We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zagreb
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

To look at you'd think this would be a very expensive hotel but you'd be wrong. It sits on a quiet pedestrianised street in beautifully maintained grounds only a 15min bus ride from Dubrovnik old town.

Our room was in immaculate condition. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was excellent with something for everyone and the best coffee we had in 10 days in Croatia. Free parking is available. The very frequent bus service to Dubrovnik old town is only 2mins walk away. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and the waterfront area 5mins walk away is worth exploring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank horacethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    138
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
223
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Hotel Zagreb is in a magnificent pink building like an 18th century palace. It has a great terrace for eating, drinking or just sitting in a garden setting. It is on a road which is for foot traffic only and is lined with trees. We loved this hotel, The staff were exceptionally friendly. The room was of adequate sized with a great bed and lovely clean bathroom (however, the carpet and paint work in the room could be improved). We ate fish for dinner at the hotel and were very pleased with the quality of the meal. The breakfast was also very nice. The hotel is away from the old city but it is easy to get there by bus and it is also nice to get away from all the cruise ship passengers in the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mez-of-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Rooms are right size, some are smaller. Breakfast is quite good. Staff is wonderful. Clean to the spot. The only issue is a bar that decided to paly club music at night - so the rooms facing the front entrance may be nosy, mainly on weekends during summer season. The walking boulevard of Lapud beach is full of restaurants and shops, and the hotel is a short bus drive away from old town.

Room Tip: Prefer the back rooms if the club is still operating when you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFormiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last week after a month of group tours and it was a wonderful place to be and re-charge. Not situated close to the Old Town (no cruise ship crowds here), its a 2min walk to the bus stop and a 15-20min bus ride to the old town and also same travel time on the bus line to main bus station which is handy if you are arriving or departing by bus.
Situated on a pedestrian walkway with restsurants, bars, other hotels, beach, walking paths and tennis courts right at the door or just a short walk away.
Friday and saturday nights can be a little noisy but not too disruptive at all, just a fun vibe. That said if you are one that needs things completely quiet then this may not be the place for you.
I loved it, good breakfast buffet, super friendly staff, good coffee, clean and very well presented property. Feels more than it's 3stars. Would not look any further on a return visit to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJsthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a lovely hotel. If you book enough in advance, try to get room 31. It's right at the top (no lift) but worth it for the HUGE balcony. It has lovely views, although the room and bathroom was pretty small (and no fridge).

Make sure you don't pay more than 270 Kuna max for the taxi from the airport (we paid 250 Kuna for the taxi back).

This hotel isn't in the centre. At first I wasn't sure if this would be wise as we wanted to see the sites,, but actually worked out very well. The hotel is in the Lapzad area which is really relaxed and lovely. Lots of little cafes and restaurants off a main pedestrianised street. We got a bus into the centre which took about 10 minutes. It was very easy and we were quite grateful after a day of walking around to be able to come back to somewhere a bit calmer and less touristy!

Overall - great location, nice staff and great balconies (if you get a room on the top floor!)

Room Tip: If you book enough in advance, try to get room 31. It's right at the top (no lift) but worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here with another couple. on arrival the receptionist gave us adjoining rooms. These rooms were on the ground floor behind reception and were clean and bright with High ceilings. The air con worked well and kept our room comfortable. We had a minor problem with the shower, which we reported to reception on our way to breakfast on our first morning. on returning to the room the issue had been rectified.
Breakfast was good, with a reasonable selection. we ate on the terrace, which was lovely and very relaxing. The Great thing about this hotel are the staff. The receptionists were Friendly, polite and extremely helpful, whilst the staff in the restaurant were attentive and polite throughout our stay.
The Hotel is situated in a prime position in Lapad, a short walk from the beach and a ten minute stroll to the harbour. There is a bus stop two minutes away,where the number 6 bus will take you to the old walled town of Dubrovnik in ten minutes. This is well worth a visit.
The hotel Zagreb is welcoming and an excellent choice for visitors wishing to visit Dubrovnik/Lapad, without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Let's get the bad things out of the way first. Breakfast is not good. Coffee is passable but orange juice from concentrate doesn't cut it these days.
The shower cubicle will be a tight squeeze for any one larger than a size 14.
On the other hand the building and gardens are beautiful, fantastic location, hotel is very clean and well cared for with beautiful marble stair case and corridors. The rooms are plain but good size and very clean and comfortable.
The food in the restaurant is fine, not brilliant but certainly a lot better than other tourist restaurants.
The staff are excellent, the building itself is probably from the 1920s or earlier and the staff have a lovely old worldly style of being very polite. It's officially only 2 stars, I assume the lack of a lift loses it a star, but it's nearer 3.5. Oh there's a good wine list of local wines too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caitlin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 68 in Dubrovnik
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zagreb

Property: Hotel Zagreb
Address: Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin 27, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zagreb 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Zagreb Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing