We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good choice - excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good choice - excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Before visiting Dubrovnik I deliberated at length over which area to stay in. Post visit I am pleased to say I made what I consider to be the right choice.
This hotel is situated in a quiet area overlooking the sea and yet within a short walk from restaurants and bars.
The number 6 bus stops right outside the hotel which takes you into the Old Town. The service is frequent and reliable. Tickets for the bus can be purchased at the hotel's reception.
The hotel is rated a 4 star but I would consider it to be more of a three star but definitely with 4 star potential. It is a quiet and relaxing hotel and I enjoyed my stay here very much.
I found the bed to be very comfortable for me and had the best nights sleep I have had for years. I am a light sleeper and there was no street noise or noise from other rooms. The air conditioning was just right and so quiet it caused no problems.
The breakfast was adequate, with sufficient choice for my needs, but nothing out of the ordinary.
My only gripe is that the wi-fi is only available in the bar/restaurant and reception.
The staff were friendly and helpful when approached.
I did notice though that when our taxi arrived to take us to the airport the man on reception just shrugged and didn't attempt to find out who he wanted.
One evening there was no-one around for us to pay our drinks and so we put the money into the wallet and left it on the bar. About half an hour later we were chased into the street and accused of not paying our bill. We went back to sort it out and the barman found the payment – just a shame he didn't check first to save us the embarrassment.
I stayed here for 4 nights and I would and probably will, stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Also, we are deeply sorry for your bad experience with one member of our (usually always) kind staff.
Regardless of our honest apologies to you, I would like to inform you that we used an adequate procedure toward our employee in such situations.
We are sincerely looking forward to see you again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    180
    59
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
266
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Uvala in mid June and found it to be a convenient hotel for getting too and from the Old Town (bus stop right outside the hotel - 15 mins journey) . Buy bus tickets at the hotel as they are cheaper than buying a ticket on the bus. The hotel is also convenient for the local restaurants, bars etc and the local walks around Lapad. Most rooms have a sea view and balcony but I guess the higher you are the better the view. There is beach access via the sister hotel opposite. The staff are very friendly and helpful . On the negative side the hotel could do with some refurbishment as the carpets are badly stained in the corridors and certainly in our room - this I think is a common observation. We had a TV that must have been 20 years old and which gave up on us but it was immediately replaced with nice new flat screen TV but why have that old TV in the room in the first place? There are also no tea/coffee making facilities which would have been a nice addition. Wi-Fi is also only available in the restaurant/lobby areas (not rooms) which was rather annoying. The breakfast was OK but the hot food side did not impress. We were on B/B but did eat in the hotel one night, an experience we did not repeat. The dinners are served buffet style but when we were there even early at 7.30 it was luke warm and not to a very high standard. Some guest we noted at the time thought it was all OK but I see from other reviews that the evening meals could an area for improvement. The hotel does tend to cater for tour parties which may be a reason for this.

If we were to return to Dubrovnik then we would certainly look again at the Uvala as it was a very convenient hotel with pretty good all round facilities - a nice pool, free sunbeds, a wellness centre incl an indoor pool , great location, very convenient etc. and really nice staff . It just needs a bit of an update.

Room Tip: a sea view room is a must - upper floors have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rclholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your detailed review. Your feedback is very important to us as it help us improve our business standards (every comment is carefully observed so guests can have their pleasant stays).
We are sure that by your next visit all the observations you indicated in your review will be resolved.
Best regards from the entire hotel staff and me.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights in may and found the uvala hotel a lovely place to stay. convenient for access to old dubrovnic with the bus stopping outside hotel and cheaper to get ticket from hotel reception. We were on bed and breakfast and the buffet breakfast was excellent with a very varied choice. Dinner in restaurant was also so good and excellent value that we decided to eat in most nights.

Room Tip: I dont think road noise would be a problem but we had a room at the back which was very quiet and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank derrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your comments. We will be very happy if you choose to visit our beautiful city and hotel again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

In most respects this was an excellent hotel well situated for access by bus to the old city and providing excellent meals. However, we travelled to the hotel by car on the understanding that car parking was available. In fact the space given to us was beside the public bus stop at the side of the road outside the hotel and no other spaces were seen. Our car came to no harm but we were not sure what would have been done if that space had already been in use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and delicious food we offer. Due to our hotel standards and category we provide sufficient number of parking lots: for any extra demand, we secure parking space around the hotel.
We will be pleased if you choose to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff and me.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed a week in the hotel and it was very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was at the back overlooking the park and it was lovely and peaceful. The hotel was quiet which suited us. There was a good choice of breakfast and the dinner which was buffet style was good. The bus stopped outside the hotel every 15 minutes and took you right to the old town (about a 10-15 minute journey) and cost about £5.00 for a return ticket. There were plenty of bars and restaurants in Lapad within a five minute walk from the hotel. We would definitely recommend a visit to Croatia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are glad you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Your compliments about our staff, food assortment and hotel in general make us very happy.
Thank you for your suggestions and kind words.

Pero Bes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed two nights here just a few days ago...We liked this place for a number of reasons - the rooms were fine, nice view over the bay - the staff were excellent, couldn't be more helpful - the pool is of a proper size and not overcrowded (with a great jacuzzi indoors) - the breakfast selection was very good. Add to that the bus stop 20m away (the number 4 takes you all the way to the old town), and it makes for a good all round place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Groomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,
Guest’s satisfaction is our priority. Your compliments about hotel staff, food selection, environment, and about hotel in general, make us very happy.
Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel Manager
Pero Bes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Just arrived arrived back after a weeks holiday in the Hotel Uvala in Dubrovnik. The hotel was immaculate and well presented, only nine years old. The staff were all very friendly, and the food, which was a buffet arrangement, was of a good standard. The room was spacious, with a good bathroom which was cleaned every day. However, the room could have done with a small fridge to keep water cold etc.
The hotel is in a great location, within ten minutes walk of the resort centre of Lapad, with shops, bars and a beach area.
The hotel was no where near full when we arrived, so the pool and hotel bar were quiet. However, the hotel was virtually full when we left, and it would have been interesting at the pool area, as there was only around twelve sun beds ! On the down side, we were the only people in the hotel bar around 10.00pm, which we thought was a little strange. It could have done with a little more atmosphere, and closed at 11.00pm.
On the whole however, we were pleased we were pleased with our choice of hotel and resort. Croatia is a lovely country, well worth a visit, we'll be going back !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Madam / Sir,
Since we care about the guest’s opinion, we are really trying to make your stay as comfortable as it can be.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with our service and hotel.
Thank you for your kind words.
We hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Hotel Manager
Pero Bes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#26 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing