We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was appalling and so was the service”
Review of Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zagreb
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food was appalling and so was the service”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

If you are hungry, and want a decent meal, then this is NOT the place to go. The food was dry and cold. Bruschetta was old cold dried bread; The tuna was so dry, I was going to give it to the cat who was roaming the grounds! We wondered why the table before us didn't tip ... and then we realised - we didn't either. Definately worth missing out on!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahclaireLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    132
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
33
216
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week and could not really find any real thought's with it. The price is approximately £60 a night with breakfast, which is average for the area. It's a lovely looking early 19th century mansion hotel with nice grounds and in a great location, the staff are all friendly and helpful. Overal I really liked it and would reccomend staying there if you visting Durbrovnik and intend getting out and about.

Mike from Surrey, England

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TUGSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip to Dubrovnik and the Balkan region in October-November 2009. I originally had the reservation for another company hotel (Sumratin) very nearby, but since it was closed, I was informed well in advance via e-mail that I would be changed to this hotel. Instead of staying in 30 euro a night hotel, I ended up staying here (50 euro a night).
Hotel was good. A nice looking mansion type hotel. Room was clean and modern. Breakfast was ok. Wireless internet/internet access in the lobby are available for a small cost.
Location is by a walking street near the beach with lots of restaurants, a few kilometres from the famous Dubrovnik old town (and the bus station by the harbour), but buses run continuously there and back.
Since the hotel is also close to residential areas, there is a shopping centre with restaurants nearly in the backyard. Restaurants there are very decent priced and worth seeing because of the local lifestyle.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkusMalahide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Pretty hotel with a nice outside eating area overlooking a garden and pedestrian street. We chose this this because of the elegant setting, however, the food was somewhat disappointing and the service was not special.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Outside very pleasant pink villa conveniently situated in suburb of Lapad for taking no 6 bus into old town. We had to carry our cases up 60 steps to 3rd floor despite having booked through Inntravel many months earlier. There is no lift. Room 31 which we were told was ours was tiny and very dark although had a hugh roof terrace. The only alternative after pressure was another dark slightly bigger room on the 2nd floor. Next morning we awoke to find ants in our bed and having summoned the manager were offered and accepted a corner room on the 2nd floor with 3 windows. Breakfast was unspeakable, cold fried eggs floating in oil, no fresh juice only squash, appalling coffee. Don't bother.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestMidlandsDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Nice appearance from the outside but the interior is a bit dated. Functional staff lacking warmth or friendliness. The restaurant attached to the hotel is a franchise and not an integral part of the hotel - food good in the restaurant but service poor. Good location on Lapad Penninsula but 10 minutes from old town by taxi. On pedestrian street about 5 minute walk from beach past several bars and restaurants - quite pleasant area. Only stayed one night and would not choose this hotel for a base for an extended period to explore Dubrovnik. Be warned the breakfast buffet was extremely poor lacking in both quantity and variety. A request for coffee was refused with no explanation offered. IMPORTANT: There is no lift in this three/four storey hotel so it is unsuitable for travellers with mobility difficulties.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SullaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Hotel staff, in particular a female receptionist were rude and unhelpful. Chamber staff were very noisy early in the morning. Room was very noisy, largely due to the open corridors leading to the wide stairwell above reception. Breakfast was absolutely terrible; poor choice (e.g. no fresh pastries) & what there was was very poor in quality (coffee was disgusting); service was also bad. Despite having breakfast included in the price, we went down the road instead for our second morning.

Redeeming features are its convenient location (very near bus stop to old town, on promenade with bars & restaurants, near supermarket), free parking, OK-sized rooms & well maintained; but none if this is enough IMO to justify a <€100/night tariff. This would be good value @ >=€50/night, no more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeventySix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 67 in Dubrovnik
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#22 of 67 in Dubrovnik
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
354 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#39 of 67 in Dubrovnik
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zagreb

Property: Hotel Zagreb
Address: 27 Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zagreb 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Zagreb Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing