We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book here”
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked and paid 2 months in advance for a room here. We arrived at 2.30 pm to be told our reservation would not be honoured. We were not contacted in advance though the hotel could easily have found email or phone details through booking agency. We were given an undated letter from the sales dept to say we had to go to another hotel. We were not given address/phone details or any clear directions and were offered no assistance with transfer. No manager was available. No apology or compensation was forthcoming. It looked like a grubby hotel and clearly there was no regard for customer service. We tried to find the supposed replacement hotel for over an hour but could not find it. I called the booking agency, who arranged a substitute hotel within 15 mins. We paid the agency no more and had a satisfactory stay in the new hotel.

Hotel Uvala are a disgrace. It is completely unacceptable to take money and then not care about providing the service contacted for. This hotel chain is one to avoid. Your money is not safe so vote with your feet and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Hotel is too bad to rate.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Led401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
At the beginning, sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had upon your arrival to our hotel. Inconveniences are a combination of certain situations that, unfortunately, sometimes happen in our business.
On a day of your arrival, just a couple of hours prior your coming, we spotted an error in the computer, realizing that we are one room short. According to the standard procedure, in such situations, we have to relocate shorter stays first hoping this will cause the least inconveniences for the guests. Unfortunately those guests were you. We arranged for you to move to a higher category hotel (5* and only 300 meters of airline from our hotel).
Since you were with your personal car, you did not need our hotel transfer.
We certainly do not try to justify ourselves; we just wanted to clear out how everything got to this point.
We do hope that in the future we will have an opportunity to have you as our guests, so you could see how guest’s satisfaction is our one and only goal.
Thank you for your comment and, once again, sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was not what we expected. It was very dated, carpets had seen much better days as had everything else in the room. When we inquired at the front desk if perhaps there were some renovated rooms he looked at us like we were crazy. "What's wrong?" He asked, "I know we need new TV's" . This place needs a total makeover if they are going to try and sell themselves as a four star hotel. This is NOT a four star hotel. It is not worth the 300$ they charged. Service was mediocre at best.

Room Tip: No good rooms as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MVSmvs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We are deeply sorry you got such a bad impression about our Hotel Uvala, unlike our numerous guests, who had shared with us their suggestions (which upon we are thanking them for) and had very positive experiences with our hotel and staff.
Not wanting to contradict your personal impression, I will take some liberty to set some important facts regarding your reservation and stay:
You had a reservation from June 28th – 30th 2014 at the given price of € 98,00 per night and per person (all can be seen and checked from the documents upon the credit card number which we charged your stay).
You did not show up on June 28th 2014, nor did you inform a hotel about your late coming. In fact, even on June 29th 2014 you did not inform our hotel about your postponed arrival, which would have been considered courteously if you did. Therefore, all the problems start here.
You wanted to cancel our hotel and have an overnight stay near the airport due to your early departure.
You have been advised that your first night of your reservation (June 28th 2014) was not charged (even though it is usual practice to charge the credit card the first night since there was no cancelation nor any notice about late coming).
After you talked to your wife, you decided to stay after all. You have been given a superior room – one of the best rooms in hotel.
After you settled in your room, you came to the reception desk were you complained about the room. The room you complained about, beside the older TV set, meets all the standards.
Then you wanted to have a cold breakfast, and even though it is against our standards, we fulfilled your request about the food selection.
You ordered a wake-up call service – the service was completed.
Upon your departure, you refused to settle your bill, but since the receptionist insisted on the payment, you finally paid your bill, but only for the one night, even if the reservation was for the two nights.
In a conclusion, we want to say we feel that our guests always need to feel welcomed and comfortable in our hotel, trying to fulfill all their wishes and requests they have.
We strive to create an atmosphere “Home away from home”.
That is why, as we already said, we are deeply sorry you got such a bad impression about our hotel.

Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ideal situation and beautiful views across the bay. Staff extremely friendly and food good. However, in a 4* hotel we would have expected tea and coffee making facilities in rooms, a comfortable lounge to sit in on rainy/stormy days and old gentlemen banned from the restaurant in baggy shorts!

Room Tip: Definitely want a front bay facing room as the back ones are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Good food and kind staff are the guaranty of the pleasant stay.
We hope you will visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spent 10 unplanned nights here in April. We had booked the Vis across the road which was still closed on our arrival so we were accommodated at the Uvala. Our room was on the top floor with great views over Lapad Bay and Beach. The room was quite spacious as was the bathroom. Soaps, shampoos and shower gels were regularly topped up. The lack of tea and coffee making facilities and a poor hairdryer were our only minor faults. There was always a good selection of food both at breakfast and dinner. Reception staff were always very helpful and friendly and had lots of local knowledge. A bus stop outside the hotel was very convenient for catching the bus into Dubrovnik old town and tickets could be purchased at the reception desk cheaper than on the bus. We had a hire car to get around in but the bus was far more convenient if going into Dubrovnik itself. Car parking outside the hotel could be an issue in the main season as there are not many free parking spaces to cater for several hotels. We were there early in April so this wasn't a big problem and we always managed to find space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We are pleased you were satisfied with your stay.
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel staff.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Hotel Manager
Pero Bes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent 9 nights at the hotel from 28 May and enjoyed them all. It's a smallish hotel, well maintained and with a great staff. Very comfortable and relaxing for me as a solo woman traveller. I really enjoyed the two pools - one indoor one out - most of the time I had them to myself but that might have been because the water was cold!

I paid extra for a sea view and had a room on the top floor - worth it for the fantastic views and the sunsets. The room was large and comfortable, well laid out and spotlessly clean. Coffee making facilities would have made it even better.

I stayed on half board and have no complaints about either the breakfast or dinner buffets. Nothing like cordon bleu but lots of choice, well prepared and the opportunity to try local specialities.

Hotel Uvala is part of a group of four hotels all close to each other in Lapad Bay. It's the only 4* in the group. I think the extra cost of that and the size of the hotel make it more suitable for adults which suited me.

I'll go back!

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view across the mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
Any guests’ comments are very important to us, but the positive ones, make us very proud.
You are always welcome in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Uvala for 4 nights. It's a decent, well run and efficient hotel similar to many others in the vicinity. Desk staff were friendly if reserved and the bar and restaurant staff were excellent if a bit chaotic. Rooms were modern resort style but the view from the balcony was terrific. I found the restaurant to be definitely mediocre although breakfast was good, this was out of season so things may improve later in the year. It's a bit of a way from the old town and you need a car or take the bus from just outside, it runs frequently and the desk staff can sell you tickets. You can get down to the sea, although the beach is pebbles, and there are bars and the like just down the hill and round the corner. There's also a big supermarket and cinema about 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We are glad you were satisfied with our hotel staff kindness. We consider they are the soul of every good hotel. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in beautiful Dubrovnik.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Returned on Sunday 18/5/14 following two weeks spent at the Uvala Hotel.

My wife and I were accompanied on the holiday by our 40 year old son. The room we were given was large enough for our needs. The large double bed was very comfortable, ensuring a good night's sleep. The bathroom was very nice, good size with a shower over the bath. My son who was accommodated in the room opposite had a large double bed and a walk in shower.
The towels were changed daily. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and we thank the chambermaid for this. We used the safe, for the storage of valuables and this was located above the mini bar. This was provided free of charge. In addition to the mini bar, three bottles of water were provided on a side table and replenished as necessary on a daily basis. We would like to point out that these bottles of water are charged for when used. There is no notice stating this. Normally, I have always found that anything in the mini bar has to be paid for but what is provided outside of it is free. It would be helpful if the hotel placed a notice along side the drinks making this clear to new guests. We had a sea view room which had a balcony allowing for up to three chairs and a small round drinks table. The view from the balcony afforded a lovely view of the sea and the distant hills. We occupied room 311 on the 3rd floor. My son's balcony afforded a view made up of trees in the distance. Sea view room well worth the extra money.

The dining room is well laid out and there is sufficient space between tables to allow comfortable seating space. Breakfast and the evening meals are buffet. We always found the food choice to be very good. Ample salad bar, range of vegetables, various meats, fruit and different cakes. Cooked items were always hot and we never had to wait for items to be replenished. Fried eggs did not feature of a morning, but when we asked if they could be provided to us, they were supplied immediately and on the next day we were asked if we wanted them. Tables were cleared very quickly. Sometimes we came to the dining room five to ten minutes early and we were always allowed to enter and select food items. After our first day at the hotel we thanked the restaurant manager for allocating us a very nicely situated table. The next day and thereafter we found that the table had a reserve notice with our room numbers on it. Outside dining hours one could obtain tea / cold drinks / snacks etc from the hotel at a modest cost. Leading off from the indoor swimming pool was an indoor area with tables and chairs. Within that room was a shelf with books left behind by previous guests - most of the books were in English.

A quarter of a mile from the hotel is a modest size supermarket which is well stocked with food, drinks, delicatessen, fruit, china wear etc. etc. You name it, it had it. Out of the hotel turn right, 2 hundred yards down, turn right again and it is immediately on your left. Next to it is a bakers with fresh rolls, pastries, and a limited range of rolls with cheese salami etc in them.

The reception manager and her team were very efficient and helpful. Assistance was always forth coming and nothing was too much trouble. At the end of our holiday we fancied a trip to the three islands off the Dubrovnik coast line. We were unable to contact the Thomson rep. by phone to arrange it. The receptionist made the necessary phone call to the Thomson representative Diana and as she could not provide the tour that day, the receptionist on her behalf took the booking / money and made the necessary arrangements etc. on the spot.

The outdoor swimming pool is of modest size and consistent with an hotel of 52 rooms. At the time of our arrival it had no water in it, but at the time of leaving the hotel it had been renovated and in use. Lack of an outside pool was compensated for by an in door pool which had a glass roof and the warmth thereby generated by the sun made one feel as if you were outside in the sun. There was also a Jacuzzi, but we did not use it. Water, pool and surrounding area spotlessly clean.

The coast line is a ten minute walk from the hotel. One can walk along it and have views out to sea.

The Dubrovnik old town can be reached by the number 4 bus which stops immediately outside the hotel. Tickets at a discounted rate can be obtained at reception. One can use the same bus ticket as many times as you want so long as it does not exceed one hour from the start of the first journey to the start of the last journey. Takes approximately 20 minutes to the old town. We did not afford ourselves of the opportunity to partake in the guided tour of the old town and cannot therefore comment on its value.

We undertook three tours put on by Gulliver tours, acting as agents for Thomson. We went on the trips to Montenegro, Mostar and Korcula. All reasonably priced and well worth going on. Additionally, as stated above, we went on the three Islands trip, again well worth the time and money.

This is our fourth holiday in Croatia. We have always felt safe, got good value for money, the people are helpful/polite and most of all never pestered by beggars or people coming up to trying to sell cigarettes wallets etc.

I would like to provide one tip about the use of the safe. The guidance for use states - enter pre-set security numbers and press enter when opening / closing the safe. In our opinion this is not strictly correct. What it should say is enter security numbers, press enter and when the green light appears turn the knob on the front of the safe to the left to close and to the right to open. If you fail to do this although the door will be in the closed position the lock will not have been engaged.

To summarize the most important feature / strength of this hotel is the customer focused attitude of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. They adapt to meet the needs of the paying guests and not the other way round.

Our stay at the Uvala was a most pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea facing room on the third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MatthewSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,
We are truly thankful for your detailed review about your stay in our hotel.
We are very happy you were satisfied with our hotel staff, food selection and with hotel in general.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Best regards to you and your family.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
328 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#31 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £60 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing