room where they can store people's luggage. Surely people ask them to do this all the time. Needless to say if we come back to Lapad we won't be stating at Sumratin again.

Room Tip: Check the sockets in your rooms and also if you want to avoid nightlife noise, sleep at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountaintrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you prefer to stay in there, I strongly recommend to bring some pillow and blanket with you. Not only because you can find yourself while sleeping on garden chairs because of the BUGS in your room, but also there is nothing to do with ancient tv in the room include resting. I DO CALL my memory "reality show in 2013" about Dubrovnik just because of the hotel. Yes, I spent my night on the garden chairs. Do not hesitate to avoid staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinemBireller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A disgusting hotel with dangerous BUGS! Not only just one room but several rooms!! We wanted to change the room, even the hotel, but they did not care!!! So we had to sleep in the garden! We take this matter to the court! Prof. Dr. Engin Ulukaya, Turkey. PS. I can send the pictures to anybody interested in this issue.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulukaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Hotel Sumratin of course is not a luxury place, but I found it almost prefect. Pleasant, quiet. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are fine. The buffet breakfast is quite OK (except for the fruit juices which are not good). The only minus point is that you have few channels on the cable TV, only CNN in English and none in French.
I only paid 31 euros for one person on booking.com and, at this price, it is recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Micika
Villa Micika
#46 of 68 in Dubrovnik
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#59 of 68 in Dubrovnik
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#48 of 68 in Dubrovnik
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sumratin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sumratin

Property: Hotel Sumratin
Address: Setalliste Kralija Zvonimira 31, Dubrovnik 2000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sumratin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sumratin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumratin Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing