We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Getting a bit tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Getting a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Dubrovnik in late summer, get a nice four star hotel was the intention. Bit disappointed though, Dubrovnik and Lapad Bay where the hotel is situated brilliant, hotel getting a bit down at heel, room at the back looking at a cliff, air-con was either full on or off and noisy, carpets stained that sort of thing. Restaurant nice but pity about the food, and not ripped off on prices. On the brighter side pools great, position great, staff really helpful in most respects. We had a great time and met some great people who were of the same opinion mostly, shame really perhaps the Uvala is due for a refit.

Room Tip: Essential to get a sea view room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we truly appreciate your opinion and your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    180
    59
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
266
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here for a week and can offer nothing but praise. Any complaints are simply about personal preference and therefore not reasonable to commit to this review. Hotel well placed with easy walk to Lapad and to the beach. Staff are all friendly and helpful and all, shamed to say, have good English. Room was of a good size at the back of the hotel. Not much of a view but the money saved can be used to have coffee and beers. Bathroom of a reasonable size with an efficient shower. Breakfast and evening meals are very good with a good selection of food. I would think something for every taste. Hotel generally clean and well cared for. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very happy to see these great comments about our staff and breakfast and dinner offer.

We hope to see you in our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at this Hotel a couple of years ago. but go back just to vist every time we cruise to Dubrovnic, always the same welcome, then we go down to the street and vist the bars, always the sam friendly staff, We also went on the boat trip to the islands and the Captains for lunch would recommend to anyone. First class holiday, and lovely people, feel very safe there.

Room Tip: go for sea views on the, 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

no matter how many times you visit us, you're always welcome to come back again and nothing will change to worse. We will always keep our standards high especially in the area of guest satisfaction.



Thank you and till the next time we meet again.

Kindest regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel was recommended by the travel agent and it was perfect. The view from our balcony over Lapad Bay with the mountains as backdrop was awesome. The food in the hotel was so good we did not even think of eating out for a change. It was buffet breakfast and dinner but the choices were amazing - something to suit all tastes, meat dishes, fish dishes, vegetarian dishes plus wonderful salads, breads and fruit. The staff in the hotel were excellent as well. Very friendly and helpful. All in all a memorable holiday plus of course the old city of Dubrovnik was only 15 minutes away by bus and the bus stop was right outside the hotel and the buses ran every 15 minutes from 6 in the morning till 2 the following morning. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: All rooms have Air con so ask for one wit a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very happy that you chose hotel Uvala for your vacation in beautiful city of Dubrovnik.

Guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us. Your great and positive comments about hotel, food choices, and especially hotel staff make us very proud.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My sister and I arrived an early hot Sunday morning from Medjugorje and were ready to relax after our pilgrimage!
It is clear that the Hotel Staff prioritise the comfort and safety of its guests. Each member of Staff was extremely attentive. The ladies in the restaurant were particularly efficient and helpful. The Manager should be especially proud of the Staff. The rooms are lovely, meticulously clean, spacious and cool with great sea views. The food is excellent and both evening meal and breakfast are akin to a feast, as much as you might want to make of it.
This is a lovely hotel, busy yet pleasantly quiet when you just want those days to relax.
Very much recommended!
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

your opinion is very important to us and very proud of these great comments about our hotel staff.

Thank you and we hope that you will return to our hotel.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRID
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel enjoys a modern interior design with free wifi in the reception area and free internet (unfortunately only with cable) in the room. The swimming pool (15m long, 7m wide) lies in the sun and offers a partial view of the sea. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Mario, the receptionist quickly arranged reservations at the best clubs, recommended bars and restaurants, as well as other hot tips. Bus tickets (about 12 Kuna) can be bought at the reception. Taxi to the airport costs about 230 kuna.
The breakfast buffet is extensive, with fruits, cereals, rolls, puff pastry, scrambled eggs, sausages, hams & cheese etc. Freshly squeezed orange juice must be ordered separately. A la carte food is delicious. I recommend the octopus salad, Pag cheese (in Croatian, Paški sir, a specialty), the red seafood risotto, spaghetti with seafood or a fresh fish.
The gravel beach is across the street (you just go through the Hotel Vis). Sandy beaches are scarce in Dubrovnik city, but the water is crystal clear. The Lapad Bay is good for swimming and if you want to enjoy the sunset on the beach you can go to the other side of the bay. At the beach you can rent pedal boats, jet skis,etc. There is also a large floating water castle for children to climb. Approx. 10-minute walk from the hotel is the dive center Blue Planet (http://www.blueplanet-diving.com/de/) and a bar with a great view of the sunset (Hotel Dubrovnik Palace). Bus ride into the center takes 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with views of Lapad Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadridMarco_polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very glad to see that you were satisfied with your stay in hotel Uvala. It is a great pleasure that you enjoyed in our food and meal selection.

Thank you for your recommendations to your friends and family.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGS LYNN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Small hotel with great staff who really made you feel welcome. We stayed in room 415 on the top floor and the views were fantastic.
The room décor was a bit old but it was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The air con was also a god send and didn't switch off as soon as you left the room, which meant the room was beautifully cool on your return.
Breakfast was buffet and very good with lots of choice and good coffee. Dinner was also buffet and was OK but not great. After a week we were struggling to find something we wanted to eat that wasnt fried or some sort of stew. The wine and drinks in the hotel were also a bit pricey.
There are lots of restaurants close by so B&B would have been a better option than 1/2 board.
The swimming pool was a good size and was never crowded and the staff in the spa were happy to lend you towels at no cost.
Very good location with the bus stopping right outside to take you to Old town, be warned it gets very busy and you may have to stand for the 15min journey.
All in all a good hotel with fantastic staff.

Room Tip: get a sea view room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacnstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

We are very proud of all the positive comments you made about hotel staff.

We hope that you will return to our hotel again and will will make sure to be enjoyable one.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#26 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing