We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing holiday in a smashing hotel!”
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smashing holiday in a smashing hotel!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent 9 nights at the hotel from 28 May and enjoyed them all. It's a smallish hotel, well maintained and with a great staff. Very comfortable and relaxing for me as a solo woman traveller. I really enjoyed the two pools - one indoor one out - most of the time I had them to myself but that might have been because the water was cold!

I paid extra for a sea view and had a room on the top floor - worth it for the fantastic views and the sunsets. The room was large and comfortable, well laid out and spotlessly clean. Coffee making facilities would have made it even better.

I stayed on half board and have no complaints about either the breakfast or dinner buffets. Nothing like cordon bleu but lots of choice, well prepared and the opportunity to try local specialities.

Hotel Uvala is part of a group of four hotels all close to each other in Lapad Bay. It's the only 4* in the group. I think the extra cost of that and the size of the hotel make it more suitable for adults which suited me.

I'll go back!

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view across the mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Any guests’ comments are very important to us, but the positive ones, make us very proud.
You are always welcome in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    189
    71
    16
    9
See reviews for
39
286
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Uvala for 4 nights. It's a decent, well run and efficient hotel similar to many others in the vicinity. Desk staff were friendly if reserved and the bar and restaurant staff were excellent if a bit chaotic. Rooms were modern resort style but the view from the balcony was terrific. I found the restaurant to be definitely mediocre although breakfast was good, this was out of season so things may improve later in the year. It's a bit of a way from the old town and you need a car or take the bus from just outside, it runs frequently and the desk staff can sell you tickets. You can get down to the sea, although the beach is pebbles, and there are bars and the like just down the hill and round the corner. There's also a big supermarket and cinema about 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are glad you were satisfied with our hotel staff kindness. We consider they are the soul of every good hotel. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in beautiful Dubrovnik.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Returned on Sunday 18/5/14 following two weeks spent at the Uvala Hotel.

My wife and I were accompanied on the holiday by our 40 year old son. The room we were given was large enough for our needs. The large double bed was very comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep. The bathroom was very nice, good size with a shower over the bath. My son who was accommodated in the room opposite had a large double bed and a walk in shower.
The towels were changed daily. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and we thank the chambermaid for this. We used the safe, for the storage of valuables and this was located above the mini bar. This was provided free of charge. In addition to the mini bar, three bottles of water were provided on a side table and replenished as necessary on a daily basis. We would like to point out that these bottles of water are charged for when used. There is no notice stating this. Normally, I have always found that anything in the mini bar has to be paid for but what is provided outside of it is free. It would be helpful if the hotel placed a notice along side the drinks making this clear to new guests. We had a sea view room which had a balcony allowing for up to three chairs and a small round drinks table. The view from the balcony afforded a lovely view of the sea and the distant hills. We occupied room 311 on the 3rd floor. My son's balcony afforded a view made up of trees in the distance. Sea view room well worth the extra money.

The dining room is well laid out and there is sufficient space between tables to allow comfortable seating space. Breakfast and the evening meals are buffet. We always found the food choice to be very good. Ample salad bar, range of vegetables, various meats, fruit and different cakes. Cooked items were always hot and we never had to wait for items to be replenished. Fried eggs did not feature of a morning, but when we asked if they could be provided to us, they were supplied immediately and on the next day we were asked if we wanted them. Tables were cleared very quickly. Sometimes we came to the dining room five to ten minutes early and we were always allowed to enter and select food items. After our first day at the hotel we thanked the restaurant manager for allocating us a very nicely situated table. The next day and thereafter we found that the table had a reserve notice with our room numbers on it. Outside dining hours one could obtain tea / cold drinks / snacks etc from the hotel at a modest cost. Leading off from the indoor swimming pool was an indoor area with tables and chairs. Within that room was a shelf with books left behind by previous guests - most of the books were in English.

A quarter of a mile from the hotel is a modest size supermarket which is well stocked with food, drinks, delicatessen, fruit, china wear etc. etc. You name it, it had it. Out of the hotel turn right, 2 hundred yards down, turn right again and it is immediately on your left. Next to it is a bakers with fresh rolls, pastries, and a limited range of rolls with cheese salami etc in them.

The reception manager and her team were very efficient and helpful. Assistance was always forth coming and nothing was too much trouble. At the end of our holiday we fancied a trip to the three islands off the Dubrovnik coast line. We were unable to contact the Thomson rep. by phone to arrange it. The receptionist made the necessary phone call to the Thomson representative Diana and as she could not provide the tour that day, the receptionist on her behalf took the booking / money and made the necessary arrangements etc. on the spot.

The outdoor swimming pool is of modest size and consistent with an hotel of 52 rooms. At the time of our arrival it had no water in it, but at the time of leaving the hotel it had been renovated and in use. Lack of an outside pool was compensated for by an in door pool which had a glass roof and the warmth thereby generated by the sun made one feel as if you were outside in the sun. There was also a Jacuzzi, but we did not use it. Water, pool and surrounding area spotlessly clean.

The coast line is a ten minute walk from the hotel. One can walk along it and have views out to sea.

The Dubrovnik old town can be reached by the number 4 bus which stops immediately outside the hotel. Tickets at a discounted rate can be obtained at reception. One can use the same bus ticket as many times as you want so long as it does not exceed one hour from the start of the first journey to the start of the last journey. Takes approximately 20 minutes to the old town. We did not afford ourselves of the opportunity to partake in the guided tour of the old town and cannot therefore comment on its value.

We undertook three tours put on by Gulliver tours, acting as agents for Thomson. We went on the trips to Montenegro, Mostar and Korcula. All reasonably priced and well worth going on. Additionally, as stated above, we went on the three Islands trip, again well worth the time and money.

This is our fourth holiday in Croatia. We have always felt safe, got good value for money, the people are helpful/polite and most of all never pestered by beggars or people coming up to trying to sell cigarettes wallets etc.

I would like to provide one tip about the use of the safe. The guidance for use states - enter pre-set security numbers and press enter when opening / closing the safe. In our opinion this is not strictly correct. What it should say is enter security numbers, press enter and when the green light appears turn the knob on the front of the safe to the left to close and to the right to open. If you fail to do this although the door will be in the closed position the lock will not have been engaged.

To summarize the most important feature / strength of this hotel is the customer focused attitude of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. They adapt to meet the needs of the paying guests and not the other way round.

Our stay at the Uvala was a most pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea facing room on the third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MatthewSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are truly thankful for your detailed review about your stay in our hotel.
We are very happy you were satisfied with our hotel staff, food selection and with hotel in general.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards to you and your family.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here while traveling the Balkans recently. The hotel had a lovely room with a brilliant view of Lapad Bay. The room was spacious and was cleaned every day. The staff on reception were also really easy to talk to and very helpful with general Dubrovnik advice, checking bus times and phoning a few local tour operators on my behalf. As mentioned the bus stop is right outside and is only 5-10 minutes to Stari Grad. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Conall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Uvala and its staff.
We are especially pleased that you wish to visit us again.
Greetings from Dubrovnik.
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Uvala hotel. We were slightly anxious as we had a new baby with us, but the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

We stayed on the second floor and had a lovely view of the bay! The room was clean and nice and spacious. The bathroom was clean and had a nice jacuzzi bath.

We stayed on a b&b basis and for us the breakfast was good. Although there are no fresh pastries, there is a really big selection from fresh fruit, cereal, bacon and eggs.

For the price we paid I thought this was a very good hotel. There is a bus right outside the hotel which takes you to Dubrovnik and the promenade is 500m away where there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

Really good holiday!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your lovely comments and kind words.
Best regards to your entire family and hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely hotel and a very pleasant stay in Hotel Uvala. The staff were pleasant and very helpful especially Matko the night porter. He was very friendly every evening before we went out and when we came in. He was also very helpful. Wellness centre was really nice, we got a pedicure and massage between us. The lady was really nice and very good. Food was not four star quality however, breakfast was ok nothing special. We were on half board so decided to eat in the hotel one of the nights but it was quite cold and not that fresh as it sits out on the buffet between 7 and 9 so it would be best to get down straight away at 7! Great location in a quiet area with the bus stop to old town right outside the hotel. It is the number 4 and is 15 kuna each (€2). It only took 10 mins. Fabulous stay in a beautiful place

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view. It is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GallA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We are especially proud that you were also very satisfied with our staff.
Thank you and hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were transferred to this hotel as we were due to stay at a sister hotel but it closed down.

We were at the top floor, sea view balcony and it was stunning!

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were nothing extravagant but good as a base for exploring the city.

The hotel was clean and smart.

However, a couple of parts let the hotel down:
The housekeeping staff are completely unaware of the purpose of a 'Do Not Disturb' sign.

The breakfast was not great at all. Very little to chose from, syrup-like coffee and very strange tasting OJ.
however, the staff are happy to make you an omelette...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dangravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you were satisfied with our hotel staff kindness.
We also thank you for your suggestions; guests’ feedback means a lot to us.
Hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing