We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stari Grad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stari Grad
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely hotel right in the middle of the old town. Perfect location for exploring Dubrovnik and really nice, clean and comfy rooms. The terrace gives a stunning view of the city - perfect for a drink and watching the sun go down. Breakfast was in a cafe on the Stradum just a minute away from the hotel - great for watching the world go by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KatH_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    37
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
89
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I decided to go to Dubrovnik three days before my Croatia/Slovenia tour began. My tour used a large resort-type hotel on the ocean. I thought it would be fun to stay in a traditional small hotel behind the city walls for those three days. I was not disappointed. It was convenient and charming, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. It was very quiet at night; yet I could walk a few steps and enjoy music after the ship passengers were gone. Ask the staff about the excellent, inexpensive vegetarian restaurant close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarshaP335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was only a short trip to Dubrovnik. So we found the perfect place.
Right in the heard of the old town. Quiet and luxurious. Close to everything. Worth to come back! A traditional old town house carefully renovated with a unique roof terasse on top of the house. No other place in old town has that!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hartwig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

It would be impossible to convey in a typed review what a wonderful time we had at this hotel. It is a tiny place in a historical building with the city walls. It is a quiet, peaceful place to stay, with only a handful of rooms (maybe a dozen?). The decor is classy and modern, and the rooms extremely comfortable. Having renovated the interior last Spring (2013), they thought of everything. The rooms have luxurious beds, flat screen TVs, air conditioning, and even heated towel racks in the orchid filled bathroom. The hotel also has a rooftop terrace with views you can't get anywhere else in the city unless you're on the city walls. Meanwhile, not only is the hotel itself wonderful, but I cannot say enough nice things about the staff and management. They are so kind and so friendly and genuinely happy to talk to you and help you out with anything you need. I have traveled the world extensively over the past 25 years, and I can say without reservation that this is one of my very favorite places I have ever stayed, anywhere on Earth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CJG310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed two nights as I was attending a friend's wedding. Leaving aside the matter of the stairs (face it; we all need exercise), I found the hotel faultless. The service was excellent, the decor charming. The great little Portun restaurant is next door, and your mere yards away from the city gates. What's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Yes, you need to be prepared to walk up several flights of stairs to your room because it is not permitted for this historic hotel to install an elevator. But it is a beautifully restored hotel located in the old town, the view from the terrace is amazing, and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is one of only a couple of hotels in the old walled section of beautiful Dubrovnik. Located off an alley near a city gate, the historic hotel is very nicely decorated and the staff is very warm and helpful. Orchids decorate both the lobby and the rooms, and original art is also found in those places.

You are 30 seconds away from the main street of old Dubrovnik, and only a couple of minutes from every conceivable sightseeing attraction in the downtown area. As mentioned in other reviews, the roof of the Stari Grad is worth the climb. It provides some seating areas with a spectacular view of the city. There is no bar service, but you can take your own beverages or ones from the hotel mini bar to the roof.

Drawbacks: no elevator, no restaurant (though you get a voucher for a breakfast at a pretty good local eatery near the hotel) and no taxi access to the property. The taxi or bus will drop you near the city gate and you take your luggage a couple of blocks to the hotel.

Overall, staying at the Stari Grad was a great experience. A bit pricey, but you stay at a classy historic place right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.6 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#37 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pucic Palace
The Pucic Palace
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
St. Joseph's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 483 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stari Grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stari Grad

Property: Hotel Stari Grad
Address: Od Sigurate 4 Od, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stari Grad 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreaming of a next summer already? Check into the stylish Boutique Hotel Stari Grad! Fully renovated in 2013, the original 16th century nobleman 's house converted into boutique hotel combines Old World atmosphere with sleek lines, residential glamour, jewel tones and colorful patterns to create a collection of eight unique rooms for your cozy vacation. Location? Simply, ideal: a quiet street in the heart of Dubrovnik's Old Town, just off the main Placa Stradun! Although small, this luxurious yet discreet hotel hides many treasures. Discover Green & Purple cafe bar, elegant and ultimately distinctive gathering spot in the town. Taste delicious, excellently served dishes at Above5 restaurant, located on the only rooftop terrace in Old Town, while enjoying unforgettable views of the ancient city walls, roofs, sea and neighboring islands... Can a dream go beyond a dream? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stari Grad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stari Grad Dubrovnik
Stari Grad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing