We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with great staff in a pretty peaceful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great staff in a pretty peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed two nights here just a few days ago...We liked this place for a number of reasons - the rooms were fine, nice view over the bay - the staff were excellent, couldn't be more helpful - the pool is of a proper size and not overcrowded (with a great jacuzzi indoors) - the breakfast selection was very good. Add to that the bus stop 20m away (the number 4 takes you all the way to the old town), and it makes for a good all round place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Groomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,
Guest’s satisfaction is our priority. Your compliments about hotel staff, food selection, environment, and about hotel in general, make us very happy.
Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel Manager
Pero Bes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    180
    59
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
266
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived arrived back after a weeks holiday in the Hotel Uvala in Dubrovnik. The hotel was immaculate and well presented, only nine years old. The staff were all very friendly, and the food, which was a buffet arrangement, was of a good standard. The room was spacious, with a good bathroom which was cleaned every day. However, the room could have done with a small fridge to keep water cold etc.
The hotel is in a great location, within ten minutes walk of the resort centre of Lapad, with shops, bars and a beach area.
The hotel was no where near full when we arrived, so the pool and hotel bar were quiet. However, the hotel was virtually full when we left, and it would have been interesting at the pool area, as there was only around twelve sun beds ! On the down side, we were the only people in the hotel bar around 10.00pm, which we thought was a little strange. It could have done with a little more atmosphere, and closed at 11.00pm.
On the whole however, we were pleased we were pleased with our choice of hotel and resort. Croatia is a lovely country, well worth a visit, we'll be going back !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Since we care about the guest’s opinion, we are really trying to make your stay as comfortable as it can be.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with our service and hotel.
Thank you for your kind words.
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Hotel Manager
Pero Bes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked and paid 2 months in advance for a room here. We arrived at 2.30 pm to be told our reservation would not be honoured. We were not contacted in advance though the hotel could easily have found email or phone details through booking agency. We were given an undated letter from the sales dept to say we had to go to another hotel. We were not given address/phone details or any clear directions and were offered no assistance with transfer. No manager was available. No apology or compensation was forthcoming. It looked like a grubby hotel and clearly there was no regard for customer service. We tried to find the supposed replacement hotel for over an hour but could not find it. I called the booking agency, who arranged a substitute hotel within 15 mins. We paid the agency no more and had a satisfactory stay in the new hotel.

Hotel Uvala are a disgrace. It is completely unacceptable to take money and then not care about providing the service contacted for. This hotel chain is one to avoid. Your money is not safe so vote with your feet and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Hotel is too bad to rate.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Led401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
At the beginning, sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had upon your arrival to our hotel. Inconveniences are a combination of certain situations that, unfortunately, sometimes happen in our business.
On a day of your arrival, just a couple of hours prior your coming, we spotted an error in the computer, realizing that we are one room short. According to the standard procedure, in such situations, we have to relocate shorter stays first hoping this will cause the least inconveniences for the guests. Unfortunately those guests were you. We arranged for you to move to a higher category hotel (5* and only 300 meters of airline from our hotel).
Since you were with your personal car, you did not need our hotel transfer.
We certainly do not try to justify ourselves; we just wanted to clear out how everything got to this point.
We do hope that in the future we will have an opportunity to have you as our guests, so you could see how guest’s satisfaction is our one and only goal.
Thank you for your comment and, once again, sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you had.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was not what we expected. It was very dated, carpets had seen much better days as had everything else in the room. When we inquired at the front desk if perhaps there were some renovated rooms he looked at us like we were crazy. "What's wrong?" He asked, "I know we need new TV's" . This place needs a total makeover if they are going to try and sell themselves as a four star hotel. This is NOT a four star hotel. It is not worth the 300$ they charged. Service was mediocre at best.

Room Tip: No good rooms as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MVSmvs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are deeply sorry you got such a bad impression about our Hotel Uvala, unlike our numerous guests, who had shared with us their suggestions (which upon we are thanking them for) and had very positive experiences with our hotel and staff.
Not wanting to contradict your personal impression, I will take some liberty to set some important facts regarding your reservation and stay:
You had a reservation from June 28th – 30th 2014 at the given price of € 98,00 per night and per person (all can be seen and checked from the documents upon the credit card number which we charged your stay).
You did not show up on June 28th 2014, nor did you inform a hotel about your late coming. In fact, even on June 29th 2014 you did not inform our hotel about your postponed arrival, which would have been considered courteously if you did. Therefore, all the problems start here.
You wanted to cancel our hotel and have an overnight stay near the airport due to your early departure.
You have been advised that your first night of your reservation (June 28th 2014) was not charged (even though it is usual practice to charge the credit card the first night since there was no cancelation nor any notice about late coming).
After you talked to your wife, you decided to stay after all. You have been given a superior room – one of the best rooms in hotel.
After you settled in your room, you came to the reception desk were you complained about the room. The room you complained about, beside the older TV set, meets all the standards.
Then you wanted to have a cold breakfast, and even though it is against our standards, we fulfilled your request about the food selection.
You ordered a wake-up call service – the service was completed.
Upon your departure, you refused to settle your bill, but since the receptionist insisted on the payment, you finally paid your bill, but only for the one night, even if the reservation was for the two nights.
In a conclusion, we want to say we feel that our guests always need to feel welcomed and comfortable in our hotel, trying to fulfill all their wishes and requests they have.
We strive to create an atmosphere “Home away from home”.
That is why, as we already said, we are deeply sorry you got such a bad impression about our hotel.

Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ideal situation and beautiful views across the bay. Staff extremely friendly and food good. However, in a 4* hotel we would have expected tea and coffee making facilities in rooms, a comfortable lounge to sit in on rainy/stormy days and old gentlemen banned from the restaurant in baggy shorts!

Room Tip: Definitely want a front bay facing room as the back ones are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Good food and kind staff are the guaranty of the pleasant stay.
We hope you will visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK - Derbyshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spent 10 unplanned nights here in April. We had booked the Vis across the road which was still closed on our arrival so we were accommodated at the Uvala. Our room was on the top floor with great views over Lapad Bay and Beach. The room was quite spacious as was the bathroom. Soaps, shampoos and shower gels were regularly topped up. The lack of tea and coffee making facilities and a poor hairdryer were our only minor faults. There was always a good selection of food both at breakfast and dinner. Reception staff were always very helpful and friendly and had lots of local knowledge. A bus stop outside the hotel was very convenient for catching the bus into Dubrovnik old town and tickets could be purchased at the reception desk cheaper than on the bus. We had a hire car to get around in but the bus was far more convenient if going into Dubrovnik itself. Car parking outside the hotel could be an issue in the main season as there are not many free parking spaces to cater for several hotels. We were there early in April so this wasn't a big problem and we always managed to find space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are pleased you were satisfied with your stay.
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel staff.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Hotel Manager
Pero Bes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent 9 nights at the hotel from 28 May and enjoyed them all. It's a smallish hotel, well maintained and with a great staff. Very comfortable and relaxing for me as a solo woman traveller. I really enjoyed the two pools - one indoor one out - most of the time I had them to myself but that might have been because the water was cold!

I paid extra for a sea view and had a room on the top floor - worth it for the fantastic views and the sunsets. The room was large and comfortable, well laid out and spotlessly clean. Coffee making facilities would have made it even better.

I stayed on half board and have no complaints about either the breakfast or dinner buffets. Nothing like cordon bleu but lots of choice, well prepared and the opportunity to try local specialities.

Hotel Uvala is part of a group of four hotels all close to each other in Lapad Bay. It's the only 4* in the group. I think the extra cost of that and the size of the hotel make it more suitable for adults which suited me.

I'll go back!

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view across the mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Any guests’ comments are very important to us, but the positive ones, make us very proud.
You are always welcome in our hotel and we are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,
Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#26 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing