We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Uvala

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at The Uvala in September for a great fortnight holiday. We found everything and everyone great. The room (although a little dated) was comfortable and always cleaned to a high standard. We went half board as we had a good deal with 'Thomson's' expecting to eat out, but the food and service was good so we didn't feel the need. This is an ideal base to visit Dubrovnik, the near by Islands, Bosnia and Montenegro. Trips can easily booked in Lapad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DevonDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you were satisfied with our hotel, staff and food selection in our gastro offer.
We do hope you will choose our hotel for your next visit to Dubrovnik.
Best regards,
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    180
    59
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
266
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

4 star hotel booked through Thomson's. Pictures looked great but reality was different. Reception area was a let down very sparse looked a bit like a building site. Rooms were adequate and thankfully we had a sea view even if it was obscured by the trees opposite. Hotel looking a bit tired and could do with refurbishing.

Restaurant was ok but breakfast very bland however evening meal was varied with plenty of choice.

Bar adjoins restaurant but has no atmosphere.

Staff very friendly and helpful no complaints there.

We are seasoned travellers having staid in hotels world wide of different ratings and I have to say the Uvala does not hit the 4 star mark I guess it has this grade due to the spa facilities which we did not use.

We wouldn't stay there again and not for those with walking difficulties as it is quite a walk to get to the sights,having said that the local bus stops right outside and is frequent and cheap.

Room Tip: Request room on higher floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calloway11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your opinion.
Compliments to hotel staff always make us very satisfied.
We will do our best to overcome all possible imperfections in our hotel.
We hope that you will choose our hotel for your next visit to our beautiful Dubrovnik.
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spend our short 5 day honeymoon at this hotel. The rooms were good size and clean. We did request a double bed and it took a day to get us moved ot another room but they did. Great location, bus line runs out front and all the recommendations from reception were excellent. Also we used the spa service and were very pleased with them. No internet in room made for more intimate and face time with my husband :)

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room - i highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspasia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your kind comments. We do hope that you will spend your first anniversary at our Hotel Uvala. We welcome you!
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

we stayed in hotel uvana oct 2013 for 1 week rooms on the back are ok a bit dark no sun due to rock face and trees food buffet is good ,
staff friendly and helpful bus stops outside hotel and beach, bars ,restaurants 5 min walk away mainly older couples staying there
when we were there but nice friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
A guest satisfaction is very important to us and that makes us very happy.
Thank you and please visit us again.
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I visited Hotel Uvala the last week in October, I believe it closes on the 27th October for the season. The hotel is clean, well run and the food is very good with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. The staff are friendly and professional in work. The beds are comfortable and furnishings good. The TV has the usual CNN but no other English speaking programmes during the time we were there.
We stayed in Room 403 facing the wooded area at the back, you needed the lights on during the day but we had sun on the balcony up until 3pm ish. Quite a good choice as it happened as the rooms at the front of the hotel facing the bay don't appear to get the sun at all.
As previously mentioned on other reviews the bus stops outside the hotel and the walk to the bar area is around 5-10 minutes.
We didn't bother with the Thomson trips as they are just too expensive, instead we used the Alfa Travel Agent shop next to the Cashpoint about 50m down the road from the hotel, on the right hand side. Their trips to Mostar and Montenegro were half the price of Thomson's and were very good. I can recommend the full day 3 Island trip with dinner at the boat captains house is well worth the 200 Kuna charged by Alfa Travel even for the meal alone cooked to order by his mother.
Would I return ... yes I would, a very enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel, that way you get the sun for part of the day. The rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you were content with your stay in our hotel as well with a food selection and additional services we offer.
Dubrovnik as a destination is very interesting to visit in any time of year, therefore please do come and visit us again.
Best regards,
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel two nights. My ocean front room was very clean. It was great to sit out on the balcony and also to see the ocean while laying in bed. Easy 10 minute bus ride to the old town and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. The free breakfast was average at best. The food was a bit bland and it would be nice to offer fresh orange juice.

My only complaint was that in October, the area was very quiet at night (which might be a positive for some) and there were not options for getting a drink in the late evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
A guest satisfaction is our top priority.
With friendly and helpful staff, along with a wide food selection, we will do our best to maintain a quality stay for all our guests.
Hopefully see you again in our hotel.
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days before a longer stay further up the coast. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is excellent - there's a bus every 20 mins to the old town which stops very close to the hotel and the beach is about 5 mins away on foot. The hotel offers a buffet for breakfast and dinner - both were very nice with a good range of options available. The Wellness centre offers a good range of relaxing treatments and I enjoyed a massage and facial combo at a very good price. The restaurant/bar area has a lovely view out over the bay and with the outdoor pool just there provides a very pleasant place to while away an hour or two. I'd definitely go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for all your kind words for hotel staff and for hotel overall.

We are very glad that you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in hotel Uvala again.

Best regards,

Pero,
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#26 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing