We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, easy to get to Old Town”
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, easy to get to Old Town”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel two nights. My ocean front room was very clean. It was great to sit out on the balcony and also to see the ocean while laying in bed. Easy 10 minute bus ride to the old town and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. The free breakfast was average at best. The food was a bit bland and it would be nice to offer fresh orange juice.

My only complaint was that in October, the area was very quiet at night (which might be a positive for some) and there were not options for getting a drink in the late evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
A guest satisfaction is our top priority.
With friendly and helpful staff, along with a wide food selection, we will do our best to maintain a quality stay for all our guests.
Hopefully see you again in our hotel.
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    192
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
41
290
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days before a longer stay further up the coast. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is excellent - there's a bus every 20 mins to the old town which stops very close to the hotel and the beach is about 5 mins away on foot. The hotel offers a buffet for breakfast and dinner - both were very nice with a good range of options available. The Wellness centre offers a good range of relaxing treatments and I enjoyed a massage and facial combo at a very good price. The restaurant/bar area has a lovely view out over the bay and with the outdoor pool just there provides a very pleasant place to while away an hour or two. I'd definitely go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for all your kind words for hotel staff and for hotel overall.

We are very glad that you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in hotel Uvala again.

Best regards,

Pero,
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel was clean and staff were friendly, however, the heated indoor swimming pool, wasn't, the sun beds were old, the bathrooms new and clean, however the bedroom décor dated. the meals of the half board were ok but nothing exceptional. No entertainment in the hotel, not even music at the very small bar. All drinks with meals had to be paid for even water. mostly guests were just passing through so only stayed a couple of nights. TV in room but not a lot in English, no entertainment around hotel except the local cinema, which was very modern and films in English with Croatian subtitles. The bus service into the Dubrovnik old town was just outside the hotel and ran to time and good value for money. Good for just a few days break but not for your main holiday.

Room Tip: The road leads to a dead end but there is still a lot of buses and delivery trucks during the day, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190811Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

the "heart and soul" of our hotel is our staff and we are very happy that you were satisfied with them.

All the suggestions and comments are truly appreciated and will help us to improve in the future.

Hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely week in Dubrovnik, staying in this great hotel. We upgraded to the sea view, which is well worth it, as the views from the balcony are awesome. The views in the evening were magically too with all the buildings across the bay all lit up and reflecting in the sea. Our room was spacious and kept very clean by the hotel staff. Food was very good with lots of choices available for breakfast and the evening dinner buffet. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Very easy to get into Dubrovnik on the no. 4 bus which stopped right outside the hotel, going every 15 mins. Bus ride took about 10 mins, and was never overcrowded. All in all a fantastic stay at this hotel, and will defiantly get back, as Dubrovnik is a wonderful place to visit. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cazziebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

it is a pleasure to read these great comments about our staff and hotel in general.

We are glad that our food selection met your expectations.

We are very proud of your recommendation for our hotel.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but spent a day in the Spa, highly recommend it. Lovely service and very friendly. The steam room wasn't working and apparently hadn't been for about two months. This was a shame as that was an attraction of going. It was clean and an excellent massage. We were allowed to use the pool upstairs and also they didn't mind us having a bottle of fizz poolside. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

although you haven't spend your vacation in our hotel thank you for using our spa and wellness services. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your visit and staff kindness.

Thank you again and we hope to see you sometimes in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent location with lovely views from front facing rooms. Housekeeping service to rooms friendly and efficient. Breakfasts offer good choice. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Hotel pool area good for relaxing after sightseeing though not spacious and can be noisy as close to the main road. Bus service to old town from outside hotel runs on time and allows you to visit old town at night to eat and enjoy the town when quieter. Eating in the Lapad area can be a hit or a miss so choose carefully. Lovely walk along the peninsula with great views.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing and on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for all the kind words for our hotel staff and hotel in general.

We truly appreciate your opinion and we hope to see you in our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Wonderful staff and location. The rooms were fine and the food was plentiful and of a good quality.
Would thoroughly recommend staying here and we will probably return next year.

PS Dubrovnik Old Town is something else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrighty111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for your hotel Uvala and Dubrovnik recommendations, it is a great pleasure for us to see this.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#31 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing